RATES OF PILOTAGE FOR THE PORT OF PHILADELPHIA

Act of Jun. 10, 2013, P.L. 40, No. 12 Cl. 74

Session of 2013
No. 2013-12

HB 1029
AN ACT

Amending the act of May 11, 1889 (P.L.188, No.210), entitled
"A further supplement to an act, entitled 'An act to
establish a board of wardens for the Port of Philadelphia,
and for the regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other
purposes, ' approved March twenty-ninth, one thousand eight
hundred and three, and for regulating the rates of pilotage
and number of pilots,"™ further providing for certain charges.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylwvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3.1 (b) and (c), 3.2(b) and (c) and 3.3
of the act of May 11, 1889 (P.L.188, No.210), entitled "A
further supplement to an act, entitled 'An act to establish a
board of wardens for the Port of Philadelphia, and for the
regulation of pilots and pilotage, and for other purposes,'
approved March twenty-ninth, one thousand eight hundred and
three, and for regulating the rates of pilotage and number of
pilots," amended October 7, 2010 (P.L.502, No.71), are amended
to read:

Section 3.1. For services rendered on and after January 1,
1990, retroactively, the rates of pilotage for conducting a
vessel from the Capes of the Delaware to a place on the Delaware
River or Bay no further upriver than the Delair Railroad Bridge
between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Delair, New Jersey, Or
from a place on the river Delaware no further upriver than the
Delair Railroad Bridge between Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and
Delair, New Jersey, to the Capes of the Delaware, in either
case, shall be computed as follows:

* * *
(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows:
[ (1) Effective January 1, 2010............ $12.36 per unit
(1) Effective January 1, 2011............ $12.36 per unit
(1id) Effective January 1, 2012........... $12.61 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013............ $12.86 per unit]
(i) Effective January 1, 2013............. $12.86 per unit
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014............ $13.25 per unit
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015........... $13.64 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016............ $14.05 per unit
(c) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units
and a maximum unit charge as follows:
[ (1) Effective January 1, 2010............. 1,400 units
(1) Effective January 1, 2011............. 1,400 units
(iidi) Effective January 1, 2012............ 1,400 units
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013............. 1,400 units]
(1) Effective January 1, 2013.............. 1,400 units
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014............. 1,400 units
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015............ 1,400 units
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016............. 1,400 units
Section 3.2. That every ship or vessel bound to the Delaware

breakwater for orders shall be obliged to receive a pilot,
provided she is spoken or a pilot offers his services, outside
of a straight line drawn from Cape Henlopen Light to Cape May



Light, and every ship or vessel bound to the breakwater for
orders shall pay pilotage fees as follows: A sum equal to half
the pilotage to the Port of Philadelphia, and she shall be
obliged to take a pilot and pay the same pilotage fees when
outward bound, from the breakwater, and if such ship or vessel,
without discharging her pilot, proceed to the Port of
Philadelphia or any other port or place on the bay or river
Delaware, only one full pilotage fee as fixed by section 3.1
of this act, for the entire service, in addition to the fee for
detention: Provided, however, That if the pilot bringing such
ship or vessel to the breakwater be there discharged, and the
ship or vessel afterward proceed to Philadelphia or any other
port or place on the bay or river Delaware, she shall make the
usual signal for a pilot and continue to make such signal till
reaching Brandywine Light, and if spoken by, or offered the
services of, a duly licensed Pennsylvania pilot before reaching
Brandywine Light, shall be obliged to employ such pilot and pay
him for services rendered on and after the effective date of
this act, a charge computed as follows:

*x k%
(b) The charges per unit shall be as follows:
[ (1) Effective January 1, 2010............ $12.36 per unit
(11) Effective January 1, 2011............ $12.36 per unit
(1id) Effective January 1, 2012........... $12.61 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013............ $12.86 per unit]
(i) Effective January 1, 2013............. $12.86 per unit
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014............ $13.25 per unit
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015........... $13.64 per unit
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016............ $14.05 per unit
(c) There shall be a minimum charge of two hundred units
and a maximum unit charge as follows:
[ (1) Effective January 1, 2010............. 1,400 units
(ii) Effective January 1, 2011............. 1,400 units
(111) Effective January 1, 2012............ 1,400 units
(iv) Effective January 1, 2013............. 1,400 units]
(1) Effective January 1, 2013.............. 1,400 units
(ii) Effective January 1, 2014............. 1,400 units
(iii) Effective January 1, 2015............ 1,400 units
(iv) Effective January 1, 2016............. 1,400 units
Section 3.3. The following charges are hereby authorized
for the services stated:
(1) Ship communication charge:
Vessels transiting the Delaware River........ [$220.00]
$235.00
(2) Transporting vessels in the Delaware:
Philadelphia (or other place) to Marcus Hook.. 750.00
Philadelphia (or other place) below Marcus Hook 750.00
Philadelphia Harbor to Torresdale............ 750.00
Philadelphia Harbor to any place above
= ¥ =YL I Y 1,000.00
(3) Extra services:
Swing ship to adjust magnetic compass........ 300.00
Swing ship to calibrate direction finder..... 300.00

Vessels anchoring below Brown Shoal in excess
of three hours awaiting flood tide for transiting

river cCchannel .. ...ttt ittt ittt eteeeeeeenns 450.00
Carried to/from BaltimOre......u.eeeeeeeeenennn 600.00
Carried to/from NorfolK......wee i eennn. 1,000.00
Carried to/from New YOrK....ue.eoieeeooueeeennn 1,000.00

Vessels entering the Capes for anchorage at the Breakwater for
other than tide shall pay one-half pilotage in and one-half
pilotage out.



(4) Chesapeake and Delaware Canal:

Vessels transiting the Chesapeake and Delaware
Canal:

Vessels with a length overall of less than 650

B 1,000.00
Vessels with a length overall of 650 feet or

O e v v e e o e e o e e oo o oo oo eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeneeens 1,500.00
(5) Cancellation of sailing orders:
Cancellation cCharge... ..o e ettt eeeeneeennnns 600.00

Any time a pilot is dispatched for sailing and the trip or
movement is canceled, for reason other than weather, the vessel
shall be subject to this charge, except when the Pilot Office
is notified as follows:

All piers north of Hog Island- 1 1/2 hours before sailing

time.
All piers north of Paulsboro - 2 hours before sailing time.
All piers south of the above - 3 hours before sailing time.

(6) Finance charge:

A finance charge not to exceed one and one-half per centum
per month or fraction thereof may be assessed against all
invoices outstanding more than thirty days after the billing
date, and the cost of attorney fees on any amount placed with
an attorney for collection may also be charged.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 10th day of June, A.D. 2013.

TOM CORBETT



