Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania 1 Consolidated Statutes, further providing for expungement of 2 3 criminal history record. 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 5 hereby enacts as follows: 6 Section 1. Section 9122(b) of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania 7 Consolidated Statutes is amended to read: 8 § 9122. Expungement. * * * 9 10 (b) Generally.--Criminal history record information may be 11 expunged when: 12 (1)An individual who is the subject of the information 13 reaches 70 years of age and has been free of arrest or prosecution for ten years following final release from 14 15 confinement or supervision. Any individual who is the subject of the information 16 (2)17 has been dead for three years. 18 (3)(i) An individual who is the subject of the

AN ACT

- 1 -

information, petitions the court for the expungement of a
summary offense and has been free of arrest or
prosecution for five years following the conviction for
that offense.

5 (ii) Expungement under this paragraph shall only be permitted for a conviction of a summary offense. 6 (4) (i) An individual who is the subject of the 7 information petitions for expungement of the information 8 9 and the individual has been free of arrest or prosecution following final release from confinement or supervision 10 for the following time periods: 11 (A) In the case of a misdemeanor of the third 12 <u>degree or an offense declared to be a misdemeanor,</u> 13 14 without specification of degree, seven years. 15 (B) In the case of a misdemeanor of the second 16 degree committed when the individual was less than 25 years of age, ten years. 17 18 (ii) This paragraph shall not apply to any individual who has been convicted of: 19 (A) An offense punishable by imprisonment of 20 21 more than two years. (B) Four or more offenses punishable by 22 23 imprisonment of one or more years. 24 (C) An offense under section 913 (relating to possession of firearm or other dangerous weapon in 25 26 court facility) which is graded as a misdemeanor of 27 the third degree. 28 (D) A violation of section 2701 (relating to 29 simple assault), except when the offense is graded as a misdemeanor of the third degree. 30

2013D05437

1	(E) A violation of section 3129 (relating to
2	sexual intercourse with animal).
3	(F) A violation of section 4912 (relating to
4	impersonating a public servant).
5	(G) A violation of section 4952 (relating to
6	intimidation of witnesses or victims).
7	(H) A violation of section 4953 (relating to
8	retaliation against witness, victim or party).
9	(I) A violation of section 5511 (relating to
10	cruelty to animals).
11	(J) A violation of any provision of Chapter 61
12	(relating to firearms and other dangerous articles).
13	(K) An offense which requires registration under
14	42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 97 Subch. H (relating to registration
15	of sexual offenders).
16	* * *
17	Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

۰.