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AN ACT
Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, in registration of vehicles, further providing for
registration and certificate of title required; in licensing
of drivers, further providing for carrying and exhibiting
driver's license on demand; and, in inspection of vehicles,

further providing for operation of vehicle without official
certificate of inspection.

This act may be referred to as the Forgetful Driver
Forgiveness Act.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1301 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes is amended by adding a subsection to read:
§ 1301. Registration and certificate of title required.
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{e) Exceptions.--

1 No person charged with violating subsection (a

shall be convicted if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from

the expiration of the person's valid vehicle registration and

the person:
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(i) produces at the headgquarters of the police

officer who demanded to see the person's vehicle

registration, within 10 days of the demand, a vehicle

registration valid in this Commonwealth; or

(ii) if a citation has been filed, produces at the

office of the issuing authority, within 10 davs of the

filing of the citation, a vehicle registration valid in

this Commonwealth.

{(2) The exception under paragraph (1) does not apply if

the person, in addition to being charged with a violation of

subsection (a), is charged with another offense committed at

the same time and place.

Section 2. Section 1511(b) of Title 75 is amended to read:

§ 1511. <Carrying and exhibiting driver's license on demand.

* Kk K

(b) Production to avoid penalty.--
(1} No person shall be convicted of violating this
section or section 1501(a) (relating to drivers required to

be licensed) if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from the

expiration of the person's valid driver's license and the

person:
[{(1)] (i) produces at the headquarters of the police
officer who demanded to see the person's license, within
[15] 10 days of the demand, a driver's license valid in
this Commonwealth [at the time of the demand]; or
[(2)] {ii) 4if a citation has been filed, produces at
the office of the issuing authority, within [15] 10 days
of the filing of the citation, a driver's license valid
in this Commonwealth [on the date of the citation].

(2) The exception under this subsection does not apply
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1 if the person, in addition to being chardged with a violation
2 of subsection (a) or section 1501(a}, is charged with another
3 offense committed at the same time and place.
4 Section 3. Section 4703(b) (11) of Title 75 is amended and
5 the section is amended by adding a subsection to read:
6 § 4703. Operation of vehicle without official certificate of
7 inspection.
8 * k%
9 (2.1) Prohibition.--
10 1 No person shall be convicted of vioclating subsection
11 (a) if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from the expiration of
12 the valid certificate of inspection issued under this chapter
13 for the vehicle being operated and the vehicle owner:
14 i roduces at the headquarters of the police
15 officer who demanded the vehicle owner or operator to
16 display an official certificate of inspection for the
17 vehicle beina operated, within 10 days of the demand, a
18 valid certificate of inspection issued under this chapter
19 for the vehicle; or
20 (ii) if a citation has been filed, produces at the
21 office of the issuing authority, within 310 days of the
22 filing of the citation, a valid certificate of inspection
23 issued under this chapter for the vehicle.
24 2 The exception under this subsection does not appl
25 if the person, in addition to being charged with a violation

26 of subsection (a), is charged with another offense committed

27 at the same time and place.

28 (b) Exceptions.--Subsection (a) does not apply to:

29 * * *

30 (11) A motor vehicle being operated by the vehicle owner
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after the expiration of a valid certificate of inspection

under this chapter while enroute to an inspection station
where an appointment for inspection has been scheduled],

provided that such operation occurs no later than ten days
after the expiration of a valid certificate of inspection

issued under this chapter]. The exception under this

paragraph does not apply if the person, in addition to being

charged with a violation of subsection (a), is charged with

anotheyr offense committed at the same time and place.
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Section 4. This act shall take effect January 1, 2018.
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