## DAN DEASY, MEMBER

436 SOUTH MAIN STREET, SUITE 100 PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA 15220 (412) 928-9514 FAX: (412) 565-3170

304 IRVIS OFFICE BUILDING P.O. BOX 202027 HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA 17120-2027 (717) 772-8187 FAX: (717) 787-7388



COMMITTEE

LIQUOR CONTROL DEMOCRATIC CHAIRMAN

WEBSITE: WWW.PAHOUSE.COM/DEASY

@ RepDeasy

December 14, 2020

To: All House Members

From: Representative Dan Deasy

Subject: Community College Education Assistance Program (formerly HB 232)

I offer legislation that will establish a Community College Education Assistance Program with the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA).

The continually rising cost of a college education has made attaining a college degree out of reach for many. Community colleges throughout the Commonwealth play a vital role in allowing students to secure a quality education at an affordable price and provide a steppingstone for some to pursue a four-year degree. Pennsylvania is home to fourteen quality community colleges that serve students from one end of the state to another.

After completing studies at a community college, many students confront the harsh reality of high tuition rates at many four-year colleges and universities. Realizing this, my legislation would establish the "Educational Assistance Program" within PHEAA. The program would provide financial assistance to eligible students who have completed 60 credits at a Pennsylvania community college and maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Assistance would be provided to these students by requiring PHEAA to disregard one third of the student's expected family contribution (EFC) and federal Pell grant award when calculating the student's Pennsylvania state grant amount.

Students who succeed academically in community college deserve to have an affordable way to continue their education at a quality four-year college or university.

Please join me and co-sponsor this legislation to help more Commonwealth students attain a four-year degree.

Those that co-sponsored this bill during the 2019-2020 legislative session DEASY, M. K. KELLER, READSHAW, SCHLOSSBERG, FREEMAN, YOUNGBLOOD, A. DAVIS, SIMMONS, DeLUCA, OTTEN, HILL-EVANS, KIRKLAND, KORTZ, McCLINTON and MATZIE