AN ACT

- Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania
- Consolidated Statutes, in firearms and other dangerous 2
- articles, providing for serial numbers for homemade firearms 3
- and for the offense of possession of do-it-yourself 4
- semiautomatic weapons prohibited; and, in trade and commerce, 5
- providing for the offense of unlawful advertising of do-it-6
- 7 yourself semiautomatic weapons.
- 8 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 9 hereby enacts as follows:
- 10 Section 1. Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 11 Statutes is amended by adding sections to read:
- 12 § 6117.1. Serial numbers for homemade firearms.
- (a) Manufacturing or assembly requirements. -- Beginning July 1.3
- 1, 2021, prior to the manufacture or assembly of a firearm in 14
- 15 this Commonwealth, the following shall apply:
- 16 (1) A person manufacturing or assembling a firearm shall
- 17 request a licensed dealer to issue a unique serial number or
- 18 other identifying mark for the firearm describing the firearm
- involved and whether the firearm is or will be a handqun. 19
- 20 (2) Within 10 days of the manufacture or assembly of a

- 1 <u>firearm in accordance with paragraph (1), the unique serial</u>
- 2 <u>number or other mark of identification provided by the</u>
- 3 <u>licensed dealer shall be engraved or permanently affixed to</u>
- 4 <u>the firearm in a manner that meets or exceeds the</u>
- 5 requirements imposed on licensed importers and licensed
- 6 manufacturers of firearms under 18 U.S.C. § 923(i) (relating
- 7 <u>to licensing</u>).
- 8 (3) If the firearm is manufactured or assembled from
- 9 polymer plastic, 3.7 ounces of material type 17-4 PH
- 10 <u>stainless steel shall be embedded within the plastic on</u>
- 11 <u>fabrication or construction with the unique serial number</u>
- 12 <u>engraved or otherwise permanently affixed in a manner that</u>
- 13 <u>meets or exceeds the requirements imposed on licensed</u>
- 14 <u>importers and licensed manufacturers of firearms under 18</u>
- 15 U.S.C. § 923(i).
- 16 (4) Within 48 hours after the serial number provided by
- 17 the licensed dealer is engraved or otherwise permanently
- 18 affixed to the firearm under paragraph (3), the person shall
- 19 notify the licensed dealer that the requirement has been
- 20 <u>satisfied with sufficient information to identify the owner</u>
- 21 of the firearm, the unique serial number or mark of
- 22 identification provided by the licensed dealer and the
- 23 firearm.
- 24 (b) Additional requirements. -- By January 1, 2022, any person
- 25 who, as of July 1, 2021, owns a firearm that does not bear a
- 26 serial number assigned to the firearm under this section or 18
- 27 <u>U.S.C. Ch. 44 (relating to firearms) shall:</u>
- 28 (1) Apply to a licensed dealer for a unique serial
- 29 number or other mark of identification.
- 30 (2) Within 10 days of receiving a unique serial number

- or other mark of identification from the licensed dealer, the
- 2 <u>unique serial number or other mark of identification provided</u>
- 3 by the licensed dealer shall be engraved or permanently
- 4 <u>affixed to the firearm in a manner that meets or exceeds the</u>
- 5 requirements imposed on licensed importers and licensed
- 6 manufacturers of firearms under 18 U.S.C. § 923(i).
- 7 (3) Within 48 hours after the serial number provided by
- 8 <u>the licensed dealer is engraved or otherwise permanently</u>
- 9 <u>affixed to the firearm under paragraph (2), the person shall</u>
- 10 notify the licensed dealer of that fact with sufficient
- information to identify the owner of the firearm, the unique
- 12 <u>serial number or mark of identification provided by the</u>
- 13 <u>licensed dealer and the firearm.</u>
- 14 (c) New resident application for unique serial number. -- A
- 15 <u>new resident to this Commonwealth shall apply for a unique</u>
- 16 <u>serial number or other mark of identification under this section</u>
- 17 within 60 days of arrival for any firearm the resident wishes to
- 18 possess in this Commonwealth that the resident previously
- 19 manufactured or assembled or a firearm the resident owns that
- 20 does not have a unique serial number or other mark of
- 21 identification.
- 22 (d) Restriction on sale, transfer or possession. -- A person
- 23 who is not a licensed manufacturer shall not sell, transfer or
- 24 possess a firearm manufactured or assembled under this section
- 25 unless:
- 26 (1) except as provided in subsection (e), a serial
- 27 <u>number and identifying mark for the firearm has been issued</u>
- 28 under this section;
- 29 <u>(2) within 10 days after the issuance, the serial number</u>
- and identifying mark is stamped on or otherwise permanently

- 1 <u>affixed to the firearm;</u>
- 2 (3) if the firearm is made from polymer plastic, 3.7
- 3 ounces of material type 17-4 PH stainless steel, on which the
- 4 <u>unique serial number or identifying mark is stamped or</u>
- 5 <u>otherwise permanently affixed, are embedded within the</u>
- 6 plastic; and
- 7 (4) Within 48 hours after the serial number provided by
- 8 <u>the licensed dealer is engraved or otherwise permanently</u>
- 9 <u>affixed to the firearm under paragraph (3), the person shall</u>
- 10 <u>notify the licensed dealer that the requirement has been</u>
- 11 <u>satisfied with sufficient information to identify the owner</u>
- of the firearm, the unique serial number or mark of
- 13 <u>identification provided by the licensed dealer and the</u>
- 14 <u>firearm.</u>
- 15 (e) Exception. -- Subsection (d) (1) shall not apply to the
- 16 transfer, surrender or sale of a firearm to a law enforcement
- 17 agency. Any firearms confiscated by law enforcement that do not
- 18 bear an engraved serial number or other mark of identification
- 19 under this section, or a firearm surrendered, transferred or
- 20 sold to a law enforcement agency under this subsection, shall be
- 21 destroyed.
- 22 (f) Penalty.--A person who violates this section commits a
- 23 felony of the second degree.
- 24 (g) Treatment as transfer of firearm. -- A request made of a
- 25 licensed dealer under subsection (a), (b) or (c) with respect to
- 26 a firearm shall be treated as a proposed transfer of the firearm
- 27 from the licensed dealer to the applicant for purposes of 18
- 28 U.S.C. § 922(t) (relating to unlawful acts) and section 103 of
- 29 the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act (Public Law 103-159,
- 30 107 Stat. 1536), except that the firearms transaction record

- 1 <u>involved shall indicate that what is being transferred is a</u>
- 2 <u>serial number and not a firearm.</u>
- 3 (h) Fee for each serial number.--A licensed dealer may
- 4 <u>charge:</u>
- 5 (1) an applicant a fee for each serial number and
- 6 <u>identifying mark assigned and issued under this section in an</u>
- 7 amount that is not more than the actual costs associated with
- 8 <u>assigning and issuing the serial number and identifying mark;</u>
- 9 and
- 10 (2) a fee for contacting the National Instant Criminal
- 11 <u>Background Check System with respect to the applicant.</u>
- 12 § 6121.1. Possession of do-it-yourself semiautomatic weapons
- 13 <u>prohibited.</u>
- 14 (a) Offense defined. -- It shall be unlawful for any person to
- 15 possess, use, control, sell, deliver, transfer or manufacture
- 16 the following:
- 17 (1) A firearm receiver casting or firearm receiver blank
- 18 <u>or unfinished handgun frame that:</u>
- 19 (i) at the point of sale does not meet the
- definition of a firearm in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a) (relating
- 21 to definitions); and
- (ii) after purchase by a consumer, can be completed
- by the consumer to the point at which the casting or
- 24 <u>blank functions as a firearm frame or receiver for a</u>
- 25 <u>semiautomatic weapon or machine gun or the frame of a</u>
- handgun.
- 27 <u>(2) A semiautomatic weapon parts kit.</u>
- 28 <u>(3) A machine gun parts kit.</u>
- 29 (b) Grading. -- An offense under this section constitutes a
- 30 felony of the third degree.

1	(c) DefinitionsAs used in this section, the following
2	words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this
3	subsection unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
4	"Machine gun." As defined in section 5845(b) of the Internal
5	Revenue Code of 1986 (Public Law 99-514, 26 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.).
6	"Machine gun parts kit." Any part or combination of parts
7	designed and intended to enable a consumer who possesses all
8	necessary parts to assemble a machine gun or convert a firearm
9	into a machine gun.
10	"Semiautomatic pistol." Any repeating pistol that utilizes a
11	portion of the energy of a firing cartridge to extract the fixed
12	cartridge case and chamber the next round and requires a
13	separate pull of the trigger to fire each cartridge.
14	"Semiautomatic rifle." As defined in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(28).
15	"Semiautomatic shotgun." Any repeating shotgun that utilizes
16	a portion of the energy of a firing cartridge to extract the
17	fixed cartridge case and chamber the next round and requires a
18	separate pull of a trigger to fire each cartridge.
19	"Semiautomatic weapon." The following:
20	(1) a semiautomatic rifle or semiautomatic shotgun that
21	has the capacity to accept a detachable ammunition-feeding
22	device; or
23	(2) a semiautomatic pistol that has:
24	(i) the capacity to accept a detachable ammunition-
25	feeding device; and
26	(ii) any of the following features:
27	(A) an ammunition magazine that attaches to the
28	pistol outside of the pistol grip;
29	(B) a threaded barrel capable of accepting a
30	barrel extender, flash suppressor, forward hand grip

1	or silencer unless licensed to do so;
2	(C) a shroud that is attached to or partially or
3	completely encircles the barrel and that permits the
4	shooter to hold the firearm with the nontrigger hand
5	without being burned;
6	(D) a second hand grip;
7	(E) a manufactured weight of 50 ounces or more
8	when the pistol is unloaded; or
9	(F) a semiautomatic version of an automatic
10	firearm.
11	"Semiautomatic weapon parts kit." Any part or combination of
12	parts designed and intended to enable a consumer who possesses
13	all necessary parts to assemble a semiautomatic weapon.
14	§ 7332. Unlawful advertising of do-it-yourself semiautomatic
15	weapons.
16	(a) Offense defined It shall be unlawful to market or
17	advertise, on any medium of electronic communications, including
18	over the Internet, for the sale of any of the following:
19	(1) A firearm receiver casting or firearm receiver blank
20	or unfinished handgun frame that:
21	(i) at the point of sale does not meet the
22	definition of a firearm in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a) (relating
23	to definitions); and
24	(ii) After purchase by a consumer, can be completed
25	by the consumer to the point at which the casting or
26	blank functions as a firearm frame or receiver for a
27	semiautomatic weapon or machine gun or the frame of a
28	handgun.
29	(2) A semiautomatic weapon parts kit.
30	(3) A machine gun parts kit.

1	(b) Grading An offense under this section constitutes a
2	misdemeanor of the second degree.
3	(c) Definitions As used in this section, the following
4	words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this
5	subsection unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:
6	"Machine gun." As defined in section 5845(b) of the Internal
7	Revenue Code of 1986 (Public Law 99-514, 26 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.).
8	"Machine gun parts kit." Any part or combination of parts
9	designed and intended to enable a consumer who possesses all
10	necessary parts to assemble a machine gun or convert a firearm
11	into a machine gun.
12	"Semiautomatic pistol." Any repeating pistol that utilizes a
13	portion of the energy of a firing cartridge to extract the fixed
14	cartridge case and chamber the next round and requires a
15	separate pull of the trigger to fire each cartridge.
16	"Semiautomatic rifle." As defined in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(28).
17	"Semiautomatic shotgun." Any repeating shotgun that utilizes
18	a portion of the energy of a firing cartridge to extract the
19	fixed cartridge case and chamber the next round and requires a
20	separate pull of a trigger to fire each cartridge.
21	"Semiautomatic weapon." The following:
22	(1) a semiautomatic rifle or semiautomatic shotgun that
23	has the capacity to accept a detachable ammunition-feeding
24	device; or
25	(2) a semiautomatic pistol that has:
26	(i) the capacity to accept a detachable ammunition-
27	feeding device; and
28	(ii) any of the following features:
29	(A) an ammunition magazine that attaches to the

30

pistol outside of the pistol grip;

1	(B) a threaded barrel capable of accepting a
2	barrel extender, flash suppressor, forward hand grip
3	or silencer unless licensed to do so;
4	(C) a shroud that is attached to, or partially
5	or completely encircles, the barrel and that permits
6	the shooter to hold the firearm with the nontrigger
7	hand without being burned;
8	(D) a second hand grip;
9	(E) a manufactured weight of 50 ounces or more
LO	when the pistol is unloaded; or
11	(F) a semiautomatic version of an automatic
12	firearm.
13	"Semiautomatic weapon parts kit." Any part or combination of
L 4	parts designed and intended to enable a consumer who possesses
15	all necessary parts to assemble a semiautomatic weapon.
16	Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.