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AN ACT

Amending Title 24 (Education) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, providing for private driver education.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:
Section 1. Title 24 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a part to read:
PART VII

MISCELLANEQUS PROVISIONS

CHAPTER 101

PRIVATE DRIVER EDUCATION

Sec.

10101. Definitions.

10102. Licensure required, administration and enforcement.

10103. Application.

10104. OQualification for licensure.

10105. Duties of department.

10106. Pupil fees.
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10107. Advisorv committee.

10108. Records.

10109. Penalty.

§ 10101. Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the following words and phrases

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Department." The Department of Education of the
Commonwealth.
"Director." An individual running the day-to-day operations

of a private driver education school.

"Motor wvehicle." As defined in 75 Pa.C.S. § 102 (relating to
definitions).
"Owner." A person that operates a private driver education

school on a daily basis. The term does not include a government

entitv.
"Person." As defined in 1 Pa.C.S. § 1991 (relating to

definitions), except that term does not include a government
entity.
"Private driver education school." A school offered by a

person that educates and trains individuals, either practically

or theoretically or both, to operate or drive a motor wvehicle.

§ 10102. Licensure required, administration and enforcement.

The following apply:

(1) A person that provides driving education services in

this Commonwealth must apply for licensure under this act. If

the person is denied a license or does not pay the required

fees, the person may not solicit prospective students for

enrollment or provide in-person or online driver education in

this Commonwealth.
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(2) This chapter shall be administered and enforced by

the department.

(3) The department shall adopt requlations necessary to

implement and enforce the provisions of this chapter.

§ 10103. Application.

(a) Application.--The department shall create a form for

owners of private driver education schools to complete in order

to establish a licensed private driver education school in this

Commonwealth, which shall require a statement that includes:

(1) The title or name of the school and classes,

together with the names of ownership and controlling

officers.

(2) The specific course of instruction which will be

offered.

(3) The place or places where instruction will be given.

(4) A specific listing of the equipment available for

instruction in each field.

(5) The gqualifications of owners, directors or

instructors in each field.

(6) An ability, at the discretion of the department, to

provide a surety company bond in favor of the Commonwealth

conditioned for the protection of the contractual rights of

students.

(b) Application fees.--The following apply:

(1) The initial application fee for a private driver

education school shall- be 3$500.

(2) The fee for an annual renewal of a license under

this chapter shall be $300.

(3) A $20 per driving instructor and $5 per vehicle

registered as a driving instruction vehicle fee shall be
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levied.

{c) Ownership changes, incapacitation or death.--The

following apply:

(1) A change in ownership requires an application for an

initial license, which must be submitted to the department at

least 30 days prior to the effective date of the change in

ownership. A private driver education school may not conduct

or operate under the new or different individual

proprietorship, partnership, association, company or

corporation until and unless an original license has been

granted and issued to the new or different ownership

constituency.

(2) Within six months of the incapacitation or death of

an _owner, a private driver education school must appoint a

director, if the school does not have one, in order to

continue operations, sell the private driver education school

or wrap up operations and matriculate students already

enrolled. Upon approval of the department, a private driver

education school may continue operations for an additional

six-month period.

(d) Approval.--If a person applying under this section meets

all of the criteria required under this section and sectipn

10104 (relating to qualification for licensure), the department

shall approve the application and issuance a license to the

person. An initial license issued shall be effective from the

date of issue until the first day of July following the issuance

of the initial license and shall be renewed annually thereafter

on a form prepared and furnished by the department. A renewal

license shall be issued from the first day of July to the

following thirtieth day of June.
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§ 10104. OQualification for licensure.

(a) LLocation.—-—-A private driver education school shall be at

least 1,500 feet from an official driver license center. The

distance under this subsection shall be measured along the

public streets by the nearest route from the private driver

education school to the driver license center. -

(b) Premises, eguipment and facilities.--Private driver

education schools shall meet all of the following reguirements

to be eligible for licensure under this chapter:

(1) The premises, eguipment and facilities of the

private driver education school shall conform to State and

local reguirements.

(2) The private driver education school must have an

owner or director. The owner, director and instructors must

meet the requirements under subsection (c).

(3) The instructional equipment and materials must meet

the standards required under subsection (d).

(c) OQualifications.--The following apply:

(1) Directors and instructors of a private driver

education séhool or branch of the school:

(i) must be a citizen of the United States;

(ii) must be at least 21 vears of age;

(iii) does not have a conviction over 10 years

unless it involves crimes against children or capital

offenses which shall immediately disqualify a director or

instructor;

(iv) must be an individual of good moral character;

(v) must have a valid Pennsvylvania driver's license

issued by the Commonwealth and submit documentary

evidence of having driven a minimum of 15,000 miles in
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varied weather conditions in both urban and rural areas;

{vi) must maintain, during any consecutive three-

year period, a driving record which does not include more

than one reportable accident or moving violation which

results in a suspension or revocation of the director's

or instructor's motor vehicle operator's license;

(vii) must pass the examination under section

10105(2) (relating to duties of department); and

(viii) shall present a certificate from a physician,

legally gqualified to practice medicine located in this

Commonwealth which shall state that the owner, director

or instructor is mentally and physically fit and does not

have any other chronic or acute physical defect which

would prevent the director or instructor from meeting the

requirements of this chapter.

(2) An owner shall:

(i) Meet the background clearance requirements for

individuals who work or volunteer with children.

(ii) Have a minimum of two years' successful

teaching experience in a private or public driver

training school or class.

(3) A private driver education school must maintain

adequate and qualified staff.

(d) Instructional equipment, materials and program of

instruction.--A private driver education school seeking

licensure under this chapter must meet the following criteria:

(1) Provide text, test and reference materials,

including pamphlets and visual aids, online or in print, for

the instruction in the theoretical and practical phases of

driving.
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(2) Vehicles used for practical driver training:

(1) mav not be more than eight vears old;

(ii) may not have more than 150,000 miles;

(iii) must have operable extra brake and extra

clutch pedals, a defroster and heater in working order;

and

(iv) must have a rear-view mirror placed on the

inside of the car in the vicinity of the cowl, two

outside side view rear-view mirrors, one on each side of

the vehicle, and cushions for the proper seating of the

students.

(3) Provide insurance coverage on all vehicles used for

practical driver training, which must include at least a

$50,000 liability insurance policy.

(4) Shall make available theoretical or practical

instruction as follows:

(e)

(i) Theoretical instruction shall include subiject

matter relating to rules and requlations of the road,

safe driving practices, distracted driving, pedestrian

safety care, mechanics of motor vehicles, driver

responsibility, theory of driving, types of automobile

insurance, use of automobile safety devices and any other

subject matter regarding safe driving.

(ii) Practical instruction in driver education shall

include the demonstration of and actual instruction in

starting, stopping, shifting, turning, backing, parking

and steering in a training vehicle which shall meet the

requirements of the department.

Online instruction.—--0Online driver instruction classes

may not be offered unless the online instruction program is
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approved as an acceptable form of driver education by the

department and is offered through an approved private driver

education school which physical address is in this Commonwealth.

(f) Inspection.--Applicants and licensees shall permit the

department or its representatives to inspect the private driver

education school or audit classes and make available to the

department all information requested. Inspection under this

subsection shall be scheduled inspections.

(d) Name and display of license.--2A private driver education

school:

(1) applying for a license or licensed under this

chapter shall only use the school's licensed name; and

(2) once licensed shall prominently display the current

approved license in a place where it may be inspected by

students, visitors and designated officials of the

department.

(h) Certain solicitation and claims prohibited.--A private

driver education school:

(1) May not advertise or publicly state, advertise or

imply that the school is "supervised," "recommended,"
"endorsed," "accredited" or "approved" by the department.
(2) Shall not misrepresent or perpetuate fraud through

advertisement or through educational materials.

(3) May not use blind advertisements or advertisements

in the help wanted or other employment columns of newspapers

and other publications to solicit prospective students to

enroll.

(4) May not guarantee employment upon completion of an

educational course or the securing of a license to drive a

motor vehicle in this Commonwealth
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(1) Disqualification.—--An applicant shall be disgualified

from receiving a license under this chapter if the applicant has

pleaded guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendere or has been

found guilty of a crime involving moral turpitude, by a judge or

qury in a Federal or state court.

§ 10105. Duties of the department.

The following apply:

(1) The department shall maintain a list of private

driver education schools licensed under this chapter, which

shall be posted on the department's publicly accessible

Internet website.

(2) The department shall create a 50-guestion exam for

certifving private driver education school instructors, which

shall be available online or at a supervised site, and shall

pertain to the Pennsylvania Driver's Manual.

§ 10106. Pupil fees.

Private driver education schools licensed under this chapter

shall:

(1) Publish a schedule of prospectus of fees or charges

for behind-the-wheel lessons, classroom lessons, refresher

lessons and all other fees or charges levied by the private

driver education school.

(2) Inform each student, prior to the time instruction

commences, of the character and amount of fees or charges.

§ 10107. Advisory committee.

(a) Appointment.--The department shall appoint an advisory

committee comprised as follows:

(1) Three members shall be selected from individuals

active in the private driver education field.

(2) Three members shall be selected from the

2022007857 1 - 8 =~



10
11
12
13
14
15
1le
17
18
19
20
2.
22
=3
24
2
26
27
28
29
30

Pennsvlvania Professional Driving School Association.

{3) One member shall be selected from personnel of the

department.

(4) One member shall be selected from the personnel of

the Pennsylvania State Police.

(5) One member shall be selected from the personnel of

from the Department of Transportation.

(6) One member shall be selected from the personnel of

National Highway Safety Administration.

(b) Duty.--The advisory committee shall advise and make

recommendations to the department regarding rules and

requlations for the licensing of private driver education

schools in this Commonwealth.

§ 10108. Records.

A private driver education school licensed under this chapter

shall maintain adequate records of pupils who engaged in

theoretical or practical instruction for a five year period on a

permanent cumulative record card or electronic files. The record

card or electronic file shall indicate the number of clock hours

of instruction received by each pupil and information on

attendance. Records required under this section shall be kept

current and available for inspection at all times during reqular

school hours by one or more representatives of the department.

§ 10109. Penalty.

A person that violates or fails to comply with any provision

of this act or any of the rules and requlations promulgated:

(1) TIs subject to suspension or revocation of a license

issued under this chapter.

(2) Shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon

ceonviction, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than
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more than one vyear, or both.

Section 2. Repeals are as follows:

(1) The General Assembly declares that the repeal
under paragraph (2) is necessary to effectuate the
addition of 24 Pa.C.S. Pt. VII.

(2) The act of January 18, 1952 (1951 P.L.2128, No.605),
referred to as the Private Driver Education or Training
School Act, 1is repealed.

Section 3. The addition of 24 Pa.C.S. Ch. 101 is a
continuation of the act of January 18, 1952 (1951 P.L.2128,
No.605), referred to as the Private Driver Education or Training
School Act. Except as otherwise provided in 24 Pa.C.S. Ch. 101,
all activities initiated under the Private Driver Education or
Training School Act shall continue and remain in full force and
effect and may be completed under 24 Pa.C.S. Ch. 101. Orders,
regulations, rules and decisions which were made under the
Private Driver Education or Training School Act and which are in
effect on the effective date of section 4 of this act shall
remain in full force and effect until revoked, vacated or
modified under 24 Pa.C.S. Ch. 101. Contracts, obligations and
collective bargaining agreements entered into under the Private
Driver Education or Training School Act are not affected nor
impaired by the repeal of the Private Driver Education or
Training School Act.

Section 4. This act shall take effect immediately.
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