
AN ACT 

  

 Providing for the licensure of fire-resistant material 

applicators by a State Fire Proofing Applicator Licensing 

Board; and providing penalties. 

   

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

hereby enacts as follows: 

  

Section 1.  Short title. 

This act shall be known and may be cited as the 

"Fireproofing Licensing Law." 

 

Section 2.  Declaration of purpose. 

In order to protect the health, safety and property of the 

people of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and to promote 

their welfare, no person shall engage in the application of 

fire-resistant materials in this Commonwealth except in 

compliance with the requirements of this act. 

 

Section 3.  Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall 

have, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the 

meanings given to them in this section: 

"Accredited training program."  Any program designed to 
provide training on the application of fire-resistant 

materials that has been approved and accredited by the board. 

"Board."  The Fireproofing Applicator Licensing Board 
established by this act. 

"Certificate."  The certificate of licensure issued by the 
board indicating that the individual named therein is a fire-

resistant material applicator. 

"Fire-resistant material."  Cementitious or fibrous 
materials that are sprayed onto a surface to provide fire-

resistant protection of the substrate. 

"Fire-resistant material applicator."  An individual who 
applies fire-resistant materials. 

 

Section 4.  Creation of board; appointment and term of members 
and officers. 

(a)  There is hereby established a Fireproofing Applicator 
Licensing Board which shall consist of seven voting members; 

including the Commissioner of Professional and Occupational 

Affairs or a designee, the Pennsylvania State Fire 

Commissioner or a designee and five persons, residents of the 

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, to be appointed by the governor 



for terms of 3 years, 2 of whom shall be fire-resistant 

material applicators with at least 10 years of practical 

experience and who are wage earners, 2 of whom shall be fire-

resistant material applicators with at least 10 years of 

practical experience and 1 of whom shall be a representative 

of the public.  

(b)  A member appointed for a full term shall not be 
eligible for more than two consecutive full terms. 

(c)  Each member of the board shall take and subscribe to 
the oath of office generally required of State officials. 

(d)  A member of the board who fails to attend three 
consecutive meetings shall forfeit his seat unless the 

Commissioner of Professional and Occupational Affairs, upon 

written request from the member, finds that the member should 

be excused from a meeting because of illness or the death of 

an immediate family member. 

(e)  The board is subject to evaluation, review and 
termination within the time and in the manner provided in the 

act of December 22, 1981 (P.L.508, No.142), known as the 

"Sunset Act." 

(f)  Four members of the board shall constitute a quorum. 

 

Section 5.  Organization of board. 

(a)  An organizational meeting of the board shall be held 
annually at which time the board shall elect from its 

membership a president, a vice president and a secretary, who 

shall serve for one year or until their successors are duly 

elected. The board may meet at least four times per year and 

at other times as the board, in consultation with the 

Commissioner of Professional and Occupational Affairs, deems 

desirable. Other meetings of the board may be called in 

accordance with rules and regulations promulgated by the 

board. Adequate public notice of the time and place of 

meetings of the board shall be given.  

(b)  Should a vacancy in the office of president, vice 
president or secretary of the board occur, the remaining 

members of the board shall fill such vacancy by election. 

(c)  Each professional and public member of the board shall 
be paid reasonable traveling, hotel and other necessary 

expenses and per diem compensation at the rate of $60 for each 

day of actual service while on board business.  

 

 Section 6.  Powers of board. 

(a)  The board may establish reasonable rules and 
regulations to carry out the provisions of this act. 

(b)  The board may establish, by regulations consistent with 
the policy contained in this act, standards of professional 

conduct for fire-resistant material applicators. 



(c)  The board shall issue certificates to individuals who 
have qualified to engage in fire-resistant material 

application under the provisions of this act. The board may 

establish such rules and regulations consistent with this act 

for the issuance and renewal of certificates as it deems 

appropriate. 

(d) The board shall have the power to issue accreditation 

to educational and training programming in the application of 

fire-resistant materials. 

(e) The board shall establish standards for continuing 

education reflecting acceptable national standards in the 

application and use of fire-resistant materials.  

(f)  The board shall have the power to administer and 
enforce the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania relating 

to fire-resistant material application and to instruct and 

require its agents to initiate appropriate proceedings for 

unauthorized and unlawful practice. 

(g)  The board shall have the power to take disciplinary 
action as described in this act. In all disciplinary 

proceedings brought pursuant to this act, the board shall have 

the power to administer oaths, to summon witnesses, and to 

compel the production of documents in accordance with law. 

Upon the failure of any person to appear or produce documents 

in accordance with the board's order, the board may take 

appropriate action in accordance with the act of October 15, 

1980 (P.L.950, No.164), known as the "Commonwealth Attorneys 

Act," to enforce compliance. 

(h)  The board shall have the power to take appropriate 
actions to initiate injunction and criminal prosecution 

proceedings in connection with the unlawful and unauthorized 

fire-resistant material application or other violations of 

this act. Injunction and criminal proceedings shall be 

instituted in accordance with the "Commonwealth Attorneys 

Act." 

(i)  The board shall have the power to appoint, with the 
approval of the Governor, such hearing examiners as shall be 

necessary to conduct hearings as may be required under section 

12. The board shall have the power to adopt and promulgate 

rules and regulations setting forth the functions, powers, 

standards and duties to be followed by its hearing examiners. 

 

 Section 7.  Duties of board. 

(a)  The board shall keep a record of its proceedings and 
the board shall keep records relating to applications. Records 

relating to applications shall include the name, age and last 

known address of each applicant for licensure, information 

concerning each applicant's education, experience and other 

qualifications, and such other information as the board deems 

appropriate. The records of the board shall be prima facie 

evidence in the proceedings and a certified transcript by the 

secretary shall be admissible in evidence with the same force 

and effect as if the original were produced. 



(b)  The board shall maintain an up-to-date roster showing 
the names and addresses of the places of business of all fire-

resistant material applicators licensed under this act. In the 

interim years following the publishing of the complete roster, 

the board shall each year publish a supplemental roster 

containing the name, license numbers where applicable, and 

addresses of all fire-resistant material applicators licensed 

by the board subsequent to the publishing of the last 

published roster or supplemental roster. 

(c)  The board shall maintain records relating to all fire-
resistant material applicators licensed in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania. 

(d)  Annually at the end of its fiscal year, the board shall 
submit to the Commissioner of Professional and Occupational 

Affairs a report of its activities and transactions of the 

preceding year. The board shall also submit to the 

Commissioner of Professional and Occupational Affairs and to 

the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, 15 days after 

the Governor has submitted his budget to the General Assembly, 

a proposed budget request for its operation for the succeeding 

fiscal year. 

(e)  The board shall submit annually a report to the 
Professional Licensure Committee of the House of 

Representatives and to the Consumer Protection and 

Professional Licensure Committee of the Senate a description 

of the types of complaints received, status of cases, board 

action which has been taken and the length of time from the 

initial complaint to final board resolution. 

 

 Section 8.  Review and qualification of applicants. 

(a)  Any individual of good character, who is a legal 
resident of Pennsylvania who has completed training in the 

application of fire-resistant materials may apply for a 

certificate under this act. 

(b)  Each applicant for a certificate shall submit evidence 
satisfactory to the board that the applicant completed 

training a program accredited by the board. 

 

 Section 9.  Issuance and renewal of certificates. 

(a)  Upon approval of an application for a certificate, the 
board shall issue the certificate conditional on payment of a 

fee set by the board. 

(b) Each certificate shall contain the name of the 

individual to whom it was issued and shall be valid for two 

years. 

(c)  Every certificate shall expire on the day prescribed by 
rules and regulations promulgated by the board. A fire-

resistant material applicator may renew their certificate 

after review by the board to ensure the applicant is remains 

in compliance with regulations set by the board. 



(d)  A duplicate certificate to replace one which has been 
lost, destroyed or mutilated may be issued by the board upon 

payment of a fee as required by the board. The board reserves 

the right to require fire-resistant material applicators 

requesting duplicate certificates to furnish documentation 

satisfactory to the board relative to loss, destruction or 

mutilation of original certificate. 

(e)  Certificates issued to fire-resistant material 
applicators shall not be transferable. 

(f)  All fees required under the provisions of this act 

shall be fixed by the board by regulation and shall be subject 

to review in accordance with the act of June 25, 1982 

(P.L.633, No.181), known as the "Regulatory Review Act." If 

the revenues generated by fees, fines and civil penalties 

imposed in accordance with the provisions of this act are not 

sufficient to match expenditures over a two-year period, the 

board shall increase those fees by regulation, subject to 

review in accordance with the "Regulatory Review Act," such 

that projected revenues will meet or exceed projected 

expenditures. 

 

Section 10.  Unauthorized practice prohibited. 

(a)  Except as provided in section 9(c) and (d), no 
individual shall engage in the practice, or offer to engage in 

the practice of fire-resistant material application in this 

State unless such individual holds a currently valid 

certificate issued pursuant to this act. 

 

Section 11.  Disciplinary proceedings. 

(a)  The board may refuse to issue a certificate to an 
applicant or may refuse, revoke or suspend a certificate, 

censure a fire-resistant material applicator, issue a letter 

of reprimand, restrict a certificate holder and attach certain 

conditions to a certificate for any of the following acts: 

(1)  Bribery, fraud, misstatement or misrepresentation 
of fact by an applicant in connection with this application 

for a certificate. 

(2)  Engaging in the application of fire-resistant 
materials in this Commonwealth in violation of any 

provisions of this act or the rules and regulations 

promulgated thereunder. 

(3)  Engaging in the application of fire-resistant 
materials in this Commonwealth in violation of the 

standards of professional conduct established by rules and 

regulations promulgated by the board. 

(4)  Bribery, fraud, deceit, recklessness, gross 
negligence or incompetence in the practice of fire-

resistant material application. 

 

 



Section 12.  Penalties. 

(a)  Any person who engages in the application of fire-
resistant materials in violation of this act shall, for a 

first offense, be guilty of a summary offense and upon 

conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fine not 

exceeding $500 or suffer imprisonment not exceeding 90 days, 

or both, and for a second or subsequent offense shall be 

guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be 

sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $2,000 but not more 

than $5,000, or to suffer imprisonment of not less than one 

year, but not more than two years, or both. 

(b)  The right of the board to refuse to issue a certificate 
or to refuse, revoke or suspend a certificate or censure a 

fire-resistant material applicator or issue a letter of 

reprimand or restrict a certificate holder or attach 

conditions to a certificate under this act shall be in 

addition to the penalties set forth in this section. 

(c)  In addition to any other civil remedy or criminal 
penalty provided for in this act, the board, by a vote of the 

majority of the maximum number of the authorized membership of 

the board as provided by law, or by a vote of the majority of 

the duly qualified and confirmed membership or a minimum of 

four members, whichever is greater, may levy a civil penalty 

of up to $1,000 on any current licensee who violates any 

provision of this act or on any person who practices the 

profession of fire-resistant material applicator without being 

properly licensed to do so under this act. The board shall 

levy this penalty only after affording the accused party the 

opportunity for a hearing, as provided in Title 2 of the 

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes (relating to administrative 

law and procedure).  

(d)  All fines and civil penalties imposed in accordance 
with this section shall be paid into the Professional 

Licensure Augmentation Account.  

  

Section 13.  Complaint procedure and hearings. 

(a)  Any person may refer charges against a person licensed 
under the provisions of this act by submitting a written 

statement of charges, sworn to by the complainant, to the 

board. In addition, the board may, on its own motion, 

investigate the conduct of an applicant or a licensee, and 

shall, in appropriate cases, file a written statement of 

charges. The applicant or fire-resistant material applicator 

charged shall be entitled to be represented by counsel. 

Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions 

for hearings of contested cases as prescribed by the 

applicable laws and regulations relating to administrative 

hearings. 

(b)  The hearings may be held by the board or any member 
thereof, or by any of its duly authorized hearing examiners or 

by any other person duly authorized by the board for such 

purpose in any particular case. The time and place of such 

hearing shall be fixed by the board or its duly authorized 

hearing examiner. Any member of the board or hearing examiner 



authorized to conduct the hearing may administer oaths and 

conduct investigations. 

(c)  When a matter is referred to a hearing examiner for 
hearing, such person following the completion of the testimony 

in the hearing before him shall, with reasonable dispatch, 

file a report with the board setting forth his findings of 

fact and recommendation. Upon review of the record, the board 

by majority vote, may adopt the findings in the report or may, 

with or without additional testimony, either return the matter 

to the representative for such further consideration as the 

board deems necessary or make additional or other findings of 

fact on the basis of all the legally probative evidence in the 

record and enter its conclusions of law and order in 

accordance with the requirements for the issuance of an 

adjudication under Title 2 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 

Statutes (relating to administrative law and procedure). 

(d)  The board may, in its discretion, issue a certificate 
to any applicant denied licensure upon presentation of 

suitable evidence of reform. 

 

Section 14.  Severability. 

The provisions of this act are severable and if any section 

shall be declared invalid or void for any reason, the 

remainder of the act shall not be affected or impaired. 

 

 

 


