AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- Statutes, in rules of the road in general, further providing
- for additional parking regulations.
- 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 5 hereby enacts as follows:
- 6 Section 1. Section 3354(f) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
- 7 Consolidated Statutes is amended and the section is amended by
- 8 adding a subsection to read:
- 9 § 3354. Additional parking regulations.
- 10 * * *
- 11 (e.2) Electric vehicle charging station parking. -- No person
- 12 shall stop, stand or park a vehicle within a parking space
- 13 specifically designated for parking and charging an electric
- 14 vehicle in accordance with departmental regulations unless the
- 15 <u>vehicle</u> is an electric vehicle and connected to the charging
- 16 equipment. The department shall promulgate regulations requiring
- 17 that conspicuous signage or markings properly identifying the
- 18 parking space as specifically designated for parking and

- 1 charging an electric vehicle and identify charging restrictions.
- 2 A vehicle that is unlawfully parked under this subsection may be
- 3 towed and may be reclaimed by the vehicle owner upon payment of
- 4 the towing costs. A vehicle may only be towed under this
- 5 <u>subsection</u> if the parking space is posted with a sign indicating
- 6 that vehicles in violation of this section may be towed.
- 7 (f) Penalty. -- A person violating subsection (a), (b) or (d)
- 8 (1) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction,
- 9 be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than \$15. A person
- 10 violating subsection (d)(2) or (3) [or], (e) or (e.2) is guilty
- 11 of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to
- 12 pay a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200. If a person
- 13 is convicted under subsection (d)(2) or (3) or (e.2) in the
- 14 absence of a sign stating the penalty amount, the fine imposed
- 15 may not exceed \$50. A person violating subsection (d.1) is
- 16 quilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be
- 17 sentenced to pay a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than
- 18 \$300.
- 19 * * *
- 20 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.