PRINTER'S NO.

AN ACT

Amending Titles 35 (Health and Safety) and 75 (Vehicles) of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, providing for adult use
cannabis; regulating the personal use and possession of
cannabis; providing for powers and duties of the Department
of Agriculture; establishing the Cannabis Business
Development Fund; providing for social and economic equity,
for regulation of cannabis business establishments, for
enforcement and immunities, for laboratory testing, for
advertising, marketing, packaging and labeling and for
preparation, destruction and regulation of cannabis and
cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products; imposing a
sales tax and excise tax on cannabis and cannabis-infused
edible and nonedible products; establishing the Cannabis
Regulation Fund; providing for cannabis clean slate and for
miscellaneous provisions; imposing penalties; consolidating
provisions relating to medical marijuana; transferring
certain powers and duties of the Department of Health to the
Department of Agriculture; in driving after imbibing alcohol
or utilizing drugs, further providing for driving under
influence of alcohol or controlled substance and for
authorized use not a defense; and making repeals.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:
Section 1. Title 35 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended by adding a part to read:
PART VII
CANNABIS
Chapter

91. Adult Use of Cannabis

93. Medical Marijuana

CHAPTER 91

ADULT USE OF CANNABIS

Subchapter

A. Preliminary Provisions

B. Lawful Use and Authority




C. Personal Use of Cannabis

D. Program

E. Social and Economic Equity

F. Regulation of Cannabis Business Establishments

G. Enforcement and Immunities

H. Laboratory Testing

I. Advertising, Marketing, Packaging and Labeling

J. Preparation, Destruction and Regulation of Cannabis and

Cannabis-Infused Edible and Nonedible Products

K. Taxes

L. Cannabis Clean Slate

M. Miscellaneous Provisions

SUBCHAPTER A

PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

Sec.

9101. Scope of chapter.

9102. Definitions.

§$ 9101. Scope of chapter.

This chapter relates to the adult use of marijuana in this

Commonwealth.

§ 9102. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Adult use." Cannabis that can be purchased and consumed by

an individual 21 years of age and older.

"Adult use cultivation center." A facility operated by an

organization or business that is permitted by the department to
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cultivate, process, transport and perform other necessary

activities to provide cannabis and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products to cannabis business establishments.

"Adult use cultivation center permit." A permit issued by

the department that permits an entity to act as a cultivation

and processing center under this chapter or any regulation

promulgated in accordance with this.

"Advertise." To engage in promotional activities, including

through newspaper, radio, Internet and electronic media and

television advertising. The term includes the distribution of

fliers and circulars, billboard advertising and the display of

window signs. The term does not include interior dispensary

signage or exterior signage displaying the name of the permitted

cannabis business establishment.

"Agent" or "cannabis business establishment agent." A

principal officer, board member, employee or other agent of a

cannabis business establishment who is 21 years of age or older.

"Applicant." An individual or entity applying for a permit

under this chapter.

"Cannabis". As follows:

(1) Any of the following:

(i) Marijuana, hashish or other substances that are

identified as including any parts of the plant Cannabis

sativa and including derivatives or subspecies, such as

indica, of all strains of cannabis, whether growing or

not, including the seeds, resin extracted from any part

of the plant and any compound, manufacture, salt,

derivative, mixture or preparation of the plant. The term
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includes THC and all other naturally or synthetically

produced cannabinol derivatives, whether produced

directly or indirectly by extraction, including, delta-7

THC, delta-8 THC, delta-9 THC or any structural, optical

or geometric isomers of tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabis

flower, concentrate and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products.

(ii) A product intended for human consumption with a

THC concentration, however derived, greater than:

(a) 0.3 percent for any intermediate or finished

plant product or material, or any product

intended for consumption by inhalation or

smoking; or

(b) 0.5 milligrams per serving or individual product

unit, and 2 milligrams per package for products

sold in multiple servings or units, for any

beverage, food, o0il, ointment, tincture, topical

formation, or any other product that is intended

for consumption by means other than inhalation

or smoking.

(2) The term does not include the mature stalks of the

plant, fiber produced from the stalks, o0il or cake made from

the seeds of the plant or any other compound, manufacture,

salt, derivative, mixture or preparation of the mature

stalks, the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of

germination or industrial hemp as defined in 3 Pa.C.S. § 702

(relating to definitions) below the THC concentrate limits

prescribed in subsection (ii) of this Section.
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"Cannabis business establishment." An individual or entity

holding a permit issued by the department to cultivate, process,

dispense, infuse or transport cannabis, including a dispensing

organization, adult use cultivation center, social and economic

equity dispensing organization charter permit holder or micro

cultivation center.

"Cannabis business establishment agent identification card"

or "agent identification card." An identification card held by

an authorized agent of a dispensing organization, social and

economic equity dispensing organization charter permit holder,

micro cultivation center or adult use cultivation center.

"Cannabis concentrate." A product derived from cannabis that

is produced by extracting cannabinoids, including THC, with the

intended use of smoking, vaping or making a cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible product. The term includes a product

derived from cannabis that is produced by means of heat and

pressure or mechanical separations.

"Cannabis flower." Marijuana, hashish or other substances

identified as including any parts of the plant Cannabis sativa

and including derivatives or subspecies, such as indica, of all

strains of cannabis, including raw kief, leaves and buds. The

term does not include resin that has been extracted from any

part of the plant or any compound, manufacture, salt,

derivative, mixture or preparation of the plant, the plant's

seeds or resin.

"Cannabis-infused edible product." A product meant to be

chewed, dissolved, taken sublingually or swallowed. The term

includes ligquids, including beverages, food, o0il, tincture,
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capsule, tablet, gummies or other ingestible forms containing

cannabis or cannabis concentrate that are not intended to be

smoked or otherwise inhaled.

"Cannabis-infused nonedible product." A product meant to be

used topically or otherwise not intended to be ingested. The

term includes gels, creams, patches or ointments containing

cannabis or cannabis concentrate.

"Cannabis paraphernalia." Any equipment, product or material

of any kind which is primarily intended or designed for any of

the following:

(1) Use in wvaporizing, ingesting, inhaling or otherwise

introducing a cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product

into the human body.

(2) Preparing, storing or containing cannabis.

"Cannabis seed-to-sale tracking system" or "seed-to-sale

tracking system." A system designated by the department as the

system of record or a secondary electronic tracking system used

by a cannabis business establishment or testing laboratory that

meets all of the following criteria:

(1) The system captures everything that happens to a

cannabis plant from seed and cultivation through the growth,

harvest and manufacturing of cannabis and cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products, including testing and

transportation, to final sale.

(2) The system uses unique-plant identification and

unique-batch identification.

(3) The system has the ability to track the involvement

of an agent or permittee with cannabis and cannabis-infused
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edible and nonedible products.

(4) The system is integrated with a secondary system

used by a cannabis business establishment or a cannabis

testing facility, if applicable, in a form and manner

determined by the department.

(5) The system allows for two-way communication,

automation and a secure application-programming interface

with a cannabis business establishment's enterprise resource

planning, inventory, accounting and point-of-sale software.

(6) The system includes a secure application program

interface capable of accessing all data required to be

transmitted to the department to ensure compliance with the

operational reporting requirements specified under this

chapter or Chapter 93 (relating to medical marijuana) and any

regulations promulgated by the department

"Cannabis testing facility." An entity registered by the

department to test cannabis for potency and contaminants.

"Charter agreement." An agreement between a social and

economic equity applicant and a dispensing organization in which

the dispensing organization agrees to provide financial,

mentorship, training, operational and other support to the

social and economic equity applicant.

“Clone.” A plant section from a female cannabis plant not

yet root-bound, growing in a water solution or other propagation

matrix, that can develop into a new plant.

“Curbside.” The transfer or dispensing of cannabis or a

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product by an employee of

a cannabis business establishment to a vehicle located in the
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parking area or to an individual at the entrance of the

facility.

“Department.” The Department of Agriculture of the

Commonwealth.

"Dispensing organization" or “dispensary.” An organization,

including a person, that meets all of the following criteria:

(1) The organization is permitted by the department to

acquire cannabis from an adult use cultivation center or

micro cultivation center or other dispensary for the purpose

of selling or dispensing cannabis, cannabis concentrates,

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products, cannabis

seeds, paraphernalia or related supplies to individuals 21

years of age or older.

"Dispensing organization permit." A permit issued by the

department that allows a person to act as a dispensing

organization under this chapter or any regulation promulgated in

accordance with this chapter.

“Disproportionately impacted area." A census tract that

satisfies the criteria determined by the department and that

meets at least one of the following criteria:

(1) The area has a poverty rate of at least 20%

according to the most recent Federal decennial census.

(2) Seventy-five percent or more of the children in the

area participate in the National School Lunch Program

according to reported statistics from the State Board of

Education.

(3) At least 20% of the households in the area receive
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assistance under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance

Program.

(4) The area has an average unemployment rate, as

determined by the Department of Labor and Industry, that is

more than 120% of the national unemployment average as

determined by the United States Department of Labor for a

period of at least 12 consecutive calendar months preceding

the date of the application for a permit under this chapter

and has a high rate of arrest, conviction and incarceration

related to the sale, possession, use, cultivation,

manufacture or transport of cannabis.

"Enclosed, locked facility." A room, greenhouse, building or

other enclosed area equipped with locks or other security

devices that permit access only to cannabis business

establishment agents working for the permitted cannabis business

establishment or acting under this chapter to cultivate,

process, store or distribute cannabis.

"Enclosed, locked space." Space within a facility, building

or other enclosed area equipped with locks or other security

devices that permit access only to authorized individuals under

this chapter.

"Financial institution." As defined in section 3003.22(r) of

the act of March 4, 1971 (P.L.6, No.2), known as the Tax Reform

Code of 1971.

"Flowering stage." The stage of cultivation where and when a

cannabis plant is cultivated to produce plant material for a

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product. The term includes

mature plants if any of the following apply:
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(1) More than two stigmas are visible at each internode

of the plant.

(2) The cannabis plant is in an area that has been

intentionally deprived of light for a period of time intended

to produce flower buds and induce maturation, from the moment

the light deprivation began through the remainder of the

cannabis plant growth cycle.

"ILimited access area." A room or other area under the

control of a dispensing organization where cannabis sales occur

with access limited to individuals who are 21 years of age or

older and qualified patients and caregivers or other individuals

as determined by the department's regulations.

"Medical marijuana grower/processor." The term shall have

the same meaning as grower/processor as defined in section 9303

(relating to definitions).

"Medical marijuana organization." As defined in section

9303.

"Member of an impacted family." An individual who has a

parent, legal guardian, child, spouse or dependent or was a

dependent of an individual who, prior to the effective date of

this definition, was arrested for, convicted of or adjudicated

delinquent for any offense that is eligible for expungement

under section 9199.11(b) (relating to cannabis clean slate).

"Micro cultivation center." A facility operated by an

individual or entity that is permitted to cultivate, dry, cure

and package cannabis and perform other necessary activities to

make cannabis available for sale at a dispensing organization.

"Micro cultivation center permit." An authorization issued
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by the department to an individual or entity to conduct

activities of a micro cultivation center under this chapter.

"Minority-owned business." As defined in 74 Pa.C.S. § 303 (b)

(relating to diverse business participation).

"Ordinary public view." Within the sight line of a normal

visual range of an individual, unassisted by visual aids, from a

public street or sidewalk adjacent to real property or from

within an adjacent property.

"Ownership and control." Ownership of at least 51% of a

business, including corporate stock if a corporation, and

control over the management and day-to-day operations of the

business and an interest in the capital, assets, profits and

losses of the business proportionate to the percentage of

ownership.
"Patient." As defined in section 9303.
"Permit." An authorization issued by the department to a

cannabis business establishment to conduct activities under this

chapter.

"Permittee." An individual or entity granted a permit under

this chapter.

"Person." An individual, firm, partnership, association,

joint stock company, joint venture, public or private

corporation, limited liability company or a receiver, executor,

trustee, guardian or other representative appointed by order of

a court.

"Possession limit." The amount of cannabis that may be

possessed at any one time by an individual 21 years of age or

older, not including an individual who is a patient or caregiver
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under Chapter 93.

"Principal officer." Any of the following:

(1) An officer, director or person who directly owns

more than a 10% beneficial interest or ownership of the

securities of a cannabis business establishment applicant or

permittee or more than a 10% beneficial interest or ownership

of the securities of a cannabis business establishment

applicant or permittee that is a publicly traded company.

(2) A person who has a controlling interest in a

cannabis business establishment applicant or permittee or who

has the ability to elect the majority of the department of

directors of a cannabis business establishment applicant or

permittee.

(3) A person who otherwise controls a cannabis business

establishment applicant or permittee, not including a

financial institution.

"Purchaser." An individual 21 years of age or older who

acquires cannabis for consideration. The term does not include a

cannabis business establishment agent identification card holder

as used in accordance with Chapter 93.

"Remediation." The reprocessing of a manufactured cannabis-

infused product batch that has failed laboratory testing

conducted by a cannabis testing facility or the processing of a

harvest batch that has failed laboratory testing conducted by a

cannabis testing facility.

"Restricted access area." An area of a permitted cannabis

business establishment where only cannabis business

establishment agents are allowed, with limited exceptions.
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"Smoking." The inhalation of smoke caused by the combustion

of cannabis. The smoking of cannabis shall be permitted anywhere

cigarette smoking is permitted. Nothing in this chapter may be

construed to require a person or establishment in lawful

possession of property to allow a guest, client, lessee,

purchaser or visitor to use cannabis on or in that property,

including on land owned in whole or in part or managed in whole

or in part by the Commonwealth.

"Social and economic equity applicant." An applicant that

does not generate an annual income of more than $75,000 or have

financial assets exceeding $250,000 and meets any of the

following criteria:

(1) TIs comprised of at least 75% ownership and control

by one or more individuals who have resided for at least five

of the preceding 10 years in a disproportionately impacted

area in this Commonwealth.

(2) Is comprised of at least 75% ownership and control

by one or more individuals who:

(1) have been arrested for, convicted of or

adjudicated delinquent for an offense that is eligible

for expungement under this chapter; or

(ii) are members of an impacted family.

"Social and economic equity dispensing organization charter

permit." A dispensing organization permit issued to a social

and economic equity applicant that has entered into a charter

agreement with a dispensing organization to provide financial,

mentorship, training and other support to the social and

economic equity applicant.
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"THC." A delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol and any structural,

optical or geometric isomers of tetrahydrocannabinol, including

delta-7, delta-8 and delta-10 tetrahydrocannabinol,

tetrahydrocannabinolic acid, tetrahydrocannabiphorol,

hexaydrocannabinol and any other substance, however derived,

including but not limited to synthetically or from hemp or hemp

materials, that has similar effects on the mind or body as

determined by the department.

"Tincture." A cannabis-infused solution, typically comprised

of alcohol, glycerin or vegetable oils derived either directly

from the cannabis plant or from a processed cannabis extract.

The term does not include an alcoholic ligquor as used in the act

of April 12, 1951 (P.L.90, No.21), known as the Liquor Code. The

term shall include a calibrated dropper or other similar device

capable of accurately measuring servings.

"Veteran-owned small business." As defined in 51 Pa.C.S. §

9601 (relating to definitions).

"Women-owned business." As defined in 74 Pa.C.S. § 303(b).

SUBCHAPTER B

LAWFUL USE AND AUTHORITY

Sec.

9110. Lawful use.

9111. Sharing of authority.

9112. Background checks.

§ 9110. Lawful use.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, use or possession

of cannabis as specified under this chapter shall be lawful in

this Commonwealth.
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§ 9111. Sharing of authority.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an authority

granted to a Commonwealth agency or Commonwealth employee or

appointee under Chapter 93 (relating to medical marijuana) shall

be shared by the Commonwealth agency or employee or appointee

to permit, discipline, revoke, regulate or make regulations

under this chapter.

§ 9112. Background checks.

(a) Criminal history record check.--The department shall,

through the Pennsylvania State Police, conduct a criminal

history record check of each prospective principal officer,

board member and agent of a cannabis business establishment

applying for a permit or agent identification card under this

chapter. The Pennsylvania State Police shall furnish, pursuant

to a positive identification, all Pennsylvania conviction

information and shall forward the national criminal history

record information to the department. After the effective date

of this subsection, a principal officer, board member or agent

of a cannabis business establishment who is convicted of

diverting cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or nonedible

products or who intentionally dispenses cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products in a manner not consistent

with this chapter shall be deemed to have failed the criminal

history record check under this subsection and may not be

permitted or otherwise be employed by a cannabis business

establishment in this Commonwealth.

(b) Fingerprinting.--Each cannabis business establishment

prospective principal officer, board member or agent shall
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submit fingerprints to the Pennsylvania State Police in the form

and manner prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police. Unless

otherwise provided by Federal or State law, the fingerprints

under this subsection shall be transmitted through a live scan

fingerprint vendor and checked against the fingerprint records

filed in the Pennsylvania State Police and Federal Bureau of

Investigation criminal history records databases.

(c) Fee.--The Pennsylvania State Police shall charge a fee

for conducting the criminal history record check, which shall

not exceed the actual cost of the Commonwealth and national

criminal history record check.

(d) Submission and initial employment.--When applying for

the initial permit or identification card, the background checks

for each prospective principal officer, board member and agent

of a cannabis business establishment may be completed concurrent

with submitting the application to the department. An agent may

begin working at a cannabis business establishment while waiting

for the result of a background check. Nothing in this chapter

shall be construed to prevent or otherwise inhibit the ability

of an otherwise qualified individual from serving as a principal

officer, board member or agent of a cannabis business

establishment on the sole basis of a nonviolent criminal

conviction related to cannabis.

SUBCHAPTER C

PERSONAL USE OF CANNABIS

Sec.

9121. Personal use of cannabis, restrictions on cultivation and

penalties.
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9122. Possession limits.

9123. Individuals younger than 21 years of age.

9124. Identification, false identification and penalty.

9125. Immunities and presumptions related to the use of

cannabis by purchasers.

9126. Discrimination prohibited.

9127. Limitations and penalties.

9128. Employment and employer liability.

§ 9121. Personal use of cannabis, restrictions on cultivation

and penalties.

Beginning 90 days after the effective date of this

subsection, notwithstanding any other provision of law and

except as otherwise specified under this chapter, the following

acts shall not be a violation of this chapter and shall not be a

criminal or civil offense under State law or an ordinance of a

local government unit of this Commonwealth or be a basis for

seizure or forfeiture of assets under State law for an

individual other than an individual younger than 21 years of

age, unless that individual, and the individual's caregiver, if

applicable, is authorized under Chapter 93 (relating to

medical marijuana) to:

(1) possess, consume, use, purchase, obtain or transport

cannabis in an amount for personal use that does not exceed

the possession limit or requirements of this chapter;

(2) possess, use, obtain or transport cannabis
paraphernalia;
(3) transfer without remuneration, within lawful

possession limits, to an individual 21 years of age or older;
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(4) control property if actions that are authorized by

this chapter occur on the property in accordance with this

chapter; and

(5) smoke or vaporize cannabis concentrate anywhere

smoking is permitted.

§ 9122. Possession limits.

(a) Limits.--Except as otherwise authorized under this

chapter, for an individual who is 21 years of age or older who

is not a patient, the possession limits for cannabis shall be as

follows and cumulative:

(1) Thirty grams of cannabis flower.

(2) 1,000 milligrams of THC contained in cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products.

(3) Five grams of cannabis concentrate.

(b) Excess prohibited.--A person may not knowingly obtain,

seek to obtain or possess an amount of cannabis from a

dispensing organization that would exceed the possession limit

under this section, including cannabis that is cultivated by a

person under this chapter.

(c) Exception.--Cannabis and cannabis-derived substances

regulated under 3 Pa.C.S. Chs. 7 (relating to industrial hemp

research) and 15 (relating to controlled plants and noxious

weeds) and the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (Public Law

115-334, 132 Stat. 4490) shall not apply to this section.

§ 9123. 1Individuals younger than 21 years of age.

(a) Prohibition.--An individual younger than 21 years of age

may not purchase, possess, use, process, transport, grow or

consume cannabis except as authorized under Chapter 93 (relating
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to medical marijuana) .

(b) Penalties for underage cannabis offenses.--

(1) An individual who violates subsection (a) commits a

summary offense and shall receive a written warning for the

first offense by a court of competent jurisdiction and may be

subject to a fine of not more than $250 for a second offense

and not more than $500 for a third and each subsequent

offense.

(2) A State or local law enforcement agency shall keep a

record of a violation of subsection (a) in a repository or

database separate from a repository or database with other

law enforcement records. A record of a violation of

subsection (a) shall only be used to determine if an

individual committed a subsequent violation of subsection

(a) . A State or local law enforcement agency shall destroy a

record of a violation of subsection (a) when the individual

who committed the offense attains 21 years of age.

(3) A State or local law enforcement agency responsible

for enforcing a violation of subsection (a) shall notify the

parent or guardian of the individual who committed the

offense if the individual is younger than 18 years of age.

(4) When an individual is charged for violating

subsection (a), the magisterial district judge may admit the

offender to the adjudication alternative as authorized under

42 Pa.C.S. § 1520 (relating to adjudication alternative

program) or any other preadjudication disposition if the

individual has not previously received a preadjudication

disposition for violating subsection (a).
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(c) Intentional transfer or possession to underage

individual.--An individual 21 years of age or older who

intentionally transfers cannabis, with or without remuneration,

to an individual younger than 21 years of age, except as

authorized under Chapter 93, or intentionally allows an

individual younger than 21 years of age to purchase, possess,

use, process, transport, grow or consume cannabis, except as

authorized under Chapter 93, may be disqualified from purchasing

cannabis as authorized under this chapter in addition to being

subject to additional criminal or civil penalties under State

law. The department shall promulgate regulations to implement

this subsection for the purpose of notifying dispensaries of a

disqualification under this subsection and the penalties that

may be imposed against a cannabis business establishment or

agent for intentionally transferring cannabis to an individual

younger than 21 years of age, except as authorized under Chapter

93.

§ 9124. Identification, false identification and penalty.

(a) No personal information required.--To protect personal

privacy, the department may not require a purchaser to provide a

dispensing organization with personal information other than for

the purpose of verifying the purchaser's age by means of a

government-issued identification. A dispensing organization may

not obtain or record personal information about a purchaser

without the purchaser's consent.

(b) Scanning identification.--A dispensing organization

shall use an electronic reader or electronic scanning device to

scan a purchaser's government-issued identification to determine
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the purchaser's age and the validity of the identification. A

cannabis business establishment may operate for temporary

periods without an operational electronic reader or electronic

scanning device if a process is implemented to determine the

purchaser's age and the validity of identification.

§ 9125. TImmunities and presumptions related to the use of

cannabis by purchasers.

(a) Penalty applicability.--A purchaser who is 21 years of

age or older shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, denial

of a right or privilege or other punishment, including, a civil

penalty or disciplinary action taken by an occupational or

professional licensing or permitting board based solely on any

of the following:

(1) The use or possession of cannabis, if:

(i) the purchaser possesses an amount of cannabis

that does not exceed the possession limit under this

chapter; and

(ii) the use of cannabis does not impair the

purchaser when engaged in the practice of the profession

for which the purchaser is licensed, permitted, certified

or registered.

(2) Selling cannabis paraphernalia if employed and

authorized as an agent by a permitted dispensing

organization.

(3) Being in the presence or vicinity of the use of

cannabis or cannabis paraphernalia as authorized under this

chapter.

(4) Possessing cannabis paraphernalia.
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(b) Determination of probable cause.--

(1) Mere possession of or application for authorization

to work as a cannabis business establishment agent or the

agent identification card shall not:

(i) constitute probable cause or reasonable

suspicion to believe that a crime has been committed; or

(ii) Dbe used as the sole basis to support the search

of the person, property or residence of the individual

authorized to work as a cannabis business establishment

agent, possessing an agent identification card or

applying for authorization to work as an agent.

(2) The possession of or application for authorization

to work as a cannabis business establishment agent or

possession of an agent identification card shall not preclude

the existence of probable cause if probable cause exists

based on other grounds.

(c) Reliance.--An individual employed by the Commonwealth or

a local government unit shall not be subject to criminal or

civil penalties for taking an action in good faith in reliance

on the provisions of this chapter when acting within the scope

of employment.

(d) Law enforcement liability.--A law enforcement or

correctional agency, or an employee of a law enforcement or

correctional agency, shall not be subject to criminal or civil

liability, except for willful and wanton misconduct, as a result

of taking an action within the scope of the official duties of

the law enforcement or correctional agency or employee to

prohibit or prevent the possession or use of cannabis by any of
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the following:

(1) An individual incarcerated at a correctional

institution, county jail or other facility under the

supervision of the Department of Corrections.

(2) An individual on parole or mandatory supervised

release or otherwise under the lawful jurisdiction of the law

enforcement or correctional agency or employee.

(e) Medical care.--For the purpose of receiving medical

care, including an organ transplant, an individual's use of

cannabis under this chapter shall not constitute the use of an

illicit substance or otherwise disqualify an individual from

medical care.

(f) Firearms possession.--A lawful purchaser or possessor of

cannabis under this chapter or a patient may not be prohibited

or otherwise restricted from lawful firearm ownership. The

Pennsylvania State Police, a county sheriff's office or another

law enforcement agency shall take measures to revise firearms

applications or take other necessary actions to ensure

compliance with this chapter.

(g) Child custody.--The purchase or possession of cannabis

shall not be a determining factor in a child custody matter. The

record of a legal purchase of cannabis shall not be subject to

disclosure solely due to a custody action.

§ 9126. Discrimination prohibited.

(a) Child welfare.--The presence of cannabinoid component or

metabolites in an individual's bodily fluids, possession of

cannabis-related paraphernalia, conduct related to the use of

cannabis or the participation in cannabis-related activities
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authorized under this chapter by a custodial or noncustodial

parent, grandparent, legal guardian, foster parent or other

individual charged with the well-being of a child, may not form

the sole, primary basis or supporting basis for an action or

proceeding by a child welfare agency or family or juvenile

court. Unless the individual's actions in relation to cannabis

create an unreasonable danger to the safety of the child or

otherwise show the individual is not competent as established by

clear and convincing evidence, the prohibition under this

subsection shall include any of the following:

(1) An adverse finding, evidence or restriction of a

right or privilege in a proceeding related to the adoption of

a child.

(2) A fitness determination or a determination related

to a foster parent, guardianship, conservatorship or

trusteeship.
(3) The execution of a will or the management of an
estate.

(b) Landlords.--A landlord may not be penalized or denied a

benefit of leasing to an individual who uses cannabis under this

chapter.

(c) Use in private area.--Nothing in this chapter may be

construed to require a person or establishment in lawful

possession of property to allow a guest, client, lessee,

purchaser or visitor to use cannabis on or in that property,

including on land owned in whole or in part or managed in whole

or in part by the Commonwealth.

§ 9127. Limitations and penalties.
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(a) General limitations.--This chapter shall not permit an

individual to engage in and shall not prevent the imposition of

a civil, criminal or other penalty for engaging in any of the

following:

(1) Undertaking a task under the influence of cannabis

when doing so would constitute negligence, professional

malpractice or professional misconduct.

(2) Possessing cannabis:

(i) 1in a school bus, unless permitted for a patient

or caregiver under Chapter 93 (relating to medical

marijuana) ;

(ii) on the grounds of a preschool or primary or

secondary school, unless permitted for a patient or

caregiver under Chapter 93;

(1ii) in an correctional institution;

(iv) in a vehicle not open to the public unless the

cannabis is in a cannabis container and reasonably

inaccessible while the vehicle is moving; or

(v) 1in a private residence that is used at any time

to provide permitted childcare or other similar social

service care on the premises.

(3) Using cannabis:
(i) 1n a school bus, unless permitted for a patient;
(ii) on the grounds of a preschool or primary or

secondary school, unless permitted for a patient;

(111) in a correctional institution;

(1v) in a motor wvehicle;

(v) 1in a private residence that is used at any time
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to provide permitted child care or other similar social

service care on the premises; or

(vi) knowingly in close physical proximity to an

individual younger than 21 years of age.

(4) Operating, navigating or being in actual physical

control of any motor vehicle, aircraft, watercraft or

snowmobile while using or under the influence of cannabis.

(5) Facilitating the use of cannabis by an individual

who is not authorized to use cannabis under this chapter or

Chapter 93.

(6) Transferring cannabis to an individual in violation

of this chapter or Chapter 93.

(7) The use of cannabis by a law enforcement officer,

constable, corrections officer, probation officer or

firefighter while on duty.

(8) The use of cannabis by an individual who has a

commercial driver's license while on duty.

(b) Business restriction.--Nothing in this chapter shall

prevent a private business from restricting or prohibiting the

use of cannabis on business property, including areas where

motor vehicles are parked.

(c) Supremacy implication.--Nothing in this chapter shall

authorize or otherwise require an individual or business entity

to violate Federal law, including the ability to consume

cannabis in public housing or on college or university campuses.

(d) THC limitations.--A person may not sell, offer for sale,

dispense, process, manufacture, market, advertise or distribute

cannabis or a product intended for consumption or inhalation in
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excess of the THC concentrations and limits prescribed, unless

licensed and/or permitted and authorized under this Act.

(e) Cannabinoid product limitations.--A person may not sell,

dispense, process, manufacture or distribute a cannabinoid

product that is not derived from naturally occurring

biologically active chemical constituents.

(f) Penalties.--A person who violates subsection (d) or (e)

is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree. Upon conviction,

the court may sentence the person to a pay a fine not to exceed

$10,000 for each offense under subsection (d) or (e).

§ 9128. Employment and employer liability.

(a) Workplace policies.--Nothing in this chapter shall

prohibit an employer from adopting reasonable zero-tolerance

policies, drug-free workplace policies or employment policies

concerning testing, smoking, consuming, storing or using

cannabis in the workplace or while on call, provided that the

policies are applied in a nondiscriminatory manner. Nothing in

this chapter shall require an employer to permit an employee to

be under the influence of or use cannabis in the employer's

workplace or while performing the employee's job duties or while

on call.

(b) Violations of employer policies.--Nothing in this

chapter shall limit or prevent an employer from disciplining an

employee or terminating employment of an employee for violating

an employer's employment policies or workplace drug policy.

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to interfere with any

Federal, State or local restrictions on employment.

SUBCHAPTER D
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PROGRAM

Sec.

9131. Program establishment.

9132. Applicability of other statutes.

9133. Powers and duties of department.

9134. Regulations.

9135. Temporary regulations.

9136. Confidentiality and public disclosure.

9137. Unlicensed activities and civil penalties.

9138. Cannabis Business Development Fund.

§ 9131. Program establishment.

(a) An adult use cannabis program for the personal use and

possession of cannabis by individuals 21 years of age or older

within the Commonwealth is established. The department shall

implement, direct and oversee this chapter.

§ 9132. Applicability of other statutes.

(a) General rule.--The department shall be subject to the

following acts:

(1) The act of July 19, 1957 (P.L.1017, No.451), known

as the State Adverse Interest Act.

(2) The act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3), known as

the Right-to-Know Law.

(3) The provisions of 65 Pa.C.S. Chs. 7 (relating to

open meetings) and 11 (relating to ethics standards and

financial disclosure) .

§ 9133. Powers and duties of department.

(a) Authority.--The department shall have general and sole

regulatory authority over the conduct of cannabis or related
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activities as described in this chapter. The department shall

have all the powers necessary or convenient to carry out and

effectuate its purposes in administering the adult use cannabis

and medical cannabis programs.

(b) Staffing.--The department shall employ individuals as

necessary to implement this chapter, who shall serve at the

pleasure of the department. An employee of the department shall

be considered a State employee for purposes of 71 Pa.C.S. Pt.

XXV (relating to retirement for State employees and officers).

(c) Department duties.--The department shall:

(1) Schedule and initiate a process to promulgate new

regulations or modify regulations.

(2) Hold public hearings on proposed regulations.

(3) 1Issue permits to cannabis business establishments to

authorize the cannabis business establishments to cultivate,

process, transport and dispense cannabis and ensure

compliance with this chapter.

(4) Register cannabis business establishment agents and

ensure compliance with this chapter.

(5) Have regulatory and enforcement authority over the

cultivating, processing, transporting, dispensing and using

of cannabis in this Commonwealth.

(6) Designate a seed-to-sale tracking system to include

activities and information relating to cannabis business

establishments and electronic tracking of all cannabis under

this chapter.

(7) Develop recordkeeping requirements for all books and

papers, any seed-to-sale tracking system data and other
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information of a cannabis business establishment for a period

of four years unless otherwise provided by the department.

(8) Develop enforcement procedures, including announced

and unannounced inspections of facilities and records of a

cannabis business establishment.

(9) Oversee enforcement actions over permittees,

including holding hearings of appeals within 90 days of the

filing of an appeal.

(10) Develop and implement a comprehensive social equity

and economic development program in partnership with the

Commonwealth Financing Authority, which shall have the duty

of conducting oversight of grants and loans under this

chapter.

(11) Convene working groups.

(12) Establish and maintain public outreach programs

about the adult use cannabis and medical cannabis programs.

(13) Collaborate as necessary with other Commonwealth

agencies and departments or contract with third parties as

necessary to carry out the provisions of this chapter.

(14) Develop strategies and procedures to prohibit the

illicit cannabis market, including enforcement actions and

coordination with other government agencies to prohibit

unlicensed cannabis distribution and sales within the

Commonwealth.

§ 9134. Regulations.

(a) Promulgation.--The department shall promulgate

regulations, with input from industry stakeholders, to implement

the provisions of this chapter, including all of the following:
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(1) The types of permits issued under this chapter,

including the following types of permits:

(i) Cultivation/processing.
(1i) Micro cultivation.
(iii) Dispensing.

(iv) Testing.

(2) The methods and forms of permit applications,

including timeline, fees and minimum requirements.

(3) The policies and procedures to prioritize, promote

and encourage diversity and full participation by individuals

from communities that have been disproportionately harmed by

cannabis prohibition and cannabis enforcement prohibition.

(4) Procedures to process and competitively score permit
applications.
(5) Procedures to process administrative requests,

including changes of ownership and location.

(6) Security procedures for cannabis business
establishments.
(7) Enforcement procedures, including fines, suspensions

and revocations.

(8) Ownership and financial disclosure procedures and

requirements for cannabis business establishments, including

record keeping requirements.

(9) Procedures and requirements concerning the

divestiture of a beneficial ownership interest by a person

found unqualified.

(10) Procedures, processes and requirements for

transfers of ownership, including the involvement of a
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publicly traded corporation.

(11) Combining the medical program under Chapter 93 and

adult use program under this chapter.

(12) Seed-to-sale tracking system procedures.

(13) Procedures and requirements for curbside pickup

services offered by dispensing organizations.

(14) Transportation requirements, including:

(1) Establishing procedures and requirements for

home delivery services by dispensing organizations.

(ii) A requirement that transportation between

cannabis business establishments occurs in secured

vehicles but allowing for transportation in vehicles

other than those owned and operated by cannabis business

establishments for purchasers to transport cannabis.

(iii) Details required on transportation manifests.

(iv) Policies encouraging bulk shipment where

appropriate.
(15) Labeling requirements.
(16) Cannabis-infused edible product requirements,

including the following:

(i) Ensuring that products are not likely to appeal

to minors.

(ii) Product safety reqgulations, including the

requiring of best manufacturing practices and appropriate

testing.

(iii) Standards for creating clearly delineated

individual servings.

(17) Advertising and marketing regulations that balance
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the ability of a cannabis business establishment to engage in

reasonable marketing and promotional activities while:

(i) Ensuring advertising and marketing does not

target minors.

(ii) Reasonably restricting access to minors by

taking steps to ensure the audience will be predominantly

over 21 years of age for advertising and marketing.

(18) Product safety regulations, including:

(1) Regulations consistent with best practices for

food products, except where necessary modifications are

required due to the active compounds in the cannabis

plant.

(ii) Standards for packaging to address freshness,

tamper evidence and limiting access to children.

(iii) Standard symbols and warnings where the

department shall review symbols and warnings from other

jurisdictions where cannabis sales are permitted.

(iv) A prohibition on packaging that is likely to

appeal to minors.

(19) Procedures for the investigation and enforcement of

unregulated and unlicensed cultivation, processing,

manufacturing, sale, dispensing or distribution of cannabis,

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products or products

intended for consumption or inhalation in violation of this

Act.

(b) Compliance deadline.--A permittee shall have 180 days

from the effective date of a new regulation promulgated by the

department under this section to comply with the new regulation.
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§ 9135. Temporary regulations.

(a) Promulgation.--The department shall promulgate temporary

regulations no later than 90 days from the effective date of

this subsection. If the department fails to promulgate temporary

regulations under this subsection, the failure shall not delay

or inhibit the ability of a current medical marijuana

organization on the effective date of this subsection from

commencing adult use operations. The temporary regulations under

this subsection shall expire not later than two years after the

effective date of this subsection and shall not be subject to

any of the following:

(1) Section 612 of the act of April 9, 1929 (pP.L.177,

No.175), known as The Administrative Code of 1929.

(2) Sections 201, 202, 203, 204 and 205 of the act of

July 31, 1968 (P.L.769, No.240), referred to as the

Commonwealth Documents Law.

(3) Sections 204 (b) and 301(10) of the act of October

15, 1980 (P.L.950, No.lo4), known as the Commonwealth

Attorneys Act.

(4) The act of June 25, 1982 (P.L.633, No.181l), known as

the Regulatory Review Act.

(b) Compliance deadline.--A current medical marijuana

organization on the effective date of this subsection that is

authorized to cultivate, process, dispense or transport cannabis

under this chapter shall have 180 days from the effective date

of a new temporary regulation promulgated by the department

under subsection (a) to comply with the temporary regulation.

§ 9136. Confidentiality and public disclosure.
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(a) Exempt from access.-All personal information obtained by

the department relating to agents or purchasers shall be exempt

from access under the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3),

known as the Right-to-Know Law.

(b) Public records.--The following records are public

records and shall be accessible for inspection and duplication

in accordance with the Right-to-Know Law:

(1) With exceptions for private, security-related and

trade secret information, applications for permits submitted

by a cannabis business establishment.

(2) Information relating to penalties or other

disciplinary actions taken against a cannabis business

establishment or agent by the department for violation of

this chapter.

§ 9137. Unlicensed activities and civil penalties.

(a) Unlicensed activities.--In addition to any other penalty

provided by Federal or State law, a person who cultivates,

processes, distributes, sells or offers for sale cannabis,

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products, cannabis

concentrates, cannabis flower or any product intended for

consumption or inhalation in violation of section 9127 (relating

to limitations and penalties) without a license issued by the

department shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed

$10,000 for each offense. Each day a person engages in

unlicensed activity under this subsection shall constitute a

separate offense.

(b) Enforcement.--The Attorney General, the department, a

State or local law enforcement agency or a local government unit
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may investigate an unlicensed activity under subsection (a) and

engage in enforcement measures, including entering into an

intergovernmental agreement to prevent the conduct of an

unlicensed activity under subsection (a).

(c) Suspension or revocation.--In addition to any other

penalty provided by Federal or State law, upon the conduct of a

third or subsequent unlicensed activity under subsection (a), a

local government unit may suspend or revoke the business license

of the person who engaged in the unlicensed activity.

(d) A wviolation of subsection (a) is an unfair or deceptive

act or practice under the Act of Dec. 17, 1968, P.L. 1224, known

as the Pennsylvania Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer

Protection Law. All remedies, penalties, and authority granted

to the Attorney General under that Act shall be available for

the enforcement of this Act.

(e) In addition to the authority granted to the Attorney

General, any business or consumer injured by a violation of

subsection (a) may bring an action to enjoin a business

retailing, cultivating, manufacturing, distributing, or

possessing cannabis without a license and to recover actual

damages sustained. Courts shall enter judgment in an amount

equal to three times actual damages and shall have discretion to

award punitive damages in an amount commensurate with actual

damages. The Court shall award attorneys fees and costs to the

prevailing party.

§ 9138. Cannabis Business Development Fund.

(a) Establishment.--The Cannabis Business Development Fund

is established in the State Treasury. Money in the Cannabis
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Business Development Fund is appropriated on a continuing basis

for the purposes specified under this section and shall not

lapse.

(b) Deposits.--Certain fees payable under this chapter shall

be deposited into the Cannabis Business Development Fund as

specified under this chapter. In addition, $3,000,000 of gross

receipts of revenue deposited into the Cannabis Regulation Fund

shall be transferred to the Cannabis Business Development Fund.

The money deposited into the Cannabis Business Development Fund

may only be used for the purposes specified under this chapter.

Any interest accrued shall be deposited into the Cannabis

Business Development Fund.

(c) Investment.--The Department of Community and Economic

Development shall direct the investment of the Cannabis Business

Development Fund. The State Treasurer shall credit to the

Cannabis Business Development Fund interest and earnings from

Cannabis Business Development Fund investment.

(d) Administrator.--The Department of Community and Economic

Development shall be the administrator of the Cannabis Business

Development Fund for auditing purposes.

(e) Purposes.--Money in the Cannabis Business Development

Fund shall be used for any of the following purposes:

(1) Providing low-interest-rate or zero-interest-rate

loans to qualified social and economic equity applicants to

pay for ordinary and necessary expenses to start and operate

a cannabis business establishment.

(2) Providing grants to qualified social and economic

equity applicants to pay for ordinary and necessary expenses
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to start and operate a cannabis business establishment.

(3) Providing low-interest-rate loans to social and

economic equity dispensing organization charter permittees

and applicants to pay for legal expenses related to the

development and execution of charter agreements.

(4) Providing grants to social and economic equity

dispensing organization charter permittees and applicants to

pay for legal expenses related to the development and

execution of charter agreements.

(5) Reimbursing the Department of Community and Economic

Development for costs related to the provision of low-

interest-rate loans and grants to qualified social and

economic equity applicants.

(6) Paying for outreach that may be provided or targeted

to attract and support social and economic equity applicants.

(7) Conducting study or research concerning the

participation of minorities, women, veterans or individuals

with disabilities in the cannabis industry, including

barriers to individuals entering the industry as equity

owners of a cannabis business establishment.

(8) Assisting with job training and technical assistance

in disproportionately impacted areas.

(9) Assisting community organizations, offender reentry

programs, workforce development programs and other community

or advocacy programs in disproportionately impacted areas or

other communities negatively affected by Federal and State

drug regulation and enforcement.

(f) Additional deposits.--All money collected for the
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approval of a dispensing organization and adult use cultivation

center permit for current medical marijuana operators issued

before January 1, 2025, and remunerations made as a result of

transfers of permits awarded to qualified social and economic

equity applicants shall be deposited into the Cannabis Business

Development Fund.

(g) Transfers.—--As soon as practical after the effective

date of this subsection, the State Treasurer may transfer

unassigned monies from the Medical Marijuana Program Fund, up to

but not in excess of 75% the total balance, into the Cannabis

Business Development Fund.

(h) Prohibition.--Notwithstanding any other provision of

law, the Cannabis Business Development Fund shall not be subject

to sweeps, administrative charge-backs or any other fiscal or

budgetary maneuver that would transfer money from the Cannabis

Business Development Fund into any other fund of the

Commonwealth.
SUBCHAPTER E
SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC EQUITY
Sec.
9141. Social and economic equity.
9142. Loans and grants to social and economic equity
applicants.
9143. Fee wailvers.
9144. Transfer of permit awarded to qualified social and

economic equity applicant.

§ 9141. Social and economic equity.

(a) Promotion and partnership.--The department shall promote
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and take any necessary action to ensure social and economic

equity in the adult use cannabis industry in this Commonwealth.

The department shall partner with the Department of Community

and Economic Development in facilitating the grant and loans

under this chapter.

(b) Report.--On January 1 of every year, the department,

with the assistance of the Department of Community and Economic

Development as necessary, shall prepare and issue a public

report that assesses the extent of diversity in the adult use

cannabis industry and methods for reducing or eliminating any

identified barriers to entry, including access to capital. The

information reported shall include all of the following:

(1) The number and percentage of permits provided to

social and economic equity applicants and to businesses owned

by minorities, women, veterans and individuals with

disabilities.

(2) The total number and percentage of employees in the

cannabis industry who meet the definition of a social and

economic equity applicant or who are minorities, women,

veterans or people with disabilities.

(3) The total number and percentage of contractors and

subcontractors in the adult use cannabis industry that meet

the criteria of social and economic equity applicants or that

are owned by minority-owned businesses, women-owned

businesses, veteran-owned businesses or owned by individuals

with disabilities, if known to the cannabis business

establishment.

(4) Recommendations on reducing or eliminating any
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identified barriers to entry, including access to capital, in

the cannabis industry.

§ 9142. Loans and grants to social and economic equity
applicants.
(a) Grant and loan programs.--The Commonwealth Financing

Authority shall establish grant and loan programs, subject to

appropriations from the Cannabis Business Development Fund for

the purposes of providing financial assistance, loans, grants

and technical assistance to social and economic equity

applicants. The Department of Community and Economic Development

may:

(1) provide cannabis social and economic equity loans

and grants from appropriations from the Cannabis Business

Development Fund to assist qualified social and economic

equity applicants in the Commonwealth's regulated adult use

cannabis marketplace;

(2) enter into agreements that state the terms and

conditions of the financial assistance, accept funds or

grants and engage in cooperation with private entities and

Commonwealth agencies or local government to carry out the

purposes of this section;

(3) fix, determine, charge and collect any premiums,

fees, charges, costs and expenses, including application

fees, commitment fees, program fees, financing charges or

publication fees, in connection with the Commonwealth

Financing Authority's activities under this section;

(4) coordinate assistance under loan programs with

activities of the department and other Commonwealth agencies
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as needed to maximize the effectiveness and efficiency of

this chapter;

(5) provide staff, administration and related support

required to administer this section;

(6) take other necessary or appropriate actions to

protect the Commonwealth's interest in the event of

bankruptcy, default, foreclosure or noncompliance with the

terms and conditions of financial assistance provided under

this section, including the ability to recapture funds if the

recipient is found to be in noncompliance with the terms and

conditions of the financial assistance agreement;

(7) establish application, notification, contract and

other forms, procedures or regulations deemed necessary and

appropriate; and

(8) wutilize vendors or contract work to implement this
chapter.
(b) Conditions.--Loans made under this section shall meet

all of the following criteria:

(1) Only be made if, in the judgment of the Commonwealth

Financing Authority, the project furthers the goals specified

under this chapter.

(2) Be in a principal amount and form and contain terms

and provisions with respect to security, insurance,

reporting, delinquency charges, default remedies and other

matters as the Department of Community and Economic

Development shall determine appropriate to protect the public

interest and to be consistent with the purposes of this

section.
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(c) Award.--Grants made under this section shall be awarded

on a competitive and annual basis and shall further and promote

the goals of this chapter, including promotion of social and

economic equity applicants, job training and workforce

development and technical assistance to social and economic

equity applicants.

(d) Annual report.--Beginning January 1, 2025, and each year

thereafter, the Department of Community and Economic Development

shall annually report to the Governor, the General Assembly and

the department on the outcomes and effectiveness of this

section, including all of the following:

(1) The number of persons or businesses receiving

financial assistance under this section.

(2) The amount in financial assistance awarded in the

aggregate, in addition to the amount of loans made that are

outstanding and the amount of grants awarded.

(3) The location of the project engaged in by the person

or business.

(4) If applicable, the number of new jobs and other

forms of economic output created as a result of the financial

assistance.

(e) Additional outreach.--The Commonwealth Financing

Authority shall include engagement with individuals with limited

FEnglish proficiency as part of its outreach provided or targeted

to attract and support social and economic equity applicants.

§ 9143. Fee wailvers.

(a) Permit application fee waiver.--The department may waive

or reduce the nonrefundable permit application fee,




44

nonrefundable fee associated with purchasing a permit to operate

a cannabis business establishment and any surety bond or other

financial requirement of a social and economic equity applicant

if a social and economic equity applicant meets all the

following qualifications at the time the payment is due:

(1) The applicant, including each individual or entity

with 10% or greater ownership and each parent company,

subsidiary or affiliate, has less than a total of $750,000 of

income in the previous calendar year.

(2) The applicant, including each individual or entity

with 10% or greater ownership and each parent company,

subsidiary or affiliate, has no more than two other permits

for cannabis business establishments or medical marijuana

organizations in this Commonwealth.

(b) Attestation.--The department may require a social and

economic equity applicant to attest that they meet the

requirements for a fee waiver under subsection (a) and provide

evidence of total annual income for the previous calendar year.

(c) Eligibility determination.--If the department determines

that an applicant who applied as a social and economic equity

applicant is not eligible under this section, the applicant

shall be provided an additional 10 days to provide alternative

evidence of qualification as a social and economic equity

applicant. The applicant may pay the remainder of the waived fee

and not be considered as a social and economic equity applicant.

If the applicant cannot meet the qualifications standards or pay

the remainder of the waived fee, the department may keep the

initial application fee and the application shall not be graded.
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§ 9144. Transfer of permit awarded to qualified social and

economic equity applicant.

(a) Transfer, sale or grant of permit.--In the event a

qualified social and economic equity applicant seeks to

transfer, sell or grant a cannabis business establishment permit

to an individual or entity that does not qualify as a social and

economic equity applicant after one year from the date of

issuance of the permit and within five years after the permit

was issued, the transfer agreement shall require the new permit

holder to pay the department an amount equal to all the

following for deposit into the Cannabis Business Development

Fund:

(1) Fees that were waived by any Commonwealth agency

based on the applicant's status as a social and economic

equity applicant, if applicable.

(2) The outstanding amount owed by the qualified social

and economic equity applicant for a loan through the Cannabis

Business Development Fund, if applicable.

(3) The full amount of a grant that the qualified social

and economic equity applicant received from the Commonwealth

Financing Authority, if applicable.

(b) Applicability.--Transfers of a cannabis business

establishment permit awarded to a social and economic equity

applicant shall be subject to all other provisions of this

chapter.

SUBCHAPTER F

REGULATION OF CANNABIS BUSINESS ESTABLISHMENTS

Sec.
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9151. Authority to conduct oversight of cannabis business
establishments.

9152. Medical marijuana exemption.

9153. Authorization of current medical marijuana organizations
to commence dispensing cannabis for adult use.

9154. 1Issuance of additional permits to current medical
marijuana organizations and qualified social and
economic equity applicants.

9155. New dispensing organization permits.

9156. Selection criteria for new dispensing organization
permits.

9157. Dispensing organization operational requirements and
prohibitions.

9158. Dispensing cannabis.

9159. Agent-in-charge.

9159.1. Inventory control system.

9159.2. Storage requirements.

9159.3. Destruction and disposal of cannabis.

9159.4. Security measures.

9159.5. Recordkeeping.

9159.6. Issuance of adult use cultivation center permits.

9159.7. Authorization of current medical marijuana
grower/processor permit holders to selling cannabis
for adult use.

9159.8. New adult use cultivation center permits.

9159.9. Adult use cultivation center requirements and
prohibitions.

9159.10. Issuance of micro cultivation center permits.
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9159.11. Micro cultivation center permit applications.

9159.12. Selection criteria for micro cultivation center

permits.

9159.13. (Reserved).

9159.14. Micro cultivation center requirements and prohibitions.

9159.15. Cannabis business establishment agent identification

cards.

9159.16. Background check for cannabis business establishment

applicants.

9159.17. Renewal of cannabis business establishment permits and

cannabis business establishment agent identification

cards.
§ 9151. Authority to conduct oversight of cannabis business
establishments.
(a) Enforcement.--The department shall administer and

enforce the provisions of this chapter relating to the

permitting and oversight of a cannabis business establishment

and cannabis business establishment agents unless otherwise

provided in this chapter.

(b) Limitation.--A person may not operate a cannabis

business establishment for the purpose of cultivating,

processing, dispensing or transporting cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products without a permit issued

under this chapter. A person may not be an officer, director,

manager or agent of a cannabis business establishment without

having been authorized by the department.

(c) Powers and duties.--Subject to the provisions of this

chapter, the department may exercise the following powers and
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duties:

(1) Prescribe forms to be issued for the administration

and enforcement of this chapter.

(2) Examine, inspect and investigate the premises,

operations and records of cannabis business establishment

applicants and permittees.

(3) Conduct investigations of possible violations of

this chapter pertaining to a cannabis business establishment

and cannabis business establishment agents.

(4) Conduct hearings on proceedings to refuse to issue

or renew, revoke or suspend permits or to place on probation,

reprimand or otherwise discipline a permittee or agent under

this chapter or take other nondisciplinary action.

(5) Adopt regulations required for the administration of

this chapter.

§ 9152. Medical marijuana exemption.

This chapter shall not apply to entities registered under

Chapter 93 (relating to medical marijuana), except where

otherwise specified.

§ 9153. Authorization of current medical marijuana

organizations to commence dispensing cannabis for

adult use.

(a) Dual use permits.--A medical marijuana organization

holding a dispensary permit granted under Subchapter E or K of

Chapter 93 (relating to medical marijuana) shall be authorized

to commence selling cannabis for adult use at a dispensary

operating under Chapter 93 as of January 1, 2025. A medical

marijuana organization shall pay a fee of $100,000 to the
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department, which shall be deposited into the Cannabis

Regulation Fund, before commencing the sale of cannabis for

adult use.

(b) Delay or inhibit operations.--The failure of the

department to promulgate regulations shall not delay or inhibit

the ability of a medical marijuana organization under subsection

(a) from commencing the sale of cannabis for adult use at a

dispensary operating under Chapter 93. If the department fails

to authorize a medical marijuana organization under subsection

(a) from commencing the sale of cannabis for adult use at a

dispensary operating under Chapter 93 within 180 days from the

effective date of this subsection, the medical marijuana

organization shall automatically be authorized to commence

cannabis sales for adult use.

§ 9154. 1Issuance of additional permits to current medical

marijuana organizations and qualified social and

economic equity applicants.

(a) Medical marijuana organizations.--In addition to being

able to commence dispensing cannabis for adult use from a

dispensary operating under Chapter 93 (relating to medical

marijuana) in accordance with section 9153 (relating to

authorization of current medical marijuana organizations to

commence dispensing cannabis for adult use), a medical marijuana

organization holding a dispensary permit granted under

Subchapter E or K of Chapter 93 on the effective date of this

subsection may apply for an additional permit authorizing the

sale of cannabis for adult use. The additional permit shall

authorize the dispensary organization to operate at a single
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location to serve purchasers and patients in this Commonwealth.

(b) Applications.--A medical marijuana organization seeking

the issuance of an additional dispensing organization permit

under this section shall submit an application on a form

provided by the department. The application shall include

information in at least the following categories as determined

by the department:

(1) The fees to be paid.

(2) A business plan that complies with the requirements

under this chapter.

(3) A security plan.

(4) An inventory control plan.

(5) A plan for community engagement.

(6) Written policies and procedures regarding

recordkeeping, inventory control, safety, security, diversion

and diversity.

(7) Facility plans, including the proposed physical

address, floor plans, security overlay and specifications of

the building exterior and interior layout.

(8) Documented ownership or control of the property.

(9) A copy of each relevant local zoning ordinance and

documentation, if necessary, of approval from the local

zoning office that the proposed dispensary location is in

compliance with each local zoning ordinance.

(10) Information regarding each principal officer.

(11) Evidence of the applicant's status as a social and

economic equity applicant, if applicable.

(c) Executed charter agreement.--As a condition of an
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additional permit issued under this section, a medical marijuana

dispensary organization shall submit to the department, together

with the application under subsection (b), an executed charter

agreement between the medical marijuana dispensary organization

and a social and economic equity applicant in which the

dispensing organization agrees to provide financial, mentorship,

training, operational and other support to the social and

economic equity applicant to operate a dispensary at a single

location. The charter agreement may provide for a method of

repayment of any loaned financial support by a dispensing

organization over a period of 10 years and under terms that

allow the social and economic equity applicant to profit from

the business. During the term of the charter agreement, a

dispensing organization may not take more than a 10% ownership

stake in a social and economic equity applicant's business. The

charter agreement shall be subject to department approval and

audit. The charter agreement shall provide a pathway for the

social and economic equity applicant to assume full ownership of

the business within 10 years. Except as provided under

subsection (r), a dispensing organization’s failure to adhere to

the terms of the charter agreement shall be grounds to revoke

the dispensing organization's permit. However, if a social and

economic equity applicant does not, or cannot, maintain

operations during the term of the charter agreement for any

reason, including as a result of any disciplinary action taken

by the department, and such is not the result of the dispensing

organization’s failure to abide by the terms of the charter

agreement, the dispensing organization’s permit shall not be
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revoked, suspended, or otherwise disciplined, and the dispensing

organization shall be able to continue to operate.

(d) Partnership.--A dispensing organization shall identify a

social and economic equity applicant to partner with through a

bona fide selection process, and the dispensing organization

shall be prohibited from accepting money or other valuable

consideration from a social and economic equity applicant in

exchange for selecting the social and economic equity applicant

as a charter partner.

(e) Additional requirements.--In addition to the required

charter agreement specified under subsection (c), together with

the application under subsection (b), a dispensing organization

applicant under this section shall submit the application of a

social and economic equity applicant to operate a dispensary at

a single location under a social and economic equity dispensing

organization charter permit.

(f) Disqualification.--A social and economic equity

applicant shall submit all required information under subsection

(b) to the department. Failure of the social and economic equity

applicant to submit all required information under subsection

(b) may result in the application being disqualified. The

issuance of a permit under this section may not be delayed by an

applicant's failure to identify each of the applicant's

dispensary locations.

(g) Deficiency notice.--If the department receives an

application that fails to provide the required elements

contained in subsections (b) and (c), other than information

relevant to all of each of the applicant's dispensary locations,
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the department shall issue a deficiency notice to the applicant.

The applicant shall have 30 calendar days from the date of the

deficiency notice to submit the complete information.

(h) Review.--Upon receipt of all of the required information

and documents under this section, the department shall review

the applications of both the dispensing organization applicant

and the dispensing social and economic equity applicant. The

department may request revisions and retain final approval over

retail site features. The department shall approve the

dispensing organization and social and economic equity

dispensing organization charter permits at the same time once

reviewed. Final approval for each individual dispensary location

shall be contingent on the completion of construction of each

dispensary location, department inspections and providing the

department with any information specified under subsection (e)

related to each dispensary location that was not provided

during the initial application process.

(i) Authorization.--The department may only authorize the

sale of cannabis at one of the cannabis dispensing

organization's dispensary location after the completion of a

successful inspection at the location and at a dispensary

location of the social and economic equity dispensing

organization charter permit holder. The department shall inspect

a location within 14 days of a written request by a dispensing

organization or social and economic equity dispensing

organization charter permit holder.

(3J) Successful inspection.--If the permit holders pass the

inspections under this section, the department shall authorize
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the sale of cannabis at the dispensaries within 10 business

days. The department may, at its discretion, allow either the

dispensing organization or the social and economic equity

dispensing organization charter permit holder to begin

operations at a location before the other permittee as long as

substantial, good faith efforts can be shown to open the

permittee that has not yet passed inspection.

(k) Notification of opening date.--Once the department has

authorized the sale of cannabis at a dispensing organization

location or social and economic equity dispensing organization

charter location, the dispensing organization or social and

economic equity dispensing organization charter permittee shall

notify the department of the proposed opening date.

(1) Treatment.--A social and economic equity dispensing

organization charter permit holder shall be treated in all

respects as the equivalent of a dispensing organization except

that the holder of a social and economic equity dispensing

organization charter permit shall operate its dispensary

locations with the assistance of the dispensing organization as

outlined in the charter agreement.

(m) Initial sale.—A cannabis dispensing organization and

social and economic equity dispensing organization charter

permit holder may begin selling cannabis, cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products, cannabis paraphernalia and

related items to adult use purchasers no earlier than January 1,

2025.

(n) Permit change.--After the term of the charter agreement

between the dispensing organization and social and economic
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equity dispensing organization charter permit holder has expired

and the social and economic equity dispensing organization

charter permit holder has assumed full ownership and control of

the dispensary facility, the department shall exchange the

social and economic equity dispensing organization charter

permit for a dispensing organization permit. Following the

permit exchange, if a social and economic equity permittee seeks

to sell, transfer, or surrender its dispensing organization

permit then the dispensing organization it entered into the

charter agreement with shall have right of first refusal to

purchase the permit. If the dispensing organization does not

exercise this right then the social and economic equity

permittee may sell or transfer the permit to another party, or

surrender the permit to the department, in accordance with this

chapter and the rules promulgated there under.

(0) Additional permits.--Notwithstanding the requirements of

this section, any medical marijuana organization holding a

permit granted under Subchapter E or K of Chapter 93 as of the

effective date of this subsection that, despite good faith

efforts, has been unable to partner with a qualified social and

economic equity applicant as specified under this section, may

still apply for an additional dispensing organization permit to

operate a single location to serve purchasers throughout this

Commonwealth upon the payment of a fee of $100,000 to the

department to be deposited into the Cannabis Business

Development Fund.

(p) If a social and economic equity permittee does not, or

cannot, maintain operations during the term of the charter
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agreement for any reason, including as a result of any

disciplinary action taken by the department, and such is not the

result of the dispensing organization’s failure to abide by the

terms of the charter agreement, the dispensing organization the

social and economic equity permittee entered into the charter

agreement with shall have the sole right to purchase the permit

in lieu of its surrender to the department. Upon any sale or

transfer, the department shall exchange the social and economic

equity dispensing organization charter permit for a dispensing

organization permit. If the social and economic equity

dispensing organization charter permit holder surrenders its

permit, the department may only reissue the permit to another

qualified social and economic equity applicant through a

competitive application process, as determined by the

department.

(q) A social and economic equity dispensing organization

charter permit may not be sold or transferred during the term of

the charter agreement other than in accordance with subsection

(p) and rules promulgated pursuant to this chapter.

(r) Deposit.--All fees collected under this section shall be

deposited into the Cannabis Regulation Fund, unless otherwise

specified.

§ 9155. New dispensing organization permits.

(a) Additional permits.--The department shall be the

exclusive entity authorized to issue new dispensing organization

permits. Separate and apart from any dispensing organization

permits issued to a medical marijuana organization under section

9153 (relating to authorization of current medical marijuana




57

organizations to commence dispensing cannabis for adult use) or

9154 (relating to issuance of additional permits to current

medical marijuana organizations and qualified social and

economic equity applicants), the department shall issue up to

four additional dispensing organization permits after January 1,

2025.

(b) Dispensing.--All dispensing organization permits issued

to existing medical marijuana organizations under section 9153

or 9154, shall entitle permittees to dispense cannabis to both

adult use purchasers and patients, in accordance with activities

permitted by permit holders under this chapter and Chapter 93

(relating to medical marijuana) .

(c) Award of permits.--To ensure the geographic dispersion

of dispensing organization permittees throughout this

Commonwealth, the department shall determine how many permits

should be awarded across this Commonwealth through a merit-based

application process. An applicant may file no more than one

application in a single application period for an additional

permit under this section.

(d) Permit application.--An applicant seeking issuance of a

dispensing organization permit shall submit an application on a

form provided by the department. The application shall include

information in at least the following categories as determined

by the department:

(1) The fees to be paid.

(2) A business plan that complies with the requirements

under this chapter.

(3) A security plan.
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(4) An inventory control plan.

(5) A plan for community engagement.

(6) Written policies and procedures regarding

recordkeeping, inventory control, safety, security and

diversity.

(7) Facility plans, including the proposed physical

address, floor plans, security overlay and specifications of

the building exterior and interior layout.

(8) Documented ownership or control of the property.

(9) A copy of each relevant local zoning ordinance and

documentation, if necessary, of approval from the local

zoning office that the proposed dispensary location is in

compliance with each local zoning ordinance.

(10) Information regarding each principal officer.

(11) Evidence of the applicant's status as a social and

economic equity applicant, if applicable.

(e) Operations.--An applicant who receives a dispensing

organization permit under this section shall have one calendar

year from the date of the award to become operational at each of

the applicant's locations. If the applicant does not become

operational at each of the applicant's locations within one

calendar year of the permit award, the department may revoke the

permit absent good reason for the delay shown by the applicant.

Before a new dispensing organization receives authorization to

commence building a dispensary, the department shall inspect the

physical space selected by the permittee. The department shall

verify the site is suitable for public access, there is a

sufficient distance between the site and a school, day care
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center or playground, the site's layout promotes the safe

dispensing of cannabis and the site's location is sufficient in

size, power allocation, lighting, parking, handicapped-

accessible parking spaces, accessible entry and exits as

required by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (Public

Law 101-336, 104 Stat. 327), product handling and storage.

(f) Background checks.--The department shall conduct a

background check of each agent of an applicant under this

section. The Pennsylvania State Police shall charge the

applicant a fee for conducting the criminal history record

check, which shall not exceed the actual cost of the record

check. FEach individual applying as a cannabis business

establishment agent shall submit a full set of fingerprints to

the Pennsylvania State Police for the purpose of obtaining a

Federal and State criminal history record check. The

Pennsylvania State Police shall check the fingerprints against

the fingerprint records filed in the Pennsylvania State Police

and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history records

databases as authorized under Federal and State law. The

Pennsylvania State Police shall furnish, following positive

identification, all conviction information in this Commonwealth

to the department.

§ 9156. Selection criteria for new dispensing organization
permits.
(a) Incomplete application.--Failure by an applicant to

submit to the department all required information under section

9155 (relating to new dispensing organization permits) may

result in the application being disqualified. If the department
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receives an application that fails to provide the required

elements in a section, that section shall not be scored.

(b) Application scoring.--The department shall, by rule,

develop a merit-based scoring system in which to award new

dispensing organization permits as specified under section 9155.

(c) Scoring criteria.--An applicant for a new dispensing

organization permit shall be awarded points on applications as

determined by the department.

(d) Anonymity.--Applications for new dispensing organization

permits shall be scored by the department anonymously in

accordance with regulations promulgated by the department, which

shall include tie-breaker language that governs the process

through which some applicants are to be awarded permits when

multiple applicants receive the same application score and the

awarding of permits to all tied applicants would result in

awarding more permits than is permissible under this chapter.

Any tie-breaking process shall be designed to ensure clarity,

transparency and fairness.

(e) Review.--FEach application for a use dispensing

organization permit shall be reviewed and scored by three

individuals who score each application independently. An

applicant's score in each category under subsection (c) shall be

an average of the three scores awarded by each individual score.

An applicant may not receive full points simply for providing

responsive information on a section of the application.

§ 9157. Dispensing organization operational requirements and

prohibitions.

(a) Requirements and prohibitions.--A dispensing
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organization shall operate in accordance with the

representations made in its application and permit materials. A

dispensing organization shall be in compliance with this chapter

and the regulations promulgated under this chapter . The

following shall apply:

(1) All cannabis, cannabis concentrates, cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products and cannabis seeds

shall be obtained from an adult use cultivation center, micro

cultivation center or another dispensary registered in this

Commonwealth.
(2) A dispensing organization:
(i) Shall inspect and count product received from a

micro cultivation center or other dispensing organization

before dispensing it.

(ii) May only accept cannabis deliveries into a

restricted access area. Deliveries may not be accepted

through the public or limited access areas unless

otherwise approved by the department.

(1ii) Shall maintain compliance with Commonwealth

and local building, fire and zoning requirements or

regulations.

(iv) Shall submit a list to the department of the

names of all service professionals that will work at the

dispensary. The list shall include a description of the

type of business or service provided. The department

shall be promptly notified of any changes to the service

professional list. No service professional shall work in

the dispensary until the name is provided to the
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department on the service professional list.

(v) Shall operate between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. local

time or as determined by the local municipality.

(vi) Shall keep all lighting outside and inside the

dispensary in good working order and wattage sufficient

for security cameras.

(vii) Shall keep all air treatment systems that will

be installed to reduce odors in good working order.

(viii) Shall ensure that any building or equipment

used by a dispensing organization for the storage or sale

of cannabis is maintained in a clean and sanitary

condition.

(ix) Shall be free from infestation by insects,

rodents or pests.

(x) Shall develop a recall policy and procedure as

approved by the department.

(3) A dispensing organization may not:

(i) Cultivate, process or manufacture cannabis.

(ii) Accept a cannabis-infused edible and nonedible

product from an adult use cultivation center, micro

cultivation center or dispensing organization unless it

is prepackaged and labeled in accordance with this

chapter and regulations that may be promulgated in

accordance with this chapter.

(111) Obtain cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products from outside this Commonwealth.

(1v) Sell cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products to a purchaser unless the individual
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has been verified to be 21 years of age or older or if

the dispensing organization maintains a medical marijuana

permit under Chapter 93 and the individual is registered

under Chapter 93.

(v) Enter into agreements to allow persons who are

not cannabis business establishment agents to deliver

cannabis or to transport cannabis to purchasers, other

than through home delivery services approved by the

department.

(vi) Operate a dispensary if the:

(A) Dispensary organization's video surveillance

equipment is inoperative.

(B) Point-of-sale equipment is inoperative.

(C) Cannabis seed-to-seed tracking system is

inoperative, unless the dispensing organization has

the ability to record, including electronically,

transactions to upload to the cannabis seed-to-seed

tracking system once the system is operational.

(vii) Have fewer than two individuals working at any

time while the dispensary is open.

(viii) Sell clones or any other live plant material,

unless otherwise authorized by this chapter.

(ix) Shall not be located within 1,500 feet of the

property line of another dispensing organization.

(x) Violate any other requirements or prohibitions

specified by the department.

(b) Regulations.--The department shall promulgate

regulations, within 180 days following the release of temporary
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regulations, specifying operational requirements for dispensing

organizations, consistent with the provisions of this chapter,

including the operational requirements and prohibitions

contained in this section.

§ 9158. Dispensing cannabis.

(a) Dispensing criteria.--Prior to a cannabis business

establishment agent dispensing cannabis to a purchaser, the

agent shall:

(1) Verify the age of the purchaser and validity of the

government-issued identification card of the purchaser by use

of an electronic reader or electronic scanning device, unless

otherwise permitted by the department, to scan a purchaser's

government-issued identification, if applicable.

(2) Enter the following information into the seed-to-

sale tracking system:

(i) The cannabis business establishment agent

identification card and dispensing cannabis business

establishment agent's identification number.

(ii) The amount and type, including strain, if

applicable, of cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible product dispensed.

(111) The date and time the cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible product was dispensed.

(b) Refusal to sell.--A Dispensing organization shall refuse

to sell cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and nonedible

products under any of the following circumstances:

(1) To an individual unless the individual produces

valid identification showing that the individual is 21 years
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of age or older. However, a dispensary under Chapter 93

(relating to medical marijuana) may sell cannabis or

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products to an

individual who is younger than 21 years of age if the sale

complies with the provisions of Chapter 93.

(2) To an individual who is disqualified by the

department.

(c) Validity.--For the purposes of this section, wvalid

identification shall:

(1) Be wvalid and unexpired.

(2) Contain a photograph and the date of birth of the

person.

§ 9159. Agent-in-charge.

(a) Designation.--A dispensing organization shall designate,

at a minimum, one agent-in-charge for each permitted dispensary.

The designated agent-in-charge shall hold a cannabis business

establishment agent identification card. Maintaining an agent-

in-charge shall be a continuing requirement for the dispensary

organization permit, except as provided under subsection (e).

(b) Requirements.--The agent-in-charge shall be on-site

managers or full-time agents of the dispensing organization and

shall manage the dispensary. Managing the dispensary shall

include responsibility for opening and closing the dispensary,

delivery acceptance, oversight of sales and cannabis business

establishment agents, recordkeeping, inventory, cannabis

business establishment agent training and compliance with this

chapter, including the responsibility for maintaining all files

subject to audit or inspection by the department at the
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dispensary. Except for a determination that a dispensary

employee has diverted cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or

nonedible products or has intentionally dispensed cannabis or

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products in a manner not

consistent with this chapter, which shall be reported to the

department within 48 hours, the agent-in-charge shall, within 10

days, notify the department of a change of information required

to be reported to the department.

(c) Determination.--In determining whether an agent-in-

charge manages the dispensary, the department may consider the

responsibilities identified in this section, the number of

cannabis business establishment agents under the supervision of

the agent-in-charge and the employment relationship between the

agent-in-charge and the dispensing organization, including the

existence of a contract for employment and any other relevant

fact or circumstance.

(d) Change in status.--The agent-in-charge shall be

responsible for notifying the department of a change in the

employment status of any cannabis business establishment agent

within 10 business days after the change, including notice to

the department if the termination of an agent was for diversion

of product or theft of currency.

(e) Vacancy.--In the event of the separation of an agent-in-

charge due to death, incapacity, termination or any other reason

and if the dispensary does not have an active agent-in-charge,

the dispensing organization shall immediately contact the

department and request temporary authority allowing the

continuing operation. The request shall include the name of an
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interim agent-in-charge until a succeeding agent-in-charge is

identified or shall include the name of the replacement. The

department may not delay in granting the temporary authority,

and the dispensing organization shall be permitted to operate

while obtaining department approval for an interim agent-in-

charge. A temporary authority may not be valid for more than 90

days. The succeeding agent-in-charge shall register with the

department in compliance with this section. Once the permanent

succeeding agent-in-charge is registered with the department,

the temporary authority shall be void.

(f) Registration.--The dispensing organization agent-in-

charge registration shall expire one year from the date of

issuance. The agent-in-charge's registration shall be renewed

annually.

(g) Termination.--Upon termination of an agent-in-charge's

employment, the dispensing organization shall immediately

reclaim the cannabis business establishment agent identification

card. The dispensing organization shall promptly return the

agent identification card to the department.

(h) Application denial.--The department may deny a new

application or a renewal or discipline or revoke an agent-in-

charge identification card for any of the following reasons:

(1) submission of misleading, incorrect, false or

fraudulent information in the application or renewal

application;

(2) wviolation of the requirements of this chapter or

regulations;

(3) fraudulent use of an agent identification card;
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(4) selling, distributing, transferring in any manner or

giving cannabis to any unauthorized person;

(5) theft of cannabis, currency or any other items from

a dispensary;

(6) tampering with, falsifying, altering, modifying or

duplicating an agent-in-charge identification card;

(7) tampering with, falsifying, altering or modifying

the surveillance video footage, point-of-sale system,

cannabis seed-to-sale tracking system or the Commonwealth's

verification system;

(8) failure to notify the department immediately upon

discovery that the agent-in-charge identification card has

been lost, stolen or destroyed;

(9) failure to notify the department within 10 business

days after a change in the information provided in the

application for an agent-in-charge identification card;

(10) intentionally dispensing to purchasers in amounts

above the limits provided in this chapter;

(11) delinquency in filing any required tax returns or

paying any amounts owed to the Commonwealth; or

(12) failure to notify the department within 48 hours

after a determination that a dispensary employee has diverted

cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products or

has intentionally dispensed cannabis or cannabis-infused

edible or nonedible products in a manner not consistent with

this chapter.

§ 9159.1. 1Inventory control system.

(a) Inventory.--A dispensing organization agent-in-charge
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shall have primary oversight of the dispensing organization's

cannabis inventory point-of-sale system. The inventory point-of-

sale system shall be real-time, web-based, open API, two-way

communication and accessible by the department at any time. The

point-of-sale system shall track, at a minimum, the date of

sale, amount, price and currency.

(b) Account.--A dispensing organization shall establish an

account with the department's verification system that

documents:

(1) Each sales transaction at the time of sale and each

day's beginning inventory, acquisitions, sales, disposal and

ending inventory.

(2) Acquisition of cannabis and cannabis-infused edible

and nonedible products from a permitted adult use cultivation

center or micro cultivation center, including:

(i) A description of the products, including the

quantity, strain, variety and batch number of each

product received.

(ii) The name and registry identification number of

the permitted adult use cultivation center or micro

cultivation center providing the cannabis and cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products.

(iii) The name and registry identification number of

the permitted cannabis business establishment agent

delivering the cannabis.

(iv) The name and registry identification number of

the cannabis business establishment agent receiving the

cannabis.
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(v) The date of acquisition.

(3) The disposal of cannabis, including:

(i) A description of the products, including the

quantity, strain, variety, batch number and reason for

the cannabis disposal.

(ii) The method of disposal.

(iii) The date and time of disposal.

(c) Verification.--Upon cannabis delivery from an adult use

cultivation center or a micro cultivation center, a dispensing

organization shall confirm that the product's name, strain name,

weight and identification number on the manifest matches the

information on the cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product

label and package. The product name listed and the weight listed

in the Commonwealth's verification system shall match the

product packaging.

(d) Monthly inventory.--The agent-in-charge shall conduct a

daily inventory reconciliation documenting and balancing

cannabis inventory by confirming that the department's

verification system matches the dispensing organization's point-

of-sale system and the amount of physical product at the

dispensary. The following shall apply:

(1) A dispensing organization shall provide a reason for

an inventory adjustment. Inventory adjustment documentation

shall be kept at the dispensary or maintained electronically

for two years from the date performed.

(2) If the dispensing organization identifies an anomaly

in the amount of cannabis after the daily inventory

reconciliation due to a mistake, the dispensing organization
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shall determine how the anomaly occurred and take and

document corrective action. The dispensing organization shall

work diligently to determine the reason for the anomaly and

document steps on how to address the anomaly.

(3) If the dispensing organization identifies a

discrepancy in the amount of cannabis after the daily

inventory reconciliation or through other means due to theft,

criminal activity or suspected criminal activity, the

dispensing organization shall determine how the diversion

occurred and take and document corrective action. Within 48

hours after the first discovery of the diversion due to

theft, criminal activity or suspected criminal activity, the

dispensing organization shall inform the department and the

Pennsylvania State Police in writing.

(4) The dispensing organization shall file an annual

compilation report with the department, including a financial

statement that shall include an income statement, balance

sheet, profit and loss statement, statement of cash flow,

wholesale cost and sales and any other documentation

requested by the department in writing. The financial

statement shall include any other information the department

deems necessary in order to effectively administer this

chapter and all regulations, orders and final decisions

promulgated under this chapter. Statements required by this

section shall be filed with the department within 60 days

after the end of the calendar year. The compilation report

shall include a letter authored by a licensed certified

public accountant that it has been reviewed and is accurate
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based on the information provided. The dispensing

organization, financial statement and accompanying documents

may not be audited unless specifically requested by the

department.

(e) Documentation.--A dispensing organization shall have all

of the following duties:

(1) Maintain the documentation required under this

section in a secure locked location at the dispensing

organization, an off-site approved office or electronically,

for two years from the date on the document.

(2) Provide any documentation required to be maintained

in this section to the department for review upon request.

(3) If maintaining a bank account, retain for a period

of two years, electronically or otherwise, a record of each

deposit or withdrawal from the bank account.

(f) Return policy.--If a dispensing organization chooses to

have a return policy for cannabis and cannabis-infused edible

and nonedible products, the dispensing organization shall seek

prior approval from the department, including written policies

as to how returned cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products will be stored and quarantined from other

inventory.

§ 9159.2. Storage regquirements.

(a) Authorized on-premises storage.--A dispensing

organization shall store inventory on its premises. All

inventory stored on the premises shall be secured in a

restricted access area and tracked consistently with the

inventory tracking regulations. A dispensing organization shall
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be of suitable size and construction to facilitate cleaning,

maintenance and proper operations and shall maintain adequate

lighting, ventilation, temperature, humidity control and

equipment.

(b) Tampered containers.--A cannabis container that has been

tampered with, damaged or opened shall be labeled with the date

opened, if known, and quarantined from other cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products in the vault until the cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products are disposed. Cannabis

that was tampered with, expired or damaged may not be stored at

the premises for more than 14 calendar days.

(c) Samples.--Cannabis samples shall be in a sealed

container and clearly labeled. Samples shall be maintained in

the restricted access area.

(d) Storage.--The dispensing organization storage areas

shall be maintained in accordance with the security requirements

in this chapter and any regulations promulgated by the

department. Cannabis shall be stored at appropriate temperatures

and under appropriate conditions to help ensure that the

packaging, strength, quality and purity are not adversely

affected.
§ 9159.3. Destruction and disposal of cannabis.
(a) Destruction.--Cannabis and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products shall be destroyed by rendering the cannabis

and cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products unusable

using methods approved by the department and promptly disposed

in a manner that complies with this chapter and regulations

promulgated by the department. Disposal of the cannabis waste
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rendered unusable may be delivered to a permitted solid waste

facility for final disposition. Acceptable permitted solid waste

facilities shall include all of the following:

(1) Compostable facilities.

(2) Noncompostable mixed-waste facilities.

(b) Waste inventory.--Waste and unusable cannabis, cannabis

concentrate or a cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product

shall be weighed, recorded and entered into the seed-to-sale

tracking system prior to rendering it unusable. Verification of

waste inventory shall be performed by an employee who is a

manager and conducted in an area with video surveillance.

Electronic documentation of destruction and disposal shall be

maintained for a period of at least two years.

§ 9159.4. Security measures.

(a) Measures.--A dispensing organization shall implement

security measures to protect the premises and purchasers

and deter and prevent entry into and theft of cannabis

or currency in accordance with the regulations

promulgated under this chapter as determined by the

department. Such measures shall include, but are not

limited to:

(1) A professionally-monitored security and

surveillance system that includes:

(1) Coverage of all facility entry and exit

points, rooms with exterior windows,

exterior walls, roof hatches or skylights,

storage rooms, and the perimeter of the

facility;



75

(id) Motion activated wvideo recording of all
cameras;

(iidi) Silent and audible security alarm systems;

(1v) Off-site monitoring of the interior and

exterior of the facility;

(v) Failure notification system;
(vi) Fire and smoke alarms; and
(vii) Ability to retain security and surveillance

recordings for a period of 2 years.

(b) Alternative provisions.--The department may approve

alternative security provisions that the department determines

are an adequate substitute for a security requirement specified

in the regulations promulgated under Chapter 93.

§ 9159.5. Recordkeeping.

(a) Record retention.--Dispensing organization records shall

be maintained electronically for two years and be available for

inspection by the department upon request. The required written

records shall include all of the following:

(1) Operating procedures.
(2) Inventory records, policies and procedures.
(3) Security records, not including video footage

retained pursuant to 9159.4.

(4) Audit records.

(5) Staff training plans and completion documentation.

(6) Staffing plan.

(7) Business records, including:

(1) Assets and liabilities.

(ii) Monetary transactions.
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(iii) Written or electronic accounts, including bank

statements, journals, ledgers and supporting documents,

agreements, checks, invoices, receipts and vouchers.

(iv) Any other financial accounts reasonably related

to the dispensary operations.

(b) Storage and transfer of records.--If a dispensing

organization closes due to insolvency, revocation, bankruptcy or

for any other reason, all records required to be maintained

shall be preserved and provided to the department.

§ 9159.6. Issuance of adult use cultivation center permits.

(a) Modifications or changes.--On or after January 1, 2025,

the department may, by rule, do any of the following:

(1) Modify or change the number of new adult use

cultivation center permits available, which shall at no time

exceed three permits, other than those permits issued to

current medical marijuana grower/processors under this

chapter.

(2) Modify or change the permitting application process

to reduce or eliminate the barriers to permits, particularly

for social and economic equity applicants, and shall make

modifications to remedy evidence of discrimination.

(b) Additional permits.--If the department determines that

additional adult use cultivation center permits should be issued

other than those permits issued to current medical marijuana

grower/processors, the department shall ensure that the first

permit of the up to three additional permits authorized is

awarded to qualified social and economic equity applicants.

§ 9159.7. Authorization of current medical marijuana
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grower/processor permit holders to selling cannabis

for adult use.

(a) Dual use cultivation center permits.--A medical

marijuana organization holding a grower/processor permit granted

under Subchapter E or K of Chapter 93 (relating to medical

marijuana) shall, within 180 days from the effective date of

this subsection, be authorized by the department to commence

selling cannabis at a grower/processor facility operating under

Chapter 93. A medical marijuana organization holding a

grower/processor permit granted under Subchapter E or K of

Chapter 93 shall pay a nonrefundable permit fee of $250,000 to

the department, which shall be deposited into the Cannabis

Regulation Fund.

(b) Delay or inhibit operations.--The failure of the

department to promulgate regulations shall not delay or inhibit

the ability of a medical marijuana organization under subsection

(a) from commencing the sale of cannabis for adult use at a

grower/processor facility operating under Chapter 93. If the

department fails to authorize a medical marijuana organization

under subsection (a) from commencing the sale of cannabis for

adult use at a grower/processor facility operating under Chapter

93 within 180 days from the effective date of this subsection,

the medical marijuana organization shall automatically be

authorized to commence cannabis sales for adult use.

(c) Adult use cultivation centers.--An adult use cultivation

center operating under this chapter and Chapter 93 shall be

subject to the provisions of both chapters.

§ 9159.8. New adult use cultivation center permits.
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If the department makes available an additional adult use

cultivation center permit in excess of the permits authorized

under section 9159.7 (relating issuance of adult use cultivation

center permits to current medical marijuana grower/processor

permit holders), the department shall determine the

requirements of an application for the permit and selection

criteria and promulgate regulations as necessary to implement

this section.

§ 9159.9. Adult use cultivation center requirements and

prohibitions.

(a) Requirements.--The operating documents of an adult use

cultivation center shall include procedures for the oversight of

the adult use cultivation center, tracking cannabis, including a

physical inventory recorded weekly, accurate recordkeeping and a

staffing plan.

(b) Security plan.--An adult use cultivation center shall

implement a security plan that includes facility access

controls, perimeter intrusion detection systems, personnel

identification systems, a 24-hour surveillance system to monitor

the interior and exterior of the adult use cultivation center

facility and accessibility to authorized law enforcement and the

department in real time.

(c) Facility.--All cultivation of cannabis by an adult use

cultivation center shall take place in an enclosed, locked

facility at the physical address provided to the department

during the licensing process. The adult use cultivation center

location shall only be accessed by the agents working for the

adult use cultivation center, the department staff performing
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inspections and State law enforcement or other emergency

personnel, contractors working on jobs unrelated to cannabis or

other individuals as provided by rule.

(d) Sale prohibited.--An adult use cultivation center may

not sell or distribute any cannabis or cannabis-infused edible

and nonedible products to any person other than a dispensing

organization or as otherwise authorized by rule of the

department.

(e) Pricing.--An adult use cultivation center may not either

directly or indirectly discriminate in price between different

dispensing organizations that are purchasing a like grade,

strain, brand and quality of cannabis or cannabis-infused edible

or nonedible product. Nothing in this subsection shall prevent

adult use cultivation centers from pricing cannabis differently

based on differences in cannabinoid content, in the cost of

manufacturing or processing, the quantities sold, including

volume discounts, or the way the products are delivered.

(f) Data collection system.--All cannabis harvested by an

adult use cultivation center and intended for distribution to a

dispensing organization shall be entered into a data collection

system, packaged and labeled and placed into a cannabis

container for transport.

(g) Random inspection.--An adult use cultivation center

shall be subject to random inspections by the department.

(h) Loss notification.--A cannabis business establishment

agent shall notify local law enforcement, the Pennsylvania State

Police and the department within 24 hours of the discovery of

any loss or theft. Notification shall be made by phone, in
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person or by written or electronic communication.

(1) Pesticides.--An adult use cultivation center shall

comply with all Federal and State rules and regulations

regarding the use of pesticides on cannabis plants. The

department shall promulgate reasonable regulations allowing

pesticide use in accordance with thresholds permitted in other

adult use markets but may not regulate pesticide use in a manner

than is more stringent than currently regulated under Chapter 93

(relating to medical marijuana) .

(j) Process.--An adult use cultivation center may process

cannabis, cannabis concentrates and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products, including tinctures, topicals and edibles.

(k) Compliance.--An adult use cultivation center shall

comply with any other requirements or prohibitions specified by

regulations of the department.

§ 9159.10. Issuance of micro cultivation center permits.

(a) Limitation.--An applicant may file no more than one

application in any single application period.

(b) Issuance.--The department may issue micro cultivation

center permits, as determined by the department. Prior to

issuing a permit, the department may adopt reqgulations to modify

or raise the number of micro cultivation center permits or

modify or change the permitting application process to reduce or

eliminate barriers for an applicant. In determining whether to

exercise the authority granted under this subsection, the

department shall consider the following factors:

(1) the percentage of cannabis sales occurring in this

Commonwealth not in the regulated market;
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(2) whether there is an adequate supply of cannabis and

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products to serve

patients;

(3) whether there is an adequate supply of cannabis and

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products to serve

purchasers;

(4) whether there is an oversupply of cannabis in this

Commonwealth leading to trafficking of cannabis to states

where the sale of cannabis is not permitted by law;

(5) population increases or shifts;

(6) the density of micro cultivation centers in any area

of this Commonwealth;

(7) perceived security risks of increasing the number or

location of micro cultivation centers;

(8) the past safety record of micro cultivation centers;

(9) the department's capacity to appropriately regulate

additional permittees;

(10) social and economic equity applicant participation;
and

(11) any other criteria the department deems relevant.
(c) Space.--A micro cultivation center may not contain more

than 3,000 square feet of canopy space for plants in the

flowering stage for cultivation of cannabis as provided in this

chapter. A micro cultivation center may share a premises with a

dispensing organization if each permittee stores currency and

cannabis and cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products in a

separate secured vault to which any other permittee does not

have access or all permittees sharing a vault share more than
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50% of the same ownership.

§ 9159.11. Micro cultivation center permit applications.

(a) Required information.--When applying for a permit, the

applicant for a micro cultivation center permit shall

electronically include information in at least the following

categories as determined by the department:

(1) The fees to be paid.

(2) A business plan that complies with the requirements

under this chapter.

(3) A security plan.

(4) An inventory control plan.

(5) A plan for community engagement.

(6) Written policies and procedures regarding

recordkeeping, inventory control, safety, security, diversion

and diversity.

(7) Facility plans, including the proposed physical

address, floor plans, security overlay and specifications of

the building exterior and interior layout.

(8) Documented ownership or control of the property.

(9) A copy of each relevant local zoning ordinance and

documentation, if necessary, of approval from the local

zoning office that the proposed dispensary location is in

compliance with each local zoning ordinance.

(10) Information regarding each principal officer.

(11) Evidence of the applicant's status as a social and

economic equity applicant, if applicable.

(b) Submission.--An applicant under subsection (a) shall

submit all required information to the department. Failure by an
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applicant to submit all required information may result in the

application being disqualified.

§ 9159.12. Selection criteria for micro cultivation center
permits.
(a) Incomplete application.--If the department receives an

application under section 9159.11 (relating to micro cultivation

center permit applications) that fails to provide the required

elements contained in a section, that section may not be scored.

(b) Application scoring.--The department shall, by rule,

develop a merit-based scoring system in which to award micro

cultivation center permits.

(c) Scoring criteria.--An applicant for a micro cultivation

center permit shall be awarded points on an application as

determined by the department.

(d) Anonymity.--Applications for micro cultivation center

permits shall be scored by the department anonymously in

accordance with regulations promulgated by the department, which

shall include tie-breaker language that governs the process

through which some applicants are to be awarded permits when

multiple applicants receive the same application score and the

awarding of permits to all tied applicants would result in

awarding more permits than is permissible under this chapter. A

tie-breaking process shall be designed to ensure clarity,

transparency and fairness.

(e) Review.--FEach application for a micro cultivation center

permit shall be reviewed and scored by three individuals who

score each application independently. An applicant's score in

each category under subsection (c) shall be an average of the
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three scores awarded by each individual score. An applicant may

not receive full points simply for providing responsive

information on a section of the application.

(f) Award of points.--Except in the case when an applicant

for a micro cultivation center permit provides necessary

documentation of a status as a social and economic equity

applicant or an existing farming operation, the scoring system

developed by the department shall be designed to ensure that the

applicant does not receive full points merely for providing

responsive information on a section of the application.

§ 9159.13. (Reserved) .

§ 9159.14. Micro cultivation center requirements and
prohibitions.
(a) Operating documents.--The operating documents of a micro

cultivation center shall include procedures for the oversight of

the micro cultivation center, tracking cannabis, including a

physical inventory recorded weekly, accurate recordkeeping and a

staffing plan.

(b) Security plan.--A micro cultivation center shall

implement a security plan that includes facility access

controls, perimeter intrusion detection systems, personnel

identification systems and a 24-hour surveillance system to

monitor the interior and exterior of the micro cultivation

center that 1s accessible to authorized law enforcement and the

department in real time.

(c) Facility requirements.--All cultivation of cannabis by a

micro cultivation center shall take place in an enclosed, locked

facility at the physical address provided to the department
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during the permitting process. The micro cultivation center

location shall only be accessed by the cannabis business

establishment agents working for the micro cultivation center,

the department staff performing inspections, Commonwealth and

local law enforcement or other emergency personnel, contractors

working on jobs unrelated to cannabis, individuals in a

mentoring or educational program approved by the State or other

individuals as provided by rule. If a micro cultivation center

shares a premises with a dispensing organization, agents from

those other permittees may access the micro cultivation center

portion of the premises if the location point is a common area

for access to bathrooms, lunchrooms, locker rooms or other areas

of the building where work or cultivation of cannabis is not

performed. At no time may a dispensing organization agent

perform work at a micro cultivation center without being an

employee of the micro cultivation center.

(d) Sale and distribution limitation.--A micro cultivation

center may not sell or distribute cannabis to any person other

than a cannabis business establishment or as otherwise

authorized by rule of the department.

(e) Location limitation.--A micro cultivation center may not

be located in an area zoned for residential use.

(f) Price discrimination.--A micro cultivation center may

not either directly or indirectly discriminate in price between

different cannabis business establishments that are purchasing a

like grade, strain, brand and quality of cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible product. Nothing in this subsection

shall prevent a micro cultivation center from pricing cannabis
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differently based on cannabinoid content, differences in the

cost of manufacturing, processing, quantities sold, such as

volume discounts, or the method of product delivery.

(g) Data collection system.--All cannabis harvested by a

micro cultivation center and intended for distribution to a

dispensing organization shall be entered into a data collection

system, packaged and labeled in compliance with this chapter and

any regulations promulgated by the department and, if the

distribution is to a dispensing organization that does not share

a premises with the dispensing organization receiving the

cannabis, placed into a cannabis container for transport.

(h) Random inspection.--A micro cultivation center shall be

subject to random inspections by the department.

(1) Notification of loss or theft.--A cannabis business

establishment agent shall notify local law enforcement, the

Pennsylvania State Police and the department within 24 hours of

the discovery of any loss or theft. A notification under this

subsection shall be made by phone, in person or by written or

electronic communication.

(j) Pesticides.--A micro cultivation center shall comply

with all Federal and State rules and requlations regarding the

use of pesticides in addition to any regulations promulgated by

the department.

(k) Transportation.--A micro cultivation center or cannabis

business establishment agent shall be permitted to transport

cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products to

any other cannabis business establishment. A micro cultivation

center may alternatively enter into a contract with a dispensing
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organization or a laboratory related to the transport of

cannabis.

(1) Compliance.--A micro cultivation center shall comply

with any other requirements or prohibitions specified by

regulations of the department.

§ 9159.15. Cannabis business establishment agent identification

cards.

(a) Required form.--The department shall promulgate

regulations detailing the form required for an initial

application or renewal application for a cannabis business

establishment agent identification card submitted under this

chapter. The form shall include all of the following:

(1) A nonrefundable fee to accompany the initial

application or renewal application.

(2) A fingerprinting and background check requirement.

(3) Means to submit the initial application or renewal

application via electronic means.

(b) Verification.--The department shall verify the

information contained in an initial application or renewal

application for a cannabis business establishment agent

identification card submitted under this chapter and approve or

deny the application within 14 days of receiving the completed

application and all supporting documentation required by

regulations of the department.

(c) Duties of establishment.--The cannabis business
establishment:
(1) shall print and issue a cannabis business

establishment agent identification card to a qualifying agent
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within 14 business days of approving the initial application

or renewal application; and

(2) may allow a cannabis business establishment agent to

work at a cannabis business establishment after the agent's

application has been approved but prior to issuance of the

cannabis business establishment agent identification card.

(d) TIdentification.--An agent shall keep the cannabis

business establishment agent identification card under this

section visible at all times when on the property of the

cannabis business establishment where the agent is employed,

unless the agent is working after being approved as an agent by

the department but prior to the receipt of the cannabis business

establishment agent's identification card.

(e) Identification card requirements.--The cannabis business

establishment agent identification card shall contain the

following:

(1) The name of the cardholder.

(2) The date of issuance and expiration date of the

cannabis business establishment agent identification card.

(3) A random 10-digit alphanumeric identification number

containing at least four numbers and at least four letters

that is unique to the holder.

(4) A photograph of the cardholder.

(f) Limitation.--The department may not issue a cannabis

business establishment agent identification card if the

applicant is delinquent in filing any required tax returns or

paying any amounts owed to the Commonwealth.

§ 9159.16. Background check for cannabis business establishment
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applicants.

(a) Background check.--The department shall require a

criminal history record check, through the Pennsylvania State

Police, of the prospective principal officers, board members and

agents of a cannabis business establishment applying for permits

or identification cards under this chapter. The Pennsylvania

State Police shall charge a fee set by rule for conducting the

criminal history record check and may not exceed the actual cost

of the record check. In order to carry out the provisions of

this section, each cannabis business establishment's prospective

principal officer, board member or agents shall submit a full

set of fingerprints to the Pennsylvania State Police for the

purpose of obtaining a Federal and State criminal record check.

Fingerprints shall be checked against the fingerprint records

now and hereafter, to the extent allowed by law, filed in the

Pennsylvania State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation

criminal history records databases. The Pennsylvania State

Police shall furnish, following positive identification, all

conviction information to the department. Background checks for

all prospective principal officers, board members and agents

shall be completed concurrent with submitting an application to

the department. An agent may begin working at a cannabis

business establishment while waiting for the result of any

background check.

(b) Construction.--Nothing in this section or chapter shall

be construed to prevent or otherwise inhibit the ability of an

otherwise qualified individual from serving as a principal

officer, board member or agent of a cannabis business
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establishment on the sole basis of a nonviolent criminal

conviction related to cannabis.

§ 9159.17. Renewal of cannabis business establishment permits

and cannabis business establishment

agent

identification cards.

(a) Renewal.--A permit or agent identification card issued

under this chapter shall be renewed every four

years. A cannabis

business establishment and agent shall receive

written or

electronic notice no later than 90 days before

the expiration of

the permit or card. The department shall grant

a renewal within

30 days of submission of a renewal application

if:

(1) the cannabis business establishment submits the

required nonrefundable renewal fee;

(2) the permit or agent identification

card has not been

suspended or revoked for violating this chapter or

regulations adopted under this chapter;

(3) the cannabis business establishment has continued to

operate in accordance with all plans submitted as part of its

application and approved by the department or any amendments

to a submitted plan that have been approved by the

department; and

(4) the cannabis business establishment has submitted an

agent, employee, contracting and subcontracting diversity

report as required by the department.

(b) In the event the department has not completed its review

of a permittee’s renewal application, and the renewal

application was submitted as required in this subchapter, the

permittee’s permit shall remain active and in good standing
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until such time as the department completes their review and

issues a renewed permit or denial.

(c) Failure to renew license.--If a cannabis business

establishment fails to renew the establishment's permit prior to

license expiration, the establishment shall cease operations

until the permit is renewed, unless otherwise permitted by the

department.

(d) Failure to renew identification card.--If a cannabis

business establishment or cannabis business establishment agent

fails to renew a cannabis business establishment permit or the

agent identification card prior to expiration, the cannabis

business establishment or cannabis business establishment agent

shall cease to operate as a cannabis business establishment or

work as an agent of a cannabis business establishment, as

applicable, until the cannabis business establishment permit or

agent identification card is renewed, unless otherwise permitted

by the department.

(e) Disciplinary action and fines.--A cannabis business

establishment that continues to operate, or any cannabis

business establishment agent who continues to work as an agent,

after the applicable permit or cannabis business establishment

agent identification card has expired without renewal, absent

department permission, shall be subject to disciplinary action

by the department.

(f) Collection of fees and fines.--All fees or fines

collected from the renewal of a cannabis business establishment

permit or agent identification card shall be deposited into the

Cannabis Regulation Fund.
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SUBCHAPTER G

ENFORCEMENT AND IMMUNITIES

Sec.

9161. Permit discipline.

9162. TImmunities and presumptions relating to handling of

cannabis by cannabis business establishments and

agents.

9163. Commonwealth standards and requirements.

9164. Violation of tax acts and refusal, revocation or

suspension of permit or agent identification card.

§ 9161. Permit discipline.

(a) Department actions.--Notwithstanding any other civil or

criminal penalties related to the unlawful possession of

cannabis, the department may take disciplinary or

nondisciplinary action as the department deems proper with

regard to a cannabis business establishment or cannabis business

establishment agent, including fines not to exceed $5,000 for

each violation of this chapter or regulations promulgated by the

department.

(b) Determination.--The department shall consider permittee

cooperation in any investigation in its determination of

penalties imposed under this section. The procedures for

disciplining a cannabis business establishment or cannabis

business establishment agent and for administrative hearings

shall be determined by regulation of the department and shall

provide for the review of final decisions under 2 Pa.C.S.

(relating to administrative law and procedure).

§ 9162. Immunities and presumptions relating to handling of
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cannabis by cannabis business establishments and

agents.

(a) Immunities and presumptions.--A cannabis business

establishment or an agent shall not be subject to the following

based solely on conduct that is lawful under this chapter or any

regulations promulgated under this chapter:

(1) Prosecution.

(2) Search or inspection, except by the department or

under the authority of the department or a State or local law

enforcement agency under this chapter.

(3) Seizure.
(4) Denial of any right or privilege.
(5) Penalty in any manner, or denial of any right or

privilege, including civil penalty or disciplinary action by

a business permitting or licensing board or entity for

working for a cannabis business establishment under this

chapter and regulations adopted under this chapter.

(b) Prohibition.--Any cannabis, cannabis-infused edible or

nonedible product, cannabis paraphernalia, legal property or

interest in legal property that is possessed, owned or used in

connection with the use of cannabis as permitted under this

chapter, or acts incidental to that use, may not be seized or

forfeited. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prevent

the seizure or forfeiture of cannabis exceeding the amounts

permitted under this chapter or prevent seizure or forfeiture if

the basis for the action is unrelated to the cannabis that is

possessed, manufactured, transferred or used under this chapter.

(c) Laws of this Commonwealth.--Nothing in this chapter
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shall be construed to preclude State or local law enforcement

from searching an adult use cultivation center, micro

cultivation center or dispensing organization if there is

probable cause to believe that the laws of this Commonwealth

have been violated and the search is conducted in conformance

with law.

(d) Attorney General investigation.--Nothing in this chapter

shall be construed to preclude the Attorney General or other

authorized government agency from investigating or bringing a

civil action against a cannabis business establishment or an

agent of a cannabis business establishment for a violation of

Commonwealth law, including civil rights violations and

violations of the act of December 17, 1968 (P.L.1224, No.387),

known as the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law.

§ 9163. Commonwealth standards and requirements.

Any standards, requirements and regulations regarding the

health and safety, environmental protection, testing, security,

food safety and worker protections established by the

Commonwealth shall be the minimum standards for all permittees

under this chapter, where applicable. Knowing violations of any

Commonwealth or local law, ordinance or regulation conferring

worker protections or legal rights on the employees of a

permittee may be grounds for disciplinary action in addition to

applicable penalties under this chapter.

§ 9164. Violation of tax acts and refusal, revocation or

suspension of permit or agent identification card.

(a) General rule.--In addition to other grounds specified in

this chapter, the department, upon notification by the
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Department of Revenue, shall refuse the issuance or renewal of a

permit or agent identification card or suspend or revoke the

permit or agent identification card of any person for any of the

following:
(1) Failure to file a tax return.
(2) The filing of a fraudulent tax return.

(3) Failure to pay all or part of any tax or penalty

determined to be due.

(4) Failure to keep books and records in accordance with

this chapter or the regulations promulgated by the

department.

(5) Failure to secure and display a certificate or

related permitted document, if required.

(6) The willful violation of any rule or regulation of

the Department of Revenue relating to the administration and

enforcement of tax liability.

(b) Resolution.--The Department of Revenue, after a

violation under subsection (a) has been corrected or resolved,

shall, upon request of the subject of the violation, notify the

department that the violation has been corrected or resolved.

Upon receiving notice from the Department of Revenue that a

violation under subsection (a) has been corrected or otherwise

resolved, the department may issue or renew the permit or agent

identification card or vacate an order of suspension or

revocation.

SUBCHAPTER H

LABORATORY TESTING

Sec.
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9171. Laboratory testing requirements and prohibitions.

§ 9171. Laboratory testing requirements and prohibitions.

(a) Legality.--Notwithstanding any other provision of law,

the following actions, when performed by a cannabis testing

facility with a current, valid registration or an individual 21

years of age or older who is acting in official capacity as an

owner, employee or agent of a cannabis testing facility, may not

be determined to be unlawful and may not be an offense or be a

basis for seizure or forfeiture of assets under the laws of this

Commonwealth:

(1) possessing, repackaging, transporting or storing

cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products;

(2) receiving or transporting cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products from a cannabis business

establishment; and

(3) returning or transporting cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products to a cannabis business

establishment.

(b) Prohibition.--A laboratory at a cannabis testing

facility may not handle, test or analyze cannabis unless

approved by the department in accordance with this section. A

laboratory at a cannabis testing facility may not be approved to

handle, test or analyze cannabis unless the laboratory:

(1) 1is accredited by a private laboratory accrediting
organization;
(2) does not have a direct or indirect financial,

management or other interest in an adult use cultivation

center, micro cultivation center, dispensing organization or
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medical marijuana grower/processor in this Commonwealth or is

affiliated with a certifying physician under Chapter 93

(relating to medical marijuana);

(3) has employed at least one individual to oversee and

be responsible for the laboratory testing who has earned,

from a college or university accredited by a national or

regional certifying authority, at least:

(i) a master's level degree in chemical or

biological sciences and a minimum of two years'

postdegree laboratory experience; or

(ii) a bachelor's degree in chemical or biological

sciences and a minimum of four years' postdegree

laboratory experience; and

(4) provides the department with a copy of the most

recent annual inspection report granting accreditation and

every annual report thereafter.

(c) Random sample.--

(1) TImmediately prior to selling any cannabis or

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible product or packaging

cannabis for sale to a dispensing organization, each batch

shall be made available by the adult use cultivation center

or micro cultivation center for an employee of an approved

laboratory at a cannabis testing facility to select a random

sample, which shall be tested by the approved laboratory for:

(i) microbiological contaminants;
(ii) mycotoxins;
(iii) pesticide active ingredients;

(iv) heavy metals;
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(v) residual solvent;

(vi) an active ingredient analysis; and

(vii) THC potency.

(2) The department shall only require cannabis or

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products to be tested

one time in its final form before the cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products can be sold to a

dispensing organization for sale to purchasers.

(d) Department sample.--The department may select a random

sample that shall, for the purposes of conducting an active

ingredient analysis, be tested by a laboratory chosen by the

department for verification of label information.

(e) Disposal of sample.--A laboratory at a cannabis testing

facility shall immediately return or dispose of any cannabis

upon the completion of any testing, use or research. Any

cannabis that is disposed of shall be done in accordance with

the department's regulations related to cannabis waste.

(f) Sample failure.--If a sample of cannabis does not pass

testing under subsection (c) based on the standards established

by the department, the following shall apply:

(1) The sample may be retested, with or without

remediation, up to three additional times after a failed

test.

(2) After a fourth failed test, or at the choosing of

the cannabis business establishment, the batch may be used to

make a CO2-based or solvent-based extract. After processing,

the CO2-based or solvent-based extract shall still pass all

required tests.
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(3) Seeds, immature cannabis plants, cannabis plants,

cannabis flowers or cannabis-infused edible or nonedible

products may be remediated at any time prior to cannabis or

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products being provided

to dispensing organizations for sale to purchasers under this

chapter, including after any failed test performed by an

independent laboratory under subsection (c) based on the

standards established by the department, as long as the

cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products

being provided to dispensing organizations ultimately passes

independent laboratory testing under subsection (c) based on

the standards established by the department.

(g) Department testing standards.--The department shall

establish standards for contaminant under subsection (c) and

shall develop labeling requirements for contents and potency.

The department shall ensure standards under this subsection are

comparable to those set by other established adult use cannabis

markets and shall publicly disclose the basis for any standards

set.

(h) Copy of test results.--A laboratory at a cannabis

testing facility shall file with the department an electronic

copy of each laboratory test result for any batch that does not

pass testing under subsection (c) at the same time that it

transmits those results to the adult use cultivation center or

micro cultivation center. The testing laboratory shall maintain

the laboratory test results for at least five years and make

test results available at the department's request for the same

period.



100

(1) Results.—--An adult use cultivation center or micro

cultivation center shall provide to a dispensing organization

the laboratory test results for each batch of cannabis-infused

edible or nonedible product purchased by the dispensing

organization, if sampled. Each dispensing organization shall

have those laboratory results available upon request to

purchasers.

(j) Additional regulations permitted.--The department shall

promulgate regulations relating to testing in furtherance of and

consistent with this chapter.

SUBCHAPTER I

ADVERTISING, MARKETING, PACKAGING AND LABELING

Sec.

9181. Advertising and promotions.

9182. Cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product packaging

and labeling.

§ 9181. Advertising and promotions.

(a) A cannabis business establishment shall be permitted to

advertise and market cannabis and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products, including through discounts and promotional

programs. A cannabis business establishment may only be

restricted in advertising and marketing to the extent that any

advertising or marketing contains any statement or image that:

(1) dis false or misleading;

(2) promotes over-consumption of cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products;

(3) depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming

cannabis;
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(4) makes any unsupported health claims about cannabis,

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible products or cannabis

concentrates; or

(5) dincludes any image designed or likely to appeal to a

minor.

(b) For purposes of this subchapter, a qualified health claim is

defined as a claim supported by scientific evidence, but does

not meet the more rigorous significant scientific agreement

standard required for an authorized health claim. To ensure that

these claims are not misleading, they must be accompanied by a

disclaimer or other qualifying language to accurately

communicate to consumers the level of scientific evidence

supporting the claim.

§ 9182. Cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product packaging

and labeling.

(a) Registration.--Each cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible product produced for sale shall be registered with the

department in a form and manner provided by the department.

However, no product produced in accordance with this chapter

shall require department approval prior to being produced for

sale. Each product registration shall include a label containing

all information required by the department.

(b) Packaging.--Cannabis or cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products intended for distribution to a dispensing

organization for sale to purchasers shall be packaged in a

sealed or child-resistant container or package and labeled in a

manner consistent with current standards, including the Consumer

Product Safety Commission standards referenced under 15 U.S.C.
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Ch. 39A (relating to special packaging of household substances

for protection of children).

(c) Cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product

packaging.--Each cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product

shall be wrapped or packaged at the original point of

preparation.

(d) Cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product labeling.

-FEach cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product shall be

labeled prior to sale. Each label shall be securely affixed to

the package and shall state in legible font the following:

(1) the common or usual name of the item and the

registered name of the cannabis-infused edible and nonedible

product that was registered with the department under

subsection (a);

(2) a unique serial number that matches the product with

an adult use cultivation center or micro cultivation center

batch and lot number to facilitate any warnings or recalls

the department or adult use cultivation center or micro

cultivation center deems appropriate;

(3) the date of final testing and packaging;

(4) the identification of the independent cannabis

testing facility;

(5) the date of harvest for cannabis flower or the date

of manufacture for other forms of cannabis;

(6) a "use by" date;

(7) the quantity, in ounces or grams, of cannabis

contained in the product;

(8) a content list, including:
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(i) The minimum and maximum percentage content by

weight for:

(A) delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC);

(B) tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA);

(C) cannabidiol (CBD);

(D) cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); and

(E) all other ingredients of the item, including

any colors, artificial flavors and preservatives

listed in descending order by predominance of weight

shown with common or usual names.

(11) (Reserved); and

(9) the acceptable tolerances for the minimum percentage

shall not be below 85% or above 115% of the labeled amount.

(e) Prohibition.--Cannabis product packaging may not contain

information that:

(1) dis false or misleading;
(2) promotes excessive consumption;
(3) depicts a person under 21 years of age consuming

cannabis; or

(4) dincludes any image designed or likely to appeal to a

minor.

(f) Additional requirements.--The following shall apply to a

cannabis-infused edible and nonedible product produced by

concentrating or extracting ingredients from the cannabis plant:

(1) If solvents were used to create the concentrate or

extract, a statement that discloses the type of extraction

method, including any solvents or gases used to create the

concentrate or extract.
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(2) Disclosure of any chemicals or compounds used to

produce or added to the concentrate or extract.

(3) Cannabis concentrates sold with greater than 70% THC

shall indicate the product is a high-THC product on the

product label.

(g) Product warning.--All cannabis, cannabis-infused edible

and nonedible products and cannabis concentrates shall contain a

warning on its label stating: "Cannabis consumption may impair

the ability to drive or operate heavy machinery, is for adult

use only and should not be used by pregnant or breastfeeding

women. Keep out of reach of children.”

(h) Servings.--Fach cannabis-infused edible or nonedible

product intended for consumption shall include on the packaging

the total milligram content of THC and CBD. Each package may not

include more than a total of 1,000 milligrams of THC per package

with respect to cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products.

A package may contain multiple servings. A cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible product that consists of more than a single

serving shall be marked, stamped or otherwise imprinted, by

individual single serving, with a symbol or easily recognizable

mark approved by the department indicating the package contains

cannabis and shall be either:

(1) scored or delineated to indicate one serving, if the

cannabis-infused edible or nonedible product is in solid

form. As used in this paragraph, the term "delineated"

includes directly marking the product to indicate one serving

or providing a means by which a purchaser can accurately

identify one serving; or
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(2) 1if the cannabis-infused edible or nonedible product

is not in solid form, packaged in a manner so that a single

serving is readily identifiable or easily measurable.

(1) Delineation.--A cannabis-infused edible or nonedible

product consisting of multiple servings shall be homogenized so

that each serving contains the same concentration of THC.

(j) Alternation or destruction of packaging.--No individual

other than the purchaser shall alter or destroy any labeling

affixed to the primary packaging of cannabis or cannabis-infused

edible or nonedible products after the cannabis or cannabis-

infused edible or nonedible products have been dispensed.

SUBCHAPTER J

PREPARATION, DESTRUCTION AND REGULATION OF CANNABIS AND

CANNABIS-INFUSED EDIBLE AND NONEDIBLE PRODUCTS.

Sec.

9191. Preparation of cannabis-infused edible and nonedible
products.

9192. Destruction of cannabis.

9193. Local ordinances.

9194. Confidentiality.

9195. Financial institutions.
9196. Contracts enforceable.
9197. Medical marijuana.
9198. Administrative rulemaking.
§ 9191. Preparation of cannabis-infused edible and nonedible
products.
(a) Regulation.--The department may regulate the production

of cannabis-infused edible and nonedible products, including
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edibles, by an adult use cultivation center or a micro

cultivation center and establish regulations related to

refrigeration, hot-holding and handling of cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products. All cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products shall meet the packaging and labeling

requirements specified under this chapter and any regulation

promulgated by the department.

(b) Approval.--Cannabis-infused edible and nonedible

products for sale or distribution at a dispensing organization

shall be prepared by an approved agent of an adult use

cultivation center or micro cultivation center. A dispensing

organization may not manufacture, process or produce a cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible product.

(c) (Reserved) .

(d) Enforcement.--The department shall promulgate

regulations for the manufacture and processing of cannabis-

infused edible and nonedible products and may at all times enter

every building, room, basement, enclosure or premises occupied

or used, or suspected of being occupied or used, for the

production, preparation, manufacture for sale, storage,

processing, distribution or transportation of cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products. The department may inspect the

premises together with all utensils, fixtures, furniture and

machinery used for the preparation of products under this

section.
§ 9192. Destruction of cannabis.
(a) Destruction.--All cannabis byproduct, scrap and

harvested cannabis not intended for distribution to a dispensing
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organization shall be destroyed and disposed of under

regulations adopted by the department under this chapter.

Documentation of the destruction and disposal shall be retained

at the adult use cultivation center, micro cultivation center or

cannabis testing facility as applicable for a period of not less

than two years.

(b) Notification prior to destruction.-- The adult use

cultivation center, micro cultivation center or dispensing

organization shall keep a record of the date and quantity of

destruction.

(c) Unsold cannabis.—A dispensing organization shall destroy

all cannabis, including cannabis-infused edible and nonedible

products, not sold to purchasers by the stated date of

expiration. Documentation of destruction and disposal shall be

retained at the dispensing organization for a period of not less

than two years.

§ 9193. Local ordinances.

Unless otherwise provided by this chapter or law:

(1) A unit of local government, including a home rule

unit or any non-home-rule county within the unincorporated

territory of the county, may enact reasonable zoning

ordinances or resolutions, not in conflict with this chapter

or rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, regulating a

cannabis business establishment. No unit of local government,

including a home rule unit or any non-home-rule county within

the unincorporated territory of the county, may unreasonably

prohibit the use of cannabis authorized by this chapter.

(2) A unit of local government, including a home rule
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unit or any non-home-rule county within the unincorporated

territory of the county, may enact ordinances or rules not in

conflict with this chapter or with rules adopted pursuant to

this chapter governing the time, place, manner and number of

cannabis business establishment operations, including minimum

distance limitations between cannabis business establishments

and locations it deems sensitive. A unit of local government,

including a home rule unit, may establish civil penalties for

violation of an ordinance or rules governing the time, place

and manner of operation of a cannabis business establishment

in the jurisdiction of the unit of local government. No unit

of local government, including a home rule unit or non-home-

rule county within an unincorporated territory of the county,

may unreasonably restrict the time, place, manner and number

of cannabis business establishment operations authorized by

this chapter.

(3) A unit of local government, including a home rule

unit, or any non-home-rule county within the unincorporated

territory of the county may authorize or permit the on-

premises consumption of cannabis at or in a dispensing

organization within its jurisdiction in a manner consistent

with this chapter. A dispensing organization authorized or

permitted by a unit of local government to allow on-site

consumption shall not be deemed a public place under the laws

of this Commonwealth.

(4) A unit of local government, including a home rule

unit or any non-home-rule county within the unincorporated

territory of the county, may not regulate the activities
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described in paragraph (1), (2) or (3) in a manner more

restrictive than the regulation of those activities by the

State under this chapter.

(5) A unit of local government, including a home rule

unit or any non-home-rule county within the unincorporated

territory of the county, may not enact ordinances to prohibit

a cannabis business establishment from locating within the

unit of local government.

§ 9194. Confidentiality.

(a) Disclosure.--Information provided by cannabis business

establishment permittees or applicants to the department, the

Commonwealth Financing Authority, the Pennsylvania State Police

or other agency shall be limited to information necessary for

the purposes of administering this chapter. The information

shall be subject to the provisions and limitations contained in

the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3), known as the Right-

to-Know Law.

(b) Privacy.--The information received and records kept by

the department, the Department of Community and Economic

Development and the Pennsylvania State Police for purposes of

administering this chapter shall be subject to all applicable

Federal privacy laws and shall be confidential and exempt from

disclosure under 5 U.S.C. § 552 (relating to public information;

agency rules, opinions, orders, records, and proceedings),

except as provided under this chapter. The information received

and records kept by the department, the Department of Community

and Economic Development and the Pennsylvania State Police for

purposes of administering this chapter shall not be subject to
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disclosure to an individual or a public or private entity,

except to the department, the Commonwealth Financing Authority,

the Pennsylvania State Police and the Attorney General as

necessary to perform official duties under this chapter.

(c) Name and address.--The name and address of an individual

or entity holding each cannabis business establishment permit

shall be subject to disclosure under the Right-to-Know Law.

(d) Department information.--All information collected by

the department in the course of an examination, inspection or

investigation of a permittee or applicant, including any

complaint against a permittee or applicant filed with the

department and information collected to investigate any

complaint, shall be maintained for the confidential use of the

department and shall not be disclosed, except as otherwise

provided under this chapter. A formal complaint against a

permittee by the department or any disciplinary order issued by

the department against a permittee or applicant shall be public

record, except as otherwise provided by law. Complaints from

consumers or members of the general public received regarding a

specific, named permittee or complaints regarding conduct by

entities without permits shall be subject to disclosure under

the Right-to-Know Law.

(e) Background check information.--The department, the

Department of Community and Economic Development and the

Pennsylvania State Police may not share or disclose any

Pennsylvania or national criminal history record information, or

the nonexistence or lack of any information, to any individual

or entity not expressly authorized by this chapter.
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§ 9195. Financial institutions.

(a) Exemption.--A financial institution that provides

financial services customarily provided by financial

institutions to a cannabis business establishment authorized

under this chapter or to a person that is affiliated with a

cannabis business establishment shall be exempt from any

criminal law of the Commonwealth as i1t relates to cannabis-

related conduct authorized under State law.

(b) Confidentiality.--Information received by a financial

institution from a cannabis business establishment shall be

confidential. Except as otherwise required or permitted by

Federal or State law or regulation, a financial institution may

not make the information available to any person other than:

(1) the purchaser to whom the information applies;

(2) a trustee, conservator, guardian, personal

representative or agent of the purchaser to whom the

information applies;

(3) a Federal or State regulator when requested in

connection with an examination of the financial institution

or 1f otherwise necessary for complying with Federal or State

law;

(4) a Federal or State reqgulator when requested in

connection with an examination of the financial institution

or 1f otherwise necessary for complying with Federal or State

law; and

(5) a third party performing service for the financial

institution, provided the third party is performing services

under a written agreement that expressly or by operation of
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law prohibits the third party's sharing and use of

confidential information for any purpose other than as

provided in its agreement to provide services to the

financial institution.

§ 9196. Contracts enforceable.

Contracts related to the operation of a lawful cannabis

business establishment under this chapter shall be enforceable.

No contract entered into by a lawful cannabis business

establishment or its agents on behalf of a cannabis business

establishment, or by those who allow property to be used by a

cannabis business establishment, shall be unenforceable on the

basis that cultivating, obtaining, manufacturing, processing,

distributing, dispensing, transporting, selling, possessing or

using cannabis is prohibited by Federal law.

§ 9197. Medical marijuana.

(a) Construction.--Nothing in this chapter shall be

construed to limit any privileges or rights of a medical

marijuana patient, including minor patients, or primary

caregivers under Chapter 93 (relating to medical marijuana) .

(b) Sale permitted.--Dispensary locations permitted under

this chapter shall be authorized to sell cannabis to adult use

purchasers, unless the dispensing organization additionally

maintains medical marijuana permits pursuant to Chapter 93.

§ 9198. Administrative rulemaking.

No later than 180 days after the promulgation of temporary

regulations, the department and each Commonwealth agency or

department with regulatory responsibility under this chapter

shall promulgate regulations in accordance with the duties
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required under this chapter. The failure by a Commonwealth

agency or department with regulatory responsibility under this

chapter to promulgate reqgulations within 180 days of the

promulgation of temporary regulations shall not delay or

otherwise impede a cannabis business establishment from

commencing operations in accordance with this chapter.

SUBCHAPTER K

TAXES

Sec.

9199.1. Imposition of sales tax and excise tax.

9199.2. Cannabis Regulation Fund and distribution of revenue.

9199.3. Tax deduction for eligible cannabis business

establishments.

§ 9199.1. Imposition of sales tax and excise tax.

(a) Rate of sales tax.--A sales tax is imposed at the rate

of 8% of the sales price for cannabis and cannabis-infused

edible and nonedible products sold or otherwise transferred to

any person other than a cannabis business establishment.

(b) Deposit of sales tax.--Sales tax revenue under

subsection (a) shall be deposited into the Cannabis Regulation

Fund.

(c) Rate of excise tax.--In addition to all other applicable

taxes, an excise tax i1s imposed on each dispensing organization

at the rate of 5% of the sales price for cannabis sold for adult

use or otherwise transferred to any person other than a cannabis

business establishment. Except as otherwise provided by

regulation, a product subject to the tax imposed under this

subsection may not be bundled in a single transaction with a
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product or service that is not subject to the tax imposed under

this subsection.

(d) Deposit of excise tax.--Excise tax revenue under

subsection (c) shall be deposited into the Cannabis Regulation

Fund.

§ 9199.2. Cannabis Regulation Fund and distribution of revenue.

(a) Establishment.--The Cannabis Regulation Fund is

established in the State Treasury. Money in the fund is

appropriated as specified under subsection (c). Any amount

unspent at the end of a fiscal year shall be transferred to the

General Fund if there has been an appropriation from the General

Fund for the operations of the department.

(b) Deposit.--Fees and taxes payable to the Cannabis

Regulation Fund under this chapter shall be deposited in the

Cannabis Regulation Fund, other than tax revenue disbursed to

municipalities and counties specified under subsection (e). The

money deposited into the Cannabis Requlation Fund may only be

used for the purposes specified under this section. Any interest

accrued shall be deposited into the Cannabis Regulation Fund.

(c) Allocation.--Money in the Cannabis Regulation Fund shall

be allocated in accordance with the following:

(1) Two percent of gross receipts of the revenue in the

Cannabis Regulation Fund is appropriated to the department as

necessary for actual costs and expenses, including staffing

expenses and expenses related to administering and enforcing

this chapter.

(2) The amount of $3,000,000 is transferred annually to

the Cannabis Business Development Fund from gross receipts of
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the revenue in the Cannabis Regulation Fund.

(3) The remainder of the money in the Cannabis

Regulation Fund is transferred to the General Fund to provide

economic relief to this Commonwealth.

(d) Administration.--The Department of Revenue shall

administer the taxes imposed under this chapter and may

promulgate regulations that prescribe a method and manner for

payment of the tax to ensure proper tax collection under this

chapter.

(e) Disbursement.--Revenue from all taxes collected under

this chapter shall be disbursed as follows:

(1) 10% of the revenue shall be disbursed to

municipalities in which a cannabis business establishment is

located, disbursed in proportion to the number of cannabis

business establishments within the municipality;

(1) If a cannabis business establishment is located

within a city of the first class or city of the second class

all applicable tax revenue under this subsection shall be

disbursed directly to the Commonwealth Financing Authority

for deposit into the local share accounts for such cities.

(2) 50% of the revenue shall be deposited in the

Cannabis Regulation Fund;

(3) 15% of the revenue shall be used by the department

to establish the following:

(1) a program to assist patients with the cost of

providing medical marijuana to patients who demonstrate

financial hardship or need under this chapter, and the

department shall develop guidelines and procedures to
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ensure maximum availability to individuals with financial

need;

(ii) a program to assist patients and caregivers

with the cost associated with the waiver or reduction of

fees for identification cards under sections 9331 (c) (5)

(relating to identification cards) and 9332 (a) (2)

(relating to caregivers); and

(iii) a program to reimburse caregivers for the cost

of providing background checks for caregivers;

(4) To the Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs, for

drug abuse prevention and counseling and treatment services,

10% of the revenue in the fund; and

(5) To the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and

Delinquency, 10% of the revenue in the fund for distribution

to local police departments which demonstrate a need relating

to the enforcement of this chapter, and 5% of the revenue in

the fund to be used for indigent defense services.

§ 9199.3. Tax deduction for eligible cannabis business

establishments. —- A tax deduction shall be allowed from the

taxable income of a cannabis business establishment, as

defined in this Act, in the amount of the ordinary and

necessary expenses paid or incurred during the taxable year

by the cannabis business establishment which are ordinarily

deductible for federal income tax purposes under 26 U.S5.C. §

162 (relating to trade or business expenses). The deduction

shall only be permitted to the extent deductions for expenses

under 26 U.S.C. § 162 were not taken by the cannabis business
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establishment for federal income tax purposes for the taxable

year.

SUBCHAPTER L

CANNABIS CLEAN SLATE

Sec.

9199.11. Cannabis clean slate.

§ 9199.11. Cannabis clean slate.

(a) General rule.--An individual who has been arrested for,

charged with or convicted under section 13(a) (30) or (31) of the

act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled

Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, shall have the

individual's criminal history related to the criminal proceeding

expunged in accordance with subsection (b). This subsection

shall only apply to nonviolent offenses.

(b) Expungement process.--

(1) The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts

shall, within six months of the effective date of this

paragraph, transmit to the Pennsylvania State Police central

repository all records related to an arrest or conviction

under subsection (a) for expungement.

(2) If the Pennsylvania State Police determines a record

transmitted under paragraph (1) is not eligible for

expungement, it shall notify the Administrative Office of

Pennsylvania Courts of the determination within 30 days of

receiving the information. Upon expiration of the 30-day

period, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts

shall provide to the court of common pleas in which the
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arrest or adjudication occurred a list of all records

eligible for expungement. Within 30 days of receiving the

list, the court of common pleas shall order the expungement

of all criminal history records received under this section

and all administrative records of the Department of

Transportation relating to the criminal history records

received under this section.

(c) Resentencing process. -—

(1) An individual currently serving a sentence for a

conviction under the Pennsylvania Controlled Substance, Drug,

Device and Cosmetic Act related to the manufacture, delivery,

or possession of marijuana, including, but not limited to

section 13 (a) (30) or (31), that would have been lawful if

this Act had been in effect at the time of the offense, may

petition for a dismissal of sentence before the trial court

that entered the judgement of conviction in his or her case

to request resentencing.

(2) An individual with a prior conviction under the

Pennsylvania Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic

Act related to the manufacture, delivery, or possession of

marijuana including, but not limited to section 13(a) (30) or
(31), that would have been lawful if this Act had been in
effect at the time of the offense, who is currently serving a
sentence for a subsequent conviction of any kind and whose
prior conviction under the Pennsylvania Controlled Substance,
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act may have led to an increased
sentence for the current conviction may petition for a

dismissal of sentence before the trial court that entered the
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judgement of conviction in his or her case to request
resentencing.

(3) Following review of the petition by the court, if

the individual is found to be eligible for resentencing the

court shall notify the prosecution and any other relevant

parties to allow for the presentation of arguments or

evidence regarding the request.

(d) Release of inmates.--A court of common pleas that has

received an expungement order for a person currently

incarcerated for the crime for which the court received the

expungement order shall transmit to the appropriate county

correctional institution or State correctional institution, as

defined under 61 Pa.C.S. § 102 (relating to definitions), an

order for the immediate release or discharge of the individual

whose record has been ordered to be expunged.

(e) Motor vehicle operation privileges.--The Bureau of Motor

Vehicles shall reinstate an individual's suspended or revoked

motor vehicle operation privileges that were suspended or

revoked as a result of the individual's conviction that has been

expunged under this section.

(f) Reinstatement of license or registration.--A license or

registration that has been suspended or revoked under section 23

of The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act due

to an arrest or conviction that has been expunged under this

section shall be reinstated.

(g) Workplace. —-

(1) This section is not intended to prohibit an employer

from adopting reasonable policies restricting the use,
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consumption, possession, transfer, display, transportation,

sale, or growing of cannabis or cannabis products by employees

in the workplace for adult use.

(2) The following shall apply to drug screening tests:

(i) Drug Screening tests may be permissible for any

position of employment that is a safety-sensitive position.

(ii) A random drug screening test showing the mere presence

of a nonintoxicating level of cannabis may not be the basis of a

termination of employment or any other disciplinary action

against the employee.

(iii) Except as otherwise specifically provided by law:

(A) An employer may not refuse to hire a prospective

employee because the results of a drug screening

test indicate the presence of cannabis.

(B) If an employer requires an employee to submit to

a drug screening test within the first 30 days of

employment, the employee shall have the right to

submit to an additional drug screening test, at

the employee's own expense, to rebut the results

of the initial drug screening test. The employer

shall accept and give appropriate consideration

to the results of the additional drug screening

test.

(iv) The provisions of subparagraph (2) (iii) shall not

apply:

(A) To the extent that the provisions are

inconsistent or otherwise in conflict with the

provisions of an employment contract or collective
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bargaining agreement regarding the employee;

(B) To the extent that the provisions are

inconsistent or otherwise in conflict with

Federal law;

(C) To a position of employment that is funded by a

Federal grant.

(3) Definitions. —- As used in this paragraph, the following

words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this

subparagraph unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Drug screening test." A test of an individual's blood, urine,

hair, or saliva to detect the general presence of a controlled

substance or any other drug.

“Safety-Sensitive Position”. A position that requires any

activity that an employer reasonably believes presents a

potential risk of harm to the health or safety of an employee,

others, or the public while under the influence of medical

marijuana or cannabis for adult use, including, but not limited

to:

(1) duties performed at heights or in confined spaces,

including, but not limited to mining.

(2) the operation of a motor vehicle, aircraft, watercraft,

snowmobile, or other vehicles, equipment, machinery, or

power tools.

(3) repairing, maintaining, or monitoring the performance

or operation of any equipment, machinery, or manufacturing

process, the malfunction or disruption of which could
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result in injury or property damage.

(4) performing firefighting or law enforcement duties.

(5) the operation, maintenance, or oversight of critical

services and infrastructure, including, but not limited to,

electric, gas, and water utilities, power generation or

distribution.

(6) the extraction, compression, processing, manufacturing,

handling, packaging, storage, disposal, treatment, or

transport of potentially volatile, flammable, combustible

materials, elements, chemicals, or other highly regulated

components.

(7) dispensing pharmaceuticals.

(8) a position that requires the employee to carry a

firearm.

(9) direct patient care or direct childcare.

SUBCHAPTER M

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Sec.

9199.21. Conflicts.
9199.22. (Reserved).
9199.23. Implementation.

§ 9199.21. Conflicts.

The cultivation, processing, manufacture, acquisition,

transportation, sale, dispensing, distribution, possession and

consumption of cannabis permitted under this chapter shall not
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be deemed to be a violation of the act of April 14, 1972

(P.L,.233, No.64), known as The Controlled Substance, Drug,

Device and Cosmetic Act. If a provision of the Controlled

Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act relating to cannabis

conflicts with a provision of this chapter, this chapter shall

take precedence.

§ 9199.22. (Reserved) .

§ 9199.23. Implementation.

The issuance of licenses and other authorizations specified

under this chapter shall begin no later than 90 days after the

effective date of this section.

CHAPTER 93

MEDICAL MARIJUANA

Subchapter
A. Preliminary Provisions
B. Program
C. Practitioners

D. Patients

E. Medical Marijuana Organizations

F. Medical Marijuana Controls

G. Dispensaries

H. Administration

I. Medical Marijuana Advisory Board

J. Offenses Related to Medical Marijuana

K. Academic Clinical Research Centers and Clinical

Registrants

I.. Miscellaneous Provisions

SUBCHAPTER A
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PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS

Sec.

9301. Scope of chapter.
9302. Declaration of policy.
9303. Definitions.

§ 9301. Scope of chapter.

This chapter relates to the regulation and use of medical

marijuana in this Commonwealth.

§ 9302.

Declaration of policy.

The

General Assembly finds and declares as follows:

(1) Scientific evidence suggests that medical marijuana

is one potential therapy that may mitigate suffering in some

patients and also enhance quality of life.

(2) The Commonwealth is committed to patient safety.

Carefully regulating the program which allows access to

medical marijuana will enhance patient safety while research

into its effectiveness continues.

(3) It is the intent of the General Assembly to:

(i) Provide a program of access to medical marijuana

which balances the need of patients to have access to the

latest treatments with the need to promote patient

safety.

(ii) Provide a safe and effective method of delivery

of medical marijuana to patients.

(iii) Promote high quality research into the

effectiveness and utility of medical marijuana.

(4) It is the further intention of the General Assembly
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that any Commonwealth-based program to provide access to

medical marijuana serve as a temporary measure, pending

Federal approval of and access to medical marijuana through

traditional medical and pharmaceutical avenues.

§ 9303. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Advisory board." The advisory board established under

section 9391 (relating to advisory board).

"Cannabis". As follows:

(1) Any of the following:

(i) Marijuana, hashish or other substances that are

identified as including any parts of the plant Cannabis

sativa and including derivatives or subspecies, such as

indica, of all strains of cannabis, whether growing or

not, including the seeds, resin extracted from any part

of the plant and any compound, manufacture, salt,

derivative, mixture or preparation of the plant. The term

includes THC and all other naturally or synthetically

produced cannabinol derivatives, whether produced

directly or indirectly by extraction, including, delta-7

THC, delta-8 THC, delta-9 THC or any structural, optical

or geometric isomers of tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabis

flower, concentrate and cannabis-infused edible and

nonedible products.

(ii) A product intended for human consumption with a

THC concentration, however derived, greater than:
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(a) 0.3 percent for any intermediate or finished

plant product or material, or any product

intended for consumption by inhalation or

smoking; or

(b) 0.5 milligrams per serving or individual product

unit, and 2 milligrams per package for products

sold in multiple servings or units, for any

beverage, food, o0il, ointment, tincture, topical

formation, or any other product that is intended

for consumption by means other than inhalation

or smoking.

(2) The term does not include the mature stalks of the

plant, fiber produced from the stalks, o0il or cake made from

the seeds of the plant or any other compound, manufacture,

salt, derivative, mixture or preparation of the mature

stalks, the sterilized seed of the plant that is incapable of

germination or industrial hemp as defined in 3 Pa.C.S. § 702

(relating to definitions) below the THC concentration limits

prescribed in subsection (ii) of this Section.

"Cannabis-infused edible product." A product meant to be

chewed, dissolved, taken sublingually or swallowed. The term

includes ligquids, including beverages, food, o0il, tincture,

capsule, tablet, gummies or other ingestible forms containing

cannabis or cannabis concentrate that is not intended to be

smoked or otherwise inhaled.

"Cannabis-infused nonedible product." A product meant to be

used topically or otherwise not intended to be ingested. The

term includes gels, creams, patches or ointments containing
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cannabis or cannabis concentrate.

"Caregiver." The term includes the following entities

designated to deliver medical marijuana:

(1) An individual designated by a patient.

(2) If the patient is under 18 years of age, an
individual under section 9337 (2) (relating to minors).
(3) Individuals designated in writing, for purposes of

section 9332 (relating to caregivers), by an organization

that provides hospice, palliative or home health care

services and:

(i) are employed by an organization that is licensed

under the act of July 19, 1979 (P.L.130, No.48), known as

the Health Care Facilities Act;

(ii) have significant responsibility for managing

the health care and well-being of a patient; and

(iii) were designated by the organization to provide

care to a patient who has provided authorization for the

designation.

(4) 1Individuals designated in writing, for purposes of

section 9332, by a residential facility, including a long-

term care nursing facility, skilled nursing facility,

assisted living facility, personal care home, independent

long-term care facility or intermediate care facility for

individuals with intellectual disabilities that:

(i) are licensed by the department or the Department

of Human Services;

(ii) have significant responsibility for managing

the health care and well-being of the patient; and
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(iii) were designated by the residential facility to

provide care to a patient who has provided authorization

for the designation.

"Certified medical use." The acquisition, possession, use or

transportation of medical marijuana by a patient, or the

acquisition, possession, delivery, transportation or

administration of medical marijuana by a caregiver, for use as

part of the treatment of the patient's serious medical

condition, as authorized in a certification under this chapter,

including enabling the patient to tolerate treatment for the

serious medical condition.

"Change in control." The acquisition by a person or group of

persons acting in concert of a controlling interest in an

applicant or permittee either all at one time or over the span

of a l2-consecutive-month period.

"Continuing care." Treating a patient, in the course of

which the practitioner has completed a full assessment of the

patient's medical history and current medical condition,

including a consultation with the patient.

"Controlling interest." As follows:

(1) For a publicly traded entity, voting rights that

entitle a person to elect or appoint one or more of the

members of the board of directors or other governing board or

the ownership or beneficial holding of 5% or more of the

securities of the publicly traded entity.

(2) For a privately held entity, the ownership of any

security in the entity.

"Department." The Department of Agriculture of the
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Commonwealth.

"Dispensary." A person, including a natural person,

corporation, partnership, association, trust or other entity, or

any combination thereof, which holds a permit issued by the

department to dispense medical marijuana.

"Excipients." Solvents, chemicals or materials reported by a

medical marijuana organization and approved by the department

for use in the processing of medical marijuana.

"Family or household member." As defined in 23 Pa.C.S. §

6102 (relating to definitions).

"Financial backer." An investor, mortgagee, bondholder, note

holder or other source of equity, capital or other assets, other

than a financial institution.

"Financial institution." A bank, a national banking

association, a bank and trust company, a trust company, a

savings and loan association, a building and loan association, a

mutual savings bank, a credit union or a savings bank.

"Form of medical marijuana." The characteristics of the

medical marijuana recommended or limited for a particular

patient, including the method of consumption and any particular

dosage, strain, variety and quantity or percentage of medical

marijuana or particular active ingredient.

"Fund." The Medical Marijuana Program Fund established in

section 9372 (relating to Medical Marijuana Program Fund) .

"Grower/processor." A person, including a natural person,

corporation, partnership, association, trust or other entity, or

any combination thereof, which holds a permit from the

department under this chapter to grow and process medical
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marijuana.

"Harvest batch." A specifically identified quantity of

medical marijuana plant that is uniform in strain, cultivated

utilizing the same growing practices, harvested at the same time

and at the same location and cured under uniform conditions.

"Harvest lot." A specifically identified quantity of medical

marijuana plant taken from a harvest batch.

"ITdentification card." A document issued under section 9331

(relating to identification cards) that authorizes access to

medical marijuana under this chapter.

"Individual dose." A single measure of medical marijuana.

"Medical marijuana." Marijuana for certified medical use as

set forth in this chapter.

"Medical marijuana organization." A dispensary or a

grower/processor.

"Medical marijuana product." The final form and dosage of

medical marijuana that is grown, processed, produced, sealed,

labeled and tested by a grower/processor and sold to a

dispensary.
"Patient." An individual who:
(1) has a serious medical condition;
(2) has met the requirements for certification under

this chapter; and

(3) is a resident of this Commonwealth.

"Permit." An authorization issued by the department to a

medical marijuana organization to conduct activities under this

chapter.

"Practitioner." A physician who is registered with the
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department under section 9321 (relating to practitioner

registration).

"Prescription drug monitoring program." The Achieving Better

Care by Monitoring All Prescriptions Program (ABC-MAP).

"Principal." An officer, director or person who directly

owns a beneficial interest in or ownership of the securities of

an applicant or permittee, a person who has a controlling

interest in an applicant or permittee or who has the ability to

elect the majority of the board of directors of an applicant or

permittee or otherwise control an applicant or permittee, other

than a financial institution.

"Process lot." An amount of a medical marijuana product of

the same type and processed using the same medical marijuana

extract, standard operating procedures and the same or

combination of different harvest lots.

"Registry." The registry established by the department for
practitioners.
"Research initiative." A nonpatient investigation not

subject to Institutional Review Board or Research Approval

Committee approval requirements of a patient-based research

program, project or study, conducted by an academic clinical

research center and its contracted clinical registrant.

"Secretary." The Secretary of Health of the Commonwealth.

"Security." As defined in section 102 (t) of the act of

December 5, 1972 (P.L.1280, No.284), known as the Pennsylvania

Securities Act of 1972.

"Serious medical condition." Any of the following:

(1) Cancer, including remission therapy.
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(2) Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus or
acquired immune deficiency syndrome.

(3) Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

(4) Parkinson's disease.

(5) Multiple sclerosis.

(6) Damage to the nervous tissue of the central nervous
system (brain-spinal cord) with objective neurological
indication of intractable spasticity and other associated
neuropathies.

(7) Epilepsy.

(8) Inflammatory bowel disease.

(9) Neuropathies.

(10) Huntington's disease.

(11) Crohn's disease.

(12) Posttraumatic stress disorder.

(13) Intractable seizures.

(14) Glaucoma.

(15) Sickle cell anemia.

(16) Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic

origin or

severe chronic or intractable pain.

(17) Autism.

(18) Anxiety disorders.

(19) Chronic Hepatitis C.

(20) Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorder.

(21) Neurodegenerative diseases.

(22) Opioid use disorder for which conventional
therapeutic interventions are contraindicated or infective,

or for wh

ich adjunctive therapy is indicated in combination
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with primary therapeutic interventions.

(23) Terminal illness.

(24) Tourette syndrome.

(25) Other conditions certified by the practitioner.

"Synchronous interaction.”" A two-way or multiple-way

exchange of information between a patient and a health care

provider that occurs in real time via audio or video

conferencing.

"Terminally i11." A medical prognosis of life expectancy of

approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal

course.

SUBCHAPTER B

PROGRAM

Sec.

9311. Program established.

9312. Confidentiality and public disclosure.

9313. Lawful use of medical marijuana.

9314. (Reserved) .

§ 9311. Program established.

(a) Establishment.--A medical marijuana program for patients

suffering from serious medical conditions is established. The

program shall be implemented and administered by the department.

The department shall:

(1) 1Issue permits to medical marijuana organizations to

authorize them to grow, process or dispense medical marijuana

and ensure their compliance with this chapter.

(2) Register practitioners and ensure their compliance
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with this chapter.

(3) Have regulatory and enforcement authority over the

growing, processing, sale and use of medical marijuana in

this Commonwealth.

(4) Establish and maintain an electronic database to

include activities and information relating to medical

marijuana organizations, certifications and identification

cards issued, practitioner registration and electronic

tracking of all medical marijuana as required under this

chapter to include:

(1) Insurance that medical marijuana is not diverted

or otherwise used for unlawful purposes by a practitioner

or medical marijuana organization.

(ii) Ability to establish the authenticity of

identification cards.

(iii) Recording recommended forms of medical

marijuana provided in a certification filed by the

practitioner.

(iv) Monitoring all growth, transfer, possession,

processing, testing and dispensing of medical marijuana

in this Commonwealth.

(v) The tracking system under section 9351 (relating

to electronic tracking) must include information under

section 9361 (a) (relating to dispensing to patients and

caregivers) and any other information required by the

department to be used by the department and dispensaries

to enable a dispensary to lawfully provide medical

marijuana. The tracking system and database shall be
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capable of providing information in real time. The

database shall be capable of receiving information from a

dispensary regarding the disbursement of medical

marijuana to patients and caregivers. This information

shall be immediately accessible to the department and

other dispensaries to inhibit diversion and ensure

compliance with this chapter.

(5) Maintain a directory of patients and caregivers

approved to use or assist in the administration of medical

marijuana within the department's database.

(6) (reserved) .

(7) Develop a two-hour course for the principals and

employees of a medical marijuana organization who either have

direct contact with patients or caregivers or who physically

handle medical marijuana. Employees must successfully

complete the course no later than 90 days after commencing

employment. Principals must successfully complete the course

prior to commencing initial operation of the medical

marijuana organization. The subject matter of the course

shall include the following:

(i) Methods to recognize and report unauthorized

activity, including diversion of medical marijuana for

unlawful purposes and falsification of identification

cards.

(ii) Proper handling of medical marijuana and

recordkeeping.

(iii) Any other subject required by the department.

(8) Develop enforcement procedures, including announced
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and unannounced inspections of facilities of the

grower/processors and dispensaries and all records of the

medical marijuana organizations.

(9) Establish a program to authorize the use of medical

marijuana to conduct medical research relating to the use of

medical marijuana to treat serious medical conditions,

including the collection of data and the provision of

research grants.

(10) Establish and maintain public outreach programs

about the medical marijuana program, including:

(i) A dedicated telephone number for patients,

caregivers and members of the public to obtain basic

information about the dispensing of medical marijuana

under this chapter.

(ii) A publicly accessible Internet website with

similar information.

(11) Collaborate as necessary with other Commonwealth

agencies or contract with third parties as necessary to carry

out the provisions of this chapter.

(12) Determine the minimum number and type of medical

marijuana products to be produced by a grower/processor and

dispensed by a dispensary.

(13) Develop recordkeeping requirements for all books,

papers, any electronic database or tracking system data and

other information of a medical marijuana organization.

Information shall be retained for a minimum period of two

years unless otherwise provided by the department.

(14) Restrict the advertising and marketing of medical
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marijuana, which shall be consistent with the Federal

regulations governing prescription drug advertising and

marketing.

(b) Regulations.--The department shall promulgate all

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this

chapter. No medical marijuana regulation shall differ from any

regulation promulgated by the department of agriculture

addressing the comparable issue regarding the operation of a

permittee under Chapter 91, except where expressly required to

protect the rights of patients. The department shall align all

medical marijuana regulations promulgated pursuant to this

chapter with the regulations promulgated pursuant to Chapter 91,

eliminating differences between the regulations and avoiding any

duplication required by medical marijuana permittees who are

also permittees under Chapter 91, except where differences are

required to protect the rights of patients. To the extent any

medical marijuana regulation conflicts with any regulation

related to adult use cannabis under Chapter 91, the adult use

cannabis regulation shall supersede the medical cannabis

regulation, except as required to protect the rights of

patients.

§ 9312. Confidentiality and public disclosure.

(a) Patient information.--The department shall maintain a

confidential list of patients and caregivers to whom it has

issued identification cards. All information obtained by the

department relating to patients, caregivers and other applicants

shall be confidential and not subject to public disclosure,

including disclosure under the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6,
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No.3), known as the Right-to-Know Law, including:

(1) Individual identifying information about patients

and caregivers.

(2) Certifications issued by practitioners.

(3) Information on identification cards.

(4) Information provided by the Pennsylvania State
Police under section 9332 (b) (relating to caregivers).

(5) Information relating to the patient's serious

medical condition.

(b) Public information.--The following records are public

records and shall be subject to the Right-to-Know Law:

(1) Applications for permits submitted by medical

marijuana organizations.

(2) The names, business addresses and medical

credentials of practitioners authorized to provide

certifications to patients to enable them to obtain and use

medical marijuana in this Commonwealth. All other

practitioner registration information shall be confidential

and exempt from public disclosure under the Right-to-Know

Law.

(3) Information relating to penalties or other

disciplinary actions taken against a medical marijuana

organization or practitioner by the department for violation

of this chapter.

§ 9313. Lawful use of medical marijuana.

(a) General rule.--Notwithstanding any provision of law to

the contrary, use or possession of medical marijuana as set

forth in this chapter is lawful within this Commonwealth.
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(b) Requirements.--The lawful use of medical marijuana 1is

subject to the following:

(1) Medical marijuana may only be dispensed to:

(i) a patient who receives a certification from a

practitioner and is in possession of a valid

identification card issued by the department; and

(ii) a caregiver who is in possession of a wvalid

identification card issued by the department.

(2) Subject to regulations promulgated under this

chapter, medical marijuana may only be dispensed to a patient

or caregiver in the following forms approved by the board:

(i) Cannabis-infused nonedible products.
(ii) Cannabis-infused edible products.
(iii) Forms medically appropriate for administration

by vaporization or nebulization, including dry leaf and

plant material.

(3) (Reserved) .

(4) A patient may designate up to two caregivers at any

one time.

(5) Medical marijuana that has not been used by the

patient shall be kept in the original package in which it was

dispensed.

(6) A patient or caregiver shall possess an

identification card whenever the patient or caregiver is in

possession of medical marijuana.

(7) Products packaged by a grower/processor or sold by a

dispensary shall only be identified by the name of the

grower/processor, the name of the dispensary, the brand name,
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if applicable, the form and species of medical marijuana, the

percentage of tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabinol contained

in the product and any other labeling required by the

department.

(c) Limitations on cultivating cannabis.--Cultivating

cannabis for personal use by a patient shall be subject to the

following limitations:

(1) A resident of this Commonwealth 21 years of age or

older who is a patient may cultivate cannabis plants, with a

limit of five plants that are more than five inches tall,

without an adult use cultivation center or micro cultivation

center license. The plant limitation specified under this

paragraph shall be cumulative for households in which more

than one patient resides. As used in this paragraph, the term

"resident" means an individual who has been domiciled in this

Commonwealth for a period of 30 days prior to cultivation.

(2) Cannabis cultivation by a patient shall take place

in an enclosed, locked space.

(3) A patient 21 years of age or older shall purchase

cannabis seeds from a dispensary for the purpose of home

cultivation. Seeds may not be given or resold to any other

individual regardless of age.

(4) Cannabis plants shall not be stored or placed in a

location where they are subject to ordinary public view. A

patient who cultivates cannabis shall take reasonable

precautions to ensure that the plants are secure from

unauthorized access, including unauthorized access by an

individual who is under 21 years of age.
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(5) Cannabis cultivation for personal use by a patient

may occur only on residential property lawfully in possession

of the patient cultivating cannabis for personal use or with

the consent of the person in lawful possession of the

property. An owner or lessor of residential property may

prohibit the cultivation of cannabis by a lessee.

(6) Cannabis plants may only be tended by a patient who

resides at the residence or an individual authorized by a

patient attending to the residence for brief periods.

(7) A patient who cultivates more than the allowable

number of cannabis plants, or who sells or gives away

cannabis plants, cannabis or cannabis-infused edible or

nonedible products, shall be liable for penalties as provided

by State law in addition to loss of home cultivation

privileges as established by regulation by the board.

(8) Cannabis cultivated by a patient and cannabis

produced by cannabis plants grown, if the amount of cannabis

produced is in excess of 30 grams of raw cannabis, shall

remain secured within the residence or residential property

in which the cannabis is grown.

§ 9314. (Reserved).
SUBCHAPTER C
PRACTITIONERS
Sec.
9321. Practitioner registration.
9322. Practitioner restrictions.
9323. Issuance of certification.

9324. Certification form.
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9325. Duration.

§ 9321. Practitioner registration.

(a) Eligibility.--A physician included in the registry is

authorized to issue certifications to patients to use medical

marijuana. To be eligible for inclusion in the registry:

(1) A physician must apply for registration in the form

and manner required by the department.

(2) The department must determine that the physician is,

by training or experience, qualified to treat a serious

medical condition. The physician shall provide documentation

of credentials, training or experience as required by the

department.

(3) The physician must have successfully completed the
course under section 9311 (a) (6) (relating to program
established).

(b) Department action.--
(1) The department shall review an application submitted

by a physician to determine whether to include the physician

in the registry. The review shall include information

maintained by the Department of State regarding whether the

physician has a valid, unexpired, unrevoked, unsuspended

Pennsylvania license to practice medicine and whether the

physician has been subject to discipline.

(2) The inclusion of a physician in the registry shall

be subject to annual review to determine if the physician's

license is no longer valid, has expired or been revoked or

the physician has been subject to discipline. If the license

is no longer valid, the department shall remove the physician
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from the registry until the physician holds a valid,

unexpired, unrevoked, unsuspended Pennsylvania license to

practice medicine.

(3) The Department of State shall report to the

department the expiration, suspension or revocation of a

physician's license and any disciplinary actions in a timely

fashion.

(c) Practitioner requirements.--A practitioner included in

the registry shall have an ongoing responsibility to immediately

notify the department in writing if the practitioner knows or

has reason to know that any of the following is true with

respect to a patient for whom the practitioner has issued a

certification:

(1) The patient no longer has the serious medical

condition for which the certification was issued.

(2) Medical marijuana would no longer be therapeutic or

palliative.

(3) The patient has died.

§ 9322. Practitioner restrictions.

(a) Practices prohibited.--The following apply with respect

to practitioners:

(1) A practitioner may not accept, solicit or offer any

form of remuneration from or to a prospective patient,

patient, prospective caregiver, caregiver or medical

marijuana organization, including an employee, financial

backer or principal, to certify a patient, other than

accepting a fee for service with respect to the examination

of the prospective patient to determine if the prospective
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patient should be issued a certification to use medical

marijuana.

(2) A practitioner may not hold a direct or economic

interest in a medical marijuana organization.

(3) A practitioner may not advertise the practitioner's

services as a practitioner who can certify a patient to

receive medical marijuana.

(b) Unprofessional conduct.--A practitioner who violates

subsection (a) shall not be permitted to issue certifications to

patients. The practitioner shall be removed from the registry.

(c) Discipline.--In addition to any other penalty that may

be imposed under this chapter, a violation of subsection (a) or

section 9323 (f) (relating to issuance of certification) shall be

deemed unprofessional conduct under section 41(8) of the act of

December 20, 1985 (P.L.457, No.l1l12), known as the Medical

Practice Act of 1985, or section 15(a) (8) of the act of October

5, 1978 (P.L.1109, No.261), known as the Osteopathic Medical

Practice Act, and shall subject the practitioner to discipline

by the State Board of Medicine or the State Board of Osteopathic

Medicine, as appropriate.

§ 9323. Issuance of certification.

(a) Conditions for issuance.--A certification to use medical

marijuana may be issued by a practitioner to a patient if all of

the following requirements are met:

(1) The practitioner has been approved by the department

for inclusion in the registry and has a wvalid, unexpired,

unrevoked, unsuspended Pennsylvania license to practice

medicine at the time of the issuance of the certification.
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(2) The practitioner has determined that the patient has

a serious medical condition and has included the condition in

the patient's health care record.

(3) The patient is under the practitioner's continuing

care for the serious medical condition.

(4) In the practitioner's professional opinion and

review of past treatments, the practitioner determines the

patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative

benefit from the use of medical marijuana.

(b) Contents.--The certification shall include:
(1) The patient's name, date of birth and address.
(2) The specific serious medical condition of the
patient.

(3) A statement by the practitioner that the patient has

a serious medical condition and the patient is under the

practitioner's continuing care for the serious medical

condition.
(4) The date of issuance.
(5) The name, address, telephone number and signature of

the practitioner.

(6) Any requirement or limitation concerning the

appropriate form of medical marijuana and limitation on the

duration of use, if applicable, including whether the patient

is terminally ill.

(c) Consultation.--A practitioner shall review the

prescription drug monitoring program prior to:

(1) TIssuing a certification to determine the controlled

substance history of a patient.
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(2) Recommending a change of amount or form of medical

marijuana.

(d) Other access by practitioner.--A practitioner may access

the prescription drug monitoring program to do any of the

following:

(1) Determine whether a patient may be under treatment

with a controlled substance by another physician or other

person.

(2) Allow the practitioner to review the patient's

controlled substance history as deemed necessary by the

practitioner.

(3) Provide to the patient, or caregiver on behalf of

the patient if authorized by the patient, a copy of the

patient's controlled substance history.

(e) Duties of practitioner.--The practitioner shall:
(1) Provide the certification to the patient.
(2) Provide a copy of the certification to the

department, which shall place the information in the patient

directory within the department's electronic database. The

department shall permit electronic submission of the

certification.

(3) File a copy of the certification in the patient's

health care record.

(f) Prohibition.--A practitioner may not issue a

certification for the practitioner's own use or for the use of a

family or household member.

§ 9324. Certification form.

The department shall develop a standard certification form,
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which shall be available to practitioners upon request. The form

shall be available electronically. The form shall include a

statement that a false statement made by a practitioner is

punishable under the applicable provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 49

(relating to falsification and intimidation).

§ 9325. Duration.

Receipt of medical marijuana by a patient or caregiver from a

dispensary may not exceed a 90-day supply of individual doses.

During the last seven days of any 30-day period during the term

of the identification card, a patient may obtain and possess a

90-day supply for the subsequent 30-day period. Additional 90-

day supplies may be provided in accordance with this section for

the duration of the authorized period of the identification card

unless a shorter period is indicated on the certification.

SUBCHAPTER D

PATIENTS
Sec.
9331. Identification cards.
9332. Caregivers.
9333. Notice.
9334. Verification.
9335. Special conditions.
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9337. Minors.
9338. Caregiver authorization and limitations.
9339. Contents of identification card.

9339.1. Suspension.

9339.2. Prohibitions.
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§ 9331. Identification cards.

(a) 1Issuance.--The department may issue an identification

card to a patient who has a certification approved by the

department and to a caregiver designated by the patient. An

identification card issued to a patient shall authorize the

patient to obtain and use medical marijuana as authorized by

this chapter. An identification card issued to a caregiver shall

authorize the caregiver to obtain medical marijuana on behalf of

the patient.

(b) Procedure for issuance.--The department shall develop

and implement procedures for:

(1) Review and approval of applications for

identification cards.

(2) 1Issuance of identification cards to patients and
caregivers.
(3) Review of the certification submitted by the

practitioner and the patient.

(c) Application.--A patient or a caregiver may apply, in a

form and manner prescribed by the department, for issuance or

renewal of an identification card. A caregiver must submit a

separate application for issuance or renewal. Each application

must include:

(1) The name, address and date of birth of the patient.

(2) The name, address and date of birth of a caregiver.
(3) The certification issued by the practitioner.
(4) The name, address and telephone number of the

practitioner and documentation from the practitioner that all

of the requirements of section 9323 (a) (relating to issuance
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of certification) have been met.

(5) A $50 processing fee. The department may waive or

reduce the fee if the applicant demonstrates financial

hardship.

(6) The signature of the applicant and date signed.

(7) Other information required by the department.

(d) Forms.--Application and renewal forms shall be available

on the department's publicly accessible Internet website.

(e) Expiration.--An identification card of a patient or

caregiver shall expire within one year from the date of

issuance, upon the death of the patient or as otherwise provided

in this section.

(f) Separate cards to be issued.--The department shall issue

separate identification cards for patients and caregivers as

soon as reasonably practicable after receiving completed

applications, unless it determines that an application is

incomplete or factually inaccurate, in which case it shall

promptly notify the applicant.

(g) (Reserved) .

(h) Change in name or address.--A patient or caregiver who

has been issued an identification card shall notify the

department within 10 days of any change of name or address. In

addition, the patient shall notify the department within 10 days

if the patient no longer has the serious medical condition noted

on the certification.

(1) Lost or defaced card.--In the event of a lost, stolen,

destroyed or illegible identification card, the patient or

caregiver shall apply to the department within 10 business days
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of discovery of the loss or defacement of the card for a

replacement card. The application for a replacement card shall

be on a form furnished by the department and accompanied by a

$25 fee. The department may establish higher fees for issuance

of second and subsequent replacement identification cards. The

department may waive or reduce the fee in cases of demonstrated

financial hardship. The department shall issue a replacement

identification card as soon as practicable. A patient or

caregiver may not obtain medical marijuana until the department

issues the replacement card.

§ 9332. Caregivers.

(a) Requirements.--

(1) 1If the patient designates a caregiver, the

application shall include the name, address and date of birth

of the caregiver, other individual identifying information

required by the department and the following:

(1) Federal and Commonwealth criminal history record

information as set forth in subsection (b).

(11) If the caregiver has an identification card for

the caregiver or another patient, the expiration date of

the identification card.

(iii) Other information required by the department.

(2) The application shall be accompanied by a fee of

$50. The department may waive or reduce the fee in cases of

demonstrated financial hardship.

(3) The department may require additional information

for the application.

(4) The application shall be signed and dated by the
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applicant.

(b) Criminal history.--A caregiver who has not been

previously approved by the department under this section shall

submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining criminal

history record checks, and the Pennsylvania State Police or its

authorized agent shall submit the fingerprints to the Federal

Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of verifying the

identity of the applicant and obtaining a current record of any

criminal arrests and convictions. Any criminal history record

information relating to a caregiver obtained under this section

by the department may be interpreted and used by the department

only to determine the applicant's character, fitness and

suitability to serve as a caregiver under this chapter. The

criminal history record information provided under this

subsection may not be subject to the limitations under 18

Pa.C.S. § 9121 (b) (2) (relating to general regulations). The

department shall also review the prescription drug monitoring

program relating to the caregiver. The department shall deny the

application of a caregiver who has been convicted of a criminal

offense that occurred within the past five years relating to the

sale or possession of drugs, narcotics or controlled substances.

The department may deny an application if the applicant has a

history of drug abuse or of diverting controlled substances or

illegal drugs.

§ 9333. Notice.

An application for an identification card shall include

notice that a false statement made in the application is

punishable under the applicable provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 49
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(relating to falsification and intimidation).

§ 9334. Verification.

The department shall verify the information in a patient or

caregiver's application and on any renewal form.

§ 9335. Special conditions.

The following apply:

(1) If the practitioner states in the certification

that, in the practitioner's professional opinion, the patient

would benefit from medical marijuana only until a specified

earlier date, then the identification card shall expire on

that date.

(2) If the certification so provides, the identification

card shall state any requirement or limitation by the

practitioner as to the form of medical marijuana for the

patient.

S 9336. (Reserved) .

§ 9337. Minors.

If a patient is under 18 years of age, the following shall

apply:

(1) The patient shall have a caregiver.

(2) A caregiver must be one of the following:

(i) A parent or legal guardian of the patient.

(ii) An individual designated by a parent or legal

guardian.

(iii) An appropriate individual approved by the

department upon a sufficient showing that no parent or

legal guardian is appropriate or available.

§ 9338. Caregiver authorization and limitations.
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(a) Age.--An individual who is under 21 years of age may not

be a caregiver unless a sufficient showing, as determined by the

department, is made to the department that the individual should

be permitted to serve as a caregiver.

(b) Changing caregiver.--If a patient wishes to change or

terminate the designation of the patient's caregiver, for

whatever reason, the patient shall notify the department as soon

as practicable. The department shall issue a notification to the

caregiver that the caregiver's identification card is invalid

and must be promptly returned to the department.

(c) Denial in part.--If an application of a patient

designates an individual as a caregiver who is not authorized to

be a caregiver, that portion of the application shall be denied

by the department. The department shall review the balance of

the application and may approve that portion of it.

§ 9339. Contents of identification card.

An identification card shall contain the following:

(1) The name of the caregiver or the patient, as

appropriate. The identification card shall also state whether

the individual is designated as a patient or as a caregiver.

(2) The date of issuance and expiration date.

(3) An identification number for the patient or

caregiver, as appropriate.

(4) A photograph of the individual to whom the

identification card is being issued, whether the individual

is a patient or a caregiver. The method of obtaining the

photograph shall be specified by the department by

regulation. The department shall provide reasonable




154

accommodation for a patient who is confined to the patient's

home or is in inpatient care.

(5) Any requirement or limitation set by the

practitioner as to the form of medical marijuana.

(6) Any other requirements determined by the department,

except the department may not require that an identification

card disclose the patient's serious medical condition.

§ 9339.1. Suspension.

If a patient or caregiver intentionally, knowingly or

recklessly violates any provision of this chapter as determined

by the department, the identification card of the patient or

caregiver may be suspended or revoked. The suspension or

revocation shall be in addition to any criminal or other penalty

that may apply.

§ 9339.2. Prohibitions.

The following prohibitions shall apply:

(1) A patient may not operate or be in physical control

of any of the following while under the influence with a

blood content of more than 10 nanograms of active

tetrahydrocannabis per milliliter of blood in serum:

(i) Chemicals which require a permit issued by the

Federal Government or a state government or an agency of

the Federal Government or a state government.

(ii) High-voltage electricity or any other public
utility.
(2) A patient may not perform any employment duties at

heights or in confined spaces, including, but not limited to,

mining, while under the influence of medical marijuana.
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(3) A patient may be prohibited by an employer from

performing any task which the employer deems life-

threatening, to either the employee or any of the employees

of the employer, while under the influence of medical

marijuana. The prohibition shall not be deemed an adverse

employment decision even i1if the prohibition results in

financial harm for the patient.

(4) A patient may be prohibited by an employer from

performing any duty which could result in a public health or

safety risk while under the influence of medical marijuana.

The

prohibition shall not be deemed an adverse employment

decision even if the prohibition results in financial harm

for

the patient.

SUBCHAPTER E

MEDICAL MARIJUANA ORGANIZATIONS
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9349.4. Suspension or revocation.

9349.5. Convictions prohibited.

9349.6. Diversity goals.

9349.7. Limitations on permits.

§ 9341. Medical marijuana organizations.

The following entities shall be authorized to receive a

permit to operate as a medical marijuana organization to grow,

process or dispense medical marijuana:

(1) Grower/processors.

(2) Dispensaries.

§ 9342. Permits.

(a) Application.--An application for a grower/processor or

dispensary permit to grow, process or dispense medical marijuana

shall be in a form and manner prescribed by the department and

shall include:

(1) Verification of all principals, operators, financial

backers or employees of a medical marijuana grower/processor

or dispensary.

(2) A description of responsibilities as a principal,

operator, financial backer or employee.

(3) Any release necessary to obtain information from

governmental agencies, employers and other organizations.

(4) A criminal history record check. Medical marijuana

organizations applying for a permit shall submit fingerprints

of principals, financial backers, operators and employees to

the Pennsylvania State Police for the purpose of obtaining

criminal history record checks and the Pennsylvania State

Police or its authorized agent shall submit the fingerprints
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to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of

verifying the identity of the principals, financial backers,

operators and employees and obtaining a current record of any

criminal arrests and convictions. Any criminal history record

information relating to principals, financial backers,

operators and employees obtained under this section by the

department may be interpreted and used by the department only

to determine the principal's, financial backer's, operator's

and employee's character, fitness and suitability to serve as

a principal, financial backer, operator and employee under

this chapter. The criminal history record information

provided under this subsection may not be subject to the

limitations under 18 Pa.C.S. § 9121 (b) (2) (relating to

general regulations). After submission of required

documentation to the department, medical marijuana

organizations may allow employees to work in a supervised

capacity until the department formally approves the

employee's affiliation with the medical marijuana

organization. Any employee who the department determines to

be unable to meet the affiliation requirements under section

9349.5 (relating to convictions prohibited) shall be

terminated by the medical marijuana organization immediately.

This paragraph shall not apply to an owner of securities in a

publicly traded corporation or an owner of or less in a

privately held business entity if the department determines

that the owner of the securities is not substantially

involved in the activities of the medical marijuana

organization.
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(5) Details relating to a similar license, permit or

other authorization obtained in another Jjurisdiction,

including any suspensions, revocations or discipline in that

jurisdiction.

(6) A description of the business activities in which it

intends to engage as a medical marijuana organization.

(7) A statement that the applicant:

(1) (Reserved) .

(ii) ©Possesses the ability to obtain in an

expeditious manner the right to use sufficient land,

buildings and other premises and equipment to properly

carry on the activity described in the application and

any proposed location for a facility.

(iii) 1Is able to maintain effective security and

control to prevent diversion, abuse and other illegal

conduct relating to medical marijuana.

(iv) Is able to comply with all applicable

Commonwealth laws and regulations relating to the

activities in which it intends to engage under this

chapter.

(8) The name, residential address and title of each

financial backer and principal of the applicant. Each

individual, or lawful representative of a legal entity, shall

submit an affidavit with the application setting forth:

(i) Any position of management or ownership during

the preceding 10 years of a controlling interest in any

other business, located inside or outside this

Commonwealth, manufacturing or distributing controlled
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substances.

(ii) Whether the person or business has been

convicted of a criminal offense graded higher than a

summary offense or has had a permit relating to medical

marijuana suspended or revoked in any administrative or

judicial proceeding.

(9) Any other information the department may require.

(b) Notice.--An application shall include notice that a

false statement made in the application is punishable under the

applicable provisions of 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 49 (relating to

falsification and intimidation).

§ 9343. Granting of permit.

(a) General rule.--The department may grant or deny a permit

to a grower/processor or dispensary.

(b) Determination.--In making a decision under subsection

(a), the department shall determine that:

(1) The applicant will maintain effective control of and

prevent diversion of medical marijuana.

(2) The applicant will comply with all applicable laws

of this Commonwealth.

(3) The applicant is ready, willing and able to properly

carry on the activity for which a permit is sought.

(4) The applicant possesses the ability to obtain in an

expeditious manner sufficient land, buildings and equipment

to properly grow, process or dispense medical marijuana.

(5) It is in the public interest to grant the permit.

(6) The applicant, including the financial backer or

principal, is of good moral character and has the financial
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fitness necessary to operate.

(7) The applicant is able to implement and maintain

security, tracking, recordkeeping and surveillance systems

relating to the acquisition, possession, growth, manufacture,

sale, delivery, transportation, distribution or the

dispensing of medical marijuana as required by the department

and in accordance Chapter 91.

(8) The applicant satisfies any other conditions as

determined by the department.

(c) Nontransferability.--A permit issued under this

subchapter shall be nontransferable.

(d) Privilege.--The issuance or renewal of a permit shall be

a revocable privilege.

(e) Regions.--The department shall establish a minimum of

three regions within this Commonwealth for the purpose of

granting permits to grower/processors and dispensaries and

enforcing this chapter. The department shall approve permits for

grower/processors and dispensaries in a manner which will

provide an adequate amount of medical marijuana to patients and

caregivers in all areas of this Commonwealth. The department

shall consider the following when issuing a permit:

(1) Regional population.

(2) The number of patients suffering from serious

medical conditions.

(3) The types of serious medical conditions.

(4) Access to public transportation.

(5) Any other factor the department deems relevant.

§ 9344. Notice.
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When the boundaries under section 9343 (e) (relating to

granting of permit) are established, the department shall

transmit notice of the determination to the Legislative

Reference Bureau for publication in the next available issue of

the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The department may adjust the

boundaries as necessary every two years. Notice of any

adjustment to the boundaries shall be transmitted to the

Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the next

available issue of the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

§ 9345, (Reserved) .

§ 9346. Application and issuance.

(a) Duty to report.--An applicant to be a grower/processor

or to operate a dispensary is under a continuing duty to:

(1) Report to the department any change in facts or

circumstances reflected in the application or any newly

discovered or occurring fact or circumstance which is

required to be included in the application, including a

change in control of the medical marijuana organization.

(2) Report to law enforcement, within 24 hours, any loss

or theft of medical marijuana.

(3) Submit to announced or unannounced inspections by

the department of the facilities for growing, processing,

dispensing or selling medical marijuana, including all

records of the organization.

(b) Additional information.--If the department is not

satisfied that the applicant should be issued a permit, the

department shall notify the applicant in writing of the factors

for which further documentation is required. Within 30 days of
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the receipt of the notification, the applicant may submit

additional material to the department.

§ 9347. Fees and other requirements.

The following apply:

(1) For a grower/processor:

(i) An initial application fee in the amount of

$10,000 shall be paid. The fee is nonrefundable.

(ii) A fee for a permit as a grower/processor in the

amount of $200,000 shall be paid. The permit shall be

valid for one year. Applicants shall submit the permit

fee at the time of submission of the application. The fee

shall be returned if the permit is not granted.

(iii) A renewal fee for the permit as a

grower/processor in the amount of $10,000 shall be paid

and shall cover renewal for all locations. The renewal

fee shall be returned if the renewal is not granted.

(iv) An application to renew a permit must be filed

with the department not more than six months nor less

than four months prior to expiration.

(v) All fees shall be paid by certified check or

money order.

(vi) Before issuing an initial permit under this

paragraph, the department shall verify that the applicant

has at least $2,000,000 in capital, $500,000 of which

must be on deposit with a financial institution.

(2) For a dispensary:

(i) An initial application fee in the amount of

$5,000 shall be paid. The fee is nonrefundable.
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(ii) A permit fee for a dispensary shall be $30,000

for each location. The period of the permit is one year.

An applicant shall submit the permit fee at the time of

submission of the application. The fee shall be returned

if the application is not granted.

(iii) A renewal fee for the permit as a dispensary

in the amount of $5,000 shall be paid. The fee shall be

returned i1if the renewal is not granted and shall cover

renewal for all locations.

(iv) An application to renew a permit must be filed

with the department not more than six months nor less

than four months prior to expiration.

(v) All fees shall be paid by certified check or

money order.

(vi) Before issuing an initial permit under this

paragraph, the department shall verify that the applicant

has at least $150,000 in capital, which must be on

deposit with a financial institution.

(3) A fee of $250 shall be required when amending the

application to indicate relocation within this Commonwealth

or the addition or deletion of approved activities by the

medical marijuana organization.

(4) Fees payable under this section shall be deposited

into the fund.

§ 9348. Issuance.

A permit issued by the department to a medical marijuana

organization shall be effective only for that organization and

shall specify the following:
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(1) The name and address of the medical marijuana
organization.
(2) The activities of the medical marijuana organization

permitted under this chapter.

(3) The land, buildings, facilities or location to be

used by the medical marijuana organization.

(4) Any other information required by the department.

§ 9349, Relocation.

(a) Authorization.--The department may approve an

application from a medical marijuana organization to relocate

within this Commonwealth or to add or delete activities or

facilities.

(b) Designations.--Notwithstanding the provisions of

subsection (a), a dispensary may interchange the designation of

a primary, secondary or tertiary location at any time, including

the period before a location becomes operational, by providing

written notice to the department at least 14 days before the

change in designation. A change in designation under this

subsection may not be subject to approval by the department.

§ 9349.1. Terms of permit.

A permit issued by the department shall be valid for one year

from the date of issuance.

S 9349.2. (Reserved) .

§ 9349.3. Permit renewals.

(a) Renewal.--An application for renewal shall include the

following information:

(1) Any material change in the information provided by

the medical marijuana organization in a prior application or
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renewal of a permit.

(2) Any charge or initiated, pending or concluded

investigation, during the period of the permit, by any

governmental or administrative agency with respect to:

(1) any incident involving the theft, loss or

possible diversion of medical marijuana grown, processed

or dispensed by the applicant; and

(ii) compliance by the applicant with the laws of

this Commonwealth with respect to any substance listed in

section 4 of the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64),

known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and

Cosmetic Act.

(b) Approval.--The department shall renew a permit unless

the department determines that:

(1) The applicant is unlikely to maintain or be able to

maintain effective control against diversion of medical

marijuana.

(2) The applicant is unlikely to comply with all laws of

this Commonwealth applicable to the activities in which it

may engage under the permit.

(c) Nonrenewal decision.--The denial or nonrenewal shall

specify in detail how the applicant has not satisfied the

department's requirements for renewal. Within 30 days of the

department's decision, the applicant may submit additional

material to the department or demand a hearing, or both. If a

hearing is demanded, the department shall fix a date as soon as

practicable.

§ 9349.4. Suspension or revocation.
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The department may suspend or revoke a medical marijuana

organization permit if:

(1) The department has evidence that the medical

marijuana organization has failed to maintain effective

control against diversion of medical marijuana.

(2) The organization violates any provision of this

chapter or a regulation of the department.

(3) The organization has intentionally, knowingly,

recklessly or negligently failed to comply with applicable

laws of this Commonwealth relating to medical marijuana.

§ 9349.5. Convictions prohibited.

(a) Prohibitions.--The following individuals may not hold

volunteer positions or positions with remuneration in or be

affiliated with a medical marijuana organization, including a

clinical registrant under Subchapter K (relating to academic

clinical research centers and clinical registrants), in any way

if the individual has been convicted of any felony criminal

offense related to the manufacture, delivery or possession with

intent to manufacture or deliver a controlled substance in

violation of the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known

as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or

similar law in any other jurisdiction:

(1) Financial backers.

(2) Principals.

(3) Employees.

(b) Exclusion.--This section shall not apply to an

individual for whom it has been 10 or more years since the entry

of a final disposition of a felony conviction related to the
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manufacture, delivery or possession with intent to manufacture

or deliver a controlled substance in violation of The Controlled

Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or similar law in any

other jurisdiction, or one year since the individual's release

from imprisonment for the felony conviction, whichever is later.

§ 9349.6. Diversity goals.

(a) Goals.--It is the intent and goal of the General

Assembly that the department promote diversity and the

participation by diverse groups in the activities authorized

under this chapter. In order to further this goal, the

department shall adopt and implement policies ensuring the

following:

(1) That diverse groups are accorded equal opportunity

in the permitting process.

(2) That permittees promote the participation of diverse

groups in their operations by affording equal access to

employment opportunities.

(b) Duties of department.--To facilitate participation by

diverse groups in the activities authorized under this chapter,

the department shall:

(1) Conduct necessary and appropriate outreach

including, if necessary, consulting with other Commonwealth

agencies to identify diverse groups who may qualify for

participation in activities under this chapter.

(2) Provide sufficient and continuous notice of the

participation opportunities afforded under this chapter by

publishing notice on the department's publicly accessible

Internet website.




168

(3) 1Include in the applications for permit under this

chapter language to encourage applicants to utilize and give

consideration to diverse groups for contracting or

professional services opportunities.

(c) Reports.--No later than March 1, 2018, and each March 1

thereafter, the department shall submit a report to the

chairperson and minority chairperson of the Health and Human

Services Committee of the Senate and the chairperson and

minority chairperson of the Health Committee of the House of

Representatives summarizing the participation and utilization of

diverse groups in the activities authorized under this chapter.

The report shall include:

(1) The participation level, by percentage, of diverse

groups in the activities authorized under this chapter.

(2) A summary of how diverse groups are utilized by

permittees, including in the provision of goods or services.

(3) Any other information the department deems

appropriate.

(d) Definitions.--The following words and phrases when used

in this section shall have the meanings given to them in this

subsection unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Disadvantaged business." As defined in 74 Pa.C.S. § 303 (b)

(relating to diverse business participation).

"Diverse group." A disadvantaged business, minority-owned

business, women-owned business, service-disabled veteran-owned

small business or veteran-owned small business that has been

certified by a third-party certifying organization.

"Minority-owned business." As defined in 74 Pa.C.S. §
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303 (b) .

"Service-disabled veteran-owned small business." As defined

in 51 Pa.C.S. § 9601 (relating to definitions).

"Third-party certifying organization." As defined in 74

Pa.C.S. § 303 (b).

"Veteran-owned small business.”" As defined in 51 Pa.C.S. §
9601.

"Women-owned business." As defined in 74 Pa.C.S. § 303(b).
§ 9349.7. Limitations on permits.

The following limitations apply to approval of permits for

grower/processors and dispensaries:

(1) The department may not initially issue permits to

more than 25 growers/processors.

(2) The department may not initially issue permits to

more than 50 dispensaries. Each dispensary may provide

medical marijuana at no more than three separate locations.

(3) The department may not issue more than five

individual dispensary permits to one person.

(4) The department may not issue more than one

individual grower/processor permit to one person.

(5) No more than five grower/processors may be issued

permits as dispensaries. If the number of growers/processors

is increased under section 9392 (relating to effectuating

recommendations of advisory board), no more than 20% of the

total number of growers/processors may also be issued permits

as dispensaries.

(6) A medical marijuana organization that qualifies as

an independent grower/processor or independent dispensary, as
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defined in section 103 of the amended 2016 Act 16, and

completes a change of control transaction shall no longer

qualify as an independent grower/processor or independent

dispensary and as such shall not be entitled to the

continuation of benefits pursuant to section 617 of the

amended 2016 Act 16. Any grower/processor or dispensary that

obtained its permit as a result of a sale, transfer, or

change of control transaction with a permittee that either

qualifies, or formally qualified, as an independent

grower/processor or an independent dispensary, does not

itself qualify as an independent grower/processor oOr an

independent dispensary.

(7) A dispensary may only obtain medical marijuana from

a grower/processor holding a valid permit under this chapter.

(8) A grower/processor may only provide medical

marijuana to a dispensary holding a valid permit under this

chapter.

SUBCHAPTER F

MEDICAL MARIJUANA CONTROLS

Sec.

9351. Electronic tracking.

9352. Grower/processors.

9353. Storage and transportation.

9354. Laboratory.

9355. Prices.

§ 9351. Electronic tracking.

(a) Reqguirement.--A grower/processor or dispensary must

implement an electronic inventory tracking system which shall be
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directly accessible to the department through its electronic

database that electronically tracks all medical marijuana on a

daily basis. The system shall include tracking of all of the

following:

(1) For a grower/processor, a seed-to-sale tracking

system that tracks the medical marijuana from seed to plant

until the medical marijuana is sold to a dispensary.

(2) For a dispensary, medical marijuana from purchase

from the grower/processor to sale to a patient or caregiver

and that includes information that verifies the validity of

an identification card presented by the patient or caregiver.

(3) For a grower/processor and a dispensary, a daily log

of each day's beginning inventory, acquisitions, amounts

purchased and sold, disbursements, disposals and ending

inventory. The tracking system shall include prices paid and

amounts collected from patients and caregivers.

(4) For a grower/processor and a dispensary, a system

for recall of defective medical marijuana.

(5) For a grower/processor and a dispensary, a system to

track the plant waste resulting from the growth of medical

marijuana or other disposal, including the name and address

of any disposal service.

(b) Additional requirements.--In addition to the information

under subsection (a), each medical marijuana organization shall

track the following:

(1) Security and surveillance.

(2) Recordkeeping and record retention.

(3) The acquisition, possession, growing and processing
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of medical marijuana.

(4) Delivery and transportation, including amounts and

method of delivery.

(5) Dispensing, including amounts, pricing and amounts

collected from patients and caregivers.

(c) Access.--Information maintained in electronic tracking

systems under subsection (a) shall be confidential and not

subject to the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3), known as

the Right-to-Know Law.

(d) Application programming interface.--The department or

the department's contracted seed-to-sale vendor shall allow two-

way communication, automation and application-programming

interface of a medical marijuana organization's enterprise

resource planning, inventory, accounting and point-of-sale

software with the software of the department or the department's

contracted seed-to-sale vendor. The department or the

department's contracted seed-to-sale vendor shall provide for

the development and use of a seed-to-sale cannabis tracking

system, which shall include a secure application program

interface capable of accessing all data required to be

transmitted to the advisory board to ensure compliance with the

operational reporting requirements established under this

chapter and the reqgulations of the department.

(e) Reports.--Within one year of the issuance of the first

permit to a grower/processor or dispensary, and every three

months thereafter in a form and manner prescribed by the

department, the following information shall be provided to the

department, which shall compile the information and post it on
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the department's publicly accessible Internet website:

(1) The amount of medical marijuana sold by a

grower/processor during each three-month period.

(2) The price of amounts of medical marijuana sold by

grower/processors as determined by the department.

(3) The amount of medical marijuana purchased by each

dispensary in this Commonwealth.

(4) The cost of amounts of medical marijuana to each

dispensary in amounts as determined by the department.

(5) The total amount and dollar value of medical

marijuana sold by each dispensary in the three-month period.

§ 9352. Grower/processors.

(a) Authorization.--Subject to subsection (b), a

grower/processor may do all of the following in accordance with

department regulations:

(1) Obtain and transport seed and immature plant

material from outside this Commonwealth during at least one

30-day period per year as designated by the department to

grow and process medical marijuana.

(2) Obtain seed and plant material from another

grower/processor within this Commonwealth to grow medical

marijuana.

(3) Obtain and transport bulk postharvest medical

marijuana plant material from another grower/processor within

this Commonwealth to process medical marijuana. As used in

this paragraph, the term "postharvest plant material"

includes all unfinished plant and plant-derived material,

whether fresh, dried, partially dried, frozen or partially
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frozen, o0il, concentrate or similar byproducts derived or

processed from medical marijuana or medical marijuana plants.

(4) Apply solvent-based extraction methods and processes

to medical marijuana plants that have failed a test conducted

by an approved laboratory at harvest, subject to the

following:

(i) The test failure shall be limited to yeast and

mold.

(ii) The extracted material shall be processed into

a topical form.

(iii) The medical marijuana product must pass a

final processed test under section 9354 (relating to

laboratory) .

(iv) The medical marijuana product shall be labeled

as remediated.

(v) This paragraph shall expire upon the publication

in the Pennsylvania Bulletin of a notice of the

secretary's approval of the recommendations relating to a

research initiative, as prescribed in section 9399.26

(relating to research initiative).

(5) Obtain harvested hemp from a person holding a permit

issued by the Department of Agriculture to grow or cultivate

hemp under 3 Pa.C.S. Ch. 15 (relating to controlled plants

and noxious weeds) 1f the hemp received by a grower/processor

is subject to the laboratory testing requirements of section

9354.

(6) Add excipients or hemp or hemp-derived additives

obtained or cultivated in accordance with paragraph (5).
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Excipients must be pharmaceutical grade, unless otherwise

approved by the department. In determining whether to approve

an added substance, the department shall consider the

following:

(i) Whether the added substance is permitted by the

United States Food and Drug Administration for use in

food or is Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) under

Federal guidelines.

(1i) Whether the added substance constitutes a known

hazard such as diacetyl, CAS number 431-03-8, and

pentanedione, CAS number 600-14-6.

(b) Limitations.—--

(1) A grower/processor may only grow, store, harvest or

process medical marijuana in an indoor, enclosed, secure

facility which:

(i) dincludes electronic locking systems, electronic

surveillance and other features required by the

department; and

(11) is located within this Commonwealth.

(2) For the purpose of paragraph (1), a grower/processor

shall maintain continuous video surveillance. A

grower/processor is required to retain the recordings onsite

or offsite for a period of no less than 180 days, unless

otherwise required for investigative or litigation purposes.

(c) Pesticides.--

(1) A grower/processor may use a pesticide that is

registered by the Department of Agriculture under the act of

March 1, 1974 (P.L.90, No.24), known as the Pennsylvania
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Pesticide Control Act of 1973, and designated by the

Secretary of Agriculture in consultation with the secretary

for use by a grower/processor.

(2) The Secretary of Agriculture shall transmit, by June

30, 2022, an initial list of pesticides which may be used by

grower/processors to the Legislative Reference Bureau for

publication in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania

Bulletin. The list shall be posted on the department's

publicly accessible Internet website and shall be reviewed

and updated by the Secretary of Agriculture, in consultation

with the secretary, at least once annually and transmitted to

the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the next

available issue of the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

§ 9353. Storage and transportation.

The department shall develop regulations relating to the

storage and transportation of medical marijuana among

grower/processors, testing laboratories and dispensaries which

ensure adequate security to guard against in-transit losses. The

tracking system developed by the department shall include all

transportation and storage of medical marijuana. The regulations

shall provide for the following:

(1) Requirements relating to shipping containers and
packaging.
(2) The manner in which trucks, vans, trailers or other

carriers will be secured.

(3) Security systems that include a numbered seal on the

trailer.

(4) Obtaining copies of drivers' licenses and
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registrations and other information related to security and

tracking.

(5) Use of GPS systems.

(6) Number of drivers or other security required to

ensure against storage or in-transit losses.

(7) Recordkeeping for delivery and receipt of medical

marijuana products.

(8) Requirements to utilize any electronic tracking

system required by the department, which shall allow for the

two-way communication, automation and application-programming

interface between a medical marijuana organization's

enterprise resource planning, inventory, accounting and

point-of-sale software and the software of the department or

the department's wvendor.

(9) Transporting medical marijuana to a

grower/processor, approved laboratory or dispensary.

§ 9354. TLaboratory.

(a) General testing.--A grower/processor shall contract with

one or more independent laboratories to test the medical

marijuana produced by the grower/processor. The department shall

approve a laboratory under this subsection and require that the

laboratory report testing results in a manner as the department

shall determine, including requiring a test at harvest and a

test at final processing. The possession by a laboratory of

medical marijuana shall be a lawful use.

(b) Stability testing.--A laboratory shall perform stability

testing to ensure the medical marijuana product's potency and

purity. A grower/processor shall retain a sample from each
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medical marijuana product derived from a harvest batch and

request that a sample be identified and collected by a

laboratory approved under subsection (a) from each process lot

to perform stability testing under the following conditions:

(1) The medical marijuana product is still in inventory

at a dispensary in this Commonwealth as determined by the

seed-to-sale system.

(2) The stability testing is done at six-month intervals

for the duration of the expiration date period as listed on

the medical marijuana product and once within six months of

the expiration date.

§ 9355. Prices.

The department and the Department of Revenue shall monitor

the price of medical marijuana sold by grower/processors and by

dispensaries, including a per-dose price. If the department and

the Department of Revenue determine that the prices are

unreasonable or excessive, the department may implement a cap on

the price of medical marijuana being sold for a period of six

months. The cap may be amended during the six-month period. If

the department and the Department of Revenue determine that the

prices become unreasonable or excessive following the expiration

of a six-month cap, additional caps may be imposed for periods

not to exceed six months.

SUBCHAPTER G

DISPENSARIES

Sec.

9361. Dispensing to patients and caregivers.

9362. Facility requirements.
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9363. Posting.

§ 9361. Dispensing to patients and caregivers.

(a) General rule.--A dispensary that has been issued a

permit under Subchapter E (relating to medical marijuana

organizations) may lawfully dispense medical marijuana to a

patient or caregiver upon presentation to the dispensary of a

valid identification card for that patient or caregiver. The

dispensary shall provide to the patient or caregiver a receipt,

as appropriate. The receipt shall include all of the following:

(1) The name, address and any identification number

assigned to the dispensary by the department.

(2) The name and address of the patient and caregiver.

(3) The date the medical marijuana was dispensed.

(4) Any requirement or limitation by the practitioner as

to the form of medical marijuana for the patient.

(5) The form and the quantity of medical marijuana
dispensed.
(b) Filing with department.--Prior to dispensing medical

marijuana to a patient or caregiver, the dispensary shall file

the receipt information with the department utilizing the

electronic tracking system. When filing receipts under this

subsection, the dispensary shall dispose of any electronically

recorded certification information as provided by regulation.

(c) Limitations.--No dispensary may dispense to a patient or

caregiver:

(1) a quantity of medical marijuana greater than that

which the patient or caregiver is permitted to possess under

the certification; or
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(2) a form of medical marijuana prohibited by this

chapter.

(d) Supply.--When dispensing medical marijuana to a patient

or caregiver, the dispensary may not dispense an amount greater

than a 90-day supply until the patient has exhausted all but a

seven-day supply provided pursuant to a previously issued

certification until additional certification is presented under

section 9325 (relating to duration).

(e) Verification.--Prior to dispensing medical marijuana to

a patient or caregiver, the dispensary shall verify the

information in subsections (d) and (f) by consulting the

electronic tracking system included in the department's

electronic database established under section 9311 (a) (4) (v) and

the dispensary tracking system under section 9351 (a) (2)

(relating to electronic tracking).

(f) Form of medical marijuana.--Medical marijuana dispensed

to a patient or caregiver by a dispensary shall conform to any

requirement or limitation set by the practitioner as to the form

of medical marijuana for the patient.

(g) Safety insert.--When a dispensary dispenses medical

marijuana to a patient or caregiver, the dispensary shall

provide to that patient or caregiver, as appropriate, a safety

insert. The insert shall be developed and approved by the

department. The insert shall provide the following information:

(1) Lawful methods for administering medical marijuana

in individual doses.

(2) Any potential dangers stemming from the use of

medical marijuana.
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(3) How to recognize what may be problematic usage of

medical marijuana and how to obtain appropriate services or

treatment for problematic usage.

(4) How to prevent or deter the misuse of medical

marijuana by minors or others.

(5) Any other information as determined by the

department.

(h) Sealed and labeled package.--Medical marijuana shall be

dispensed by a dispensary to a patient or caregiver in a sealed

and properly labeled package. The labeling shall contain the

following:

(1) The information required to be included in the

receipt provided to the patient or caregiver, as appropriate,

by the dispensary.

(2) The packaging date.

(3) Any applicable date by which the medical marijuana

should be used.

(4) A warning stating:

This product is for medicinal use only. Women should

not consume during pregnancy or while breastfeeding

except on the advice of the practitioner who issued

the certification and, in the case of breastfeeding,

the infant's pediatrician. This product might impair

the ability to drive or operate heavy machinery. Keep

out of reach of children.

(5) The amount of individual doses contained within the

package and the species and percentage of

tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabidiol.
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(6) A warning that the medical marijuana must be kept in

the original container in which it was dispensed.

(7) A warning that unauthorized use is unlawful and will

subject the person to criminal penalties.

(8) Any other information required by the department.

§ 9362. Facility requirements.

(a) General rule.--

(1) A dispensary may dispense medical marijuana in an

indoor, enclosed, secure facility located within this

Commonwealth or in accordance with a curbside delivery

protocol as determined by the department.

(2) For the purposes of paragraph (1), a dispensary

shall maintain continuous video surveillance. The dispensary

is required to retain the recordings onsite or offsite for a

period of no less than 180 days, unless otherwise required

for investigative or litigation purposes.

(3) A dispensary may not operate on the same site as a

facility used for growing and processing medical marijuana.

(4) A dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of

the property line of a public, private or parochial school or

a day-care center or 1,500 feet of the property line of

another dispensing organization.

(5) A dispensary may sell medical devices and

instruments which are needed to administer medical marijuana

under this chapter.

(6) A dispensary may sell services approved by the

department related to the use of medical marijuana.

(b) Adjustment or waiver of prohibition.--The department may
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amend a prohibition under subsection (a) (4) if it is shown by

clear and convincing evidence that the amendment is necessary to

provide adequate access to patients. An amendment may include

additional security, physical plant of a facility or other

conditions necessary to protect children.

§ 9363. Posting.

A dispensary shall post a copy of its permit in a location

within its facility in a manner that is easily observable by

patients, caregivers, law enforcement officers and agents of the

department.
SUBCHAPTER H
ADMINISTRATION
Sec.
9371. Governing practice and procedure.
9372. Reports by medical marijuana organizations.
9373. Law enforcement notification.
9374. Evaluation.
9375. Report.
9376. (Reserved) .
9377. Temporary regulations.
§ 9371. Governing practice and procedure.
The provisions of 2 Pa.C.S. (relating to administrative law

and procedure) shall apply to all actions of the department

under this chapter constituting an adjudication as defined in 2
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Pa.C.S. § 101 (relating to definitions).

§ 9372. Reports by medical marijuana organizations.

A medical marijuana organization shall periodically file

reports related to its activities. The department shall

determine the information required in and the frequency of

filing the reports.

§ 9373. Law enforcement notification.

Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter or any other

law to the contrary, the department may notify any appropriate

law enforcement agency of information relating to any violation

or suspected violation of this chapter. In addition, the

department shall verify to law enforcement personnel in an

appropriate case whether a certification, permit, registration

or an identification card is valid, including release of the

name of the patient.

§ 9374. Evaluation.

The department may provide for an analysis and evaluation of

the implementation and effectiveness of this chapter, including

whether the intent and stated policy of the General Assembly

have been achieved. The department may enter into agreements

with one or more persons for the performance of an evaluation of

the implementation and effectiveness of this chapter.

§ 9375. Report.

(a) Report required.--The department shall submit a written

report under subsection (b) every two years beginning April 17,

2018, to the following:

(1) The Governor.

(2) The President pro tempore of the Senate.
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(3) The Majority Leader and the Minority Leader of the

Senate.

(4) The Speaker of the House of Representatives.

(5) The Majority Leader and the Minority Leader of the

House of Representatives.

(6) The chairperson and minority chairperson of the

Judiciary Committee of the Senate.

(7) The chairman and minority chairman of the Health and

Human Services Committee of the Senate.

(8) The chairman and minority chairman of the Judiciary

Committee of the House of Representatives.

(9) The chairman and minority chairman of the Health

Committee of the House of Representatives.

(10) The Attorney General of the Commonwealth.

(b) Contents of report.--The following information shall be

included in the report:

(1) An assessment of the use of medical marijuana as a

result of the enactment of this chapter.

(2) An assessment of the benefits and risks to patients

using medical marijuana under this chapter, including adverse

events.

(3) Recommendations for amendments to this chapter for

reasons of patient safety or to aid the general welfare of

the citizens of this Commonwealth.

S 9376. (Reserved) .

§ 9377. Temporary regulations.

(a) Promulgation.--In order to facilitate the prompt

implementation of this chapter, the department may promulgate
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temporary regulations that shall expire not later than two years

following the publication of the temporary regulation. The

department may promulgate temporary regulations not subject to:

(1) Sections 201, 202, 203, 204 and 205 of the act of

July 31, 1968 (P.L.769, No.240), referred to as the

Commonwealth Documents Law.

(2) Sections 204 (b) and 301(10) of the act of October

15, 1980 (P.L.950, No.lo4d), known as the Commonwealth

Attorneys Act.

(3) The act of June 25, 1982 (P.L.633, No.181l), known as

the Regulatory Review Act.

(b) Expiration.--Notwithstanding any other provision of law,

the department's authority to adopt temporary regulations under

subsection (a) shall expire May 31, 2022. Regulations adopted

after this period shall be promulgated as provided by law.

(c) Publication.--The department shall transmit notice of

temporary regulations to the Legislative Reference Bureau for

publication in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania

Bulletin no later than October 17, 2016.

SUBCHAPTER I

MEDICAL MARIJUANA ADVISORY BOARD

Sec.

9381. Advisory board.

9382. Effectuating recommendations of advisory board.

§ 9381. Advisory board.

(a) Establishment.--The Medical Marijuana Advisory Board is

established within the department. The advisory board shall

consist of the following members:
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(1) The secretary or a designee.

(2) The Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police or

a designee.

(3) The chairman of the State Board of Pharmacy or a
designee.
(4) The Commissioner of Professional and Occupational

Affairs or a designee.

(5) The Physician General or a designee.

(6) The president of the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police

Association or a designee.

(7) The president of the Pennsylvania District Attorneys

Association or a designee.

(8) One member to be appointed by each of the following,

which members shall be knowledgeable and experienced in

issues relating to care and treatment of individuals with a

serious medical condition, geriatric or pediatric medicine or

clinical research:

(1) The Governor.
(11) The President pro tempore of the Senate.
(iii) The Majority Leader of the Senate.

(iv) The Minority Leader of the Senate.

(v) The Speaker of the House of Representatives.

(vi) The Majority Leader of the House of

Representatives.

(vii) The Minority Leader of the House of

Representatives.

(9) One member appointed by the Governor, who shall be a

patient, a family or household member of a patient or a
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patient advocate.

(b) Terms.--Except as provided under subsection (g), the

members appointed under subsection (a) (8) and (9) shall serve a

term of four years or until a successor has been appointed and

qualified, but no longer than six months beyond the four-year

period.

(c) Chair.--The secretary, or a designee, shall serve as

chair of the advisory board.

(d) Voting and quorum.--The members under subsection (a) (1),

(2)y, (3), ((4), (5), (6) and (7) shall serve ex officio and shall

have voting rights. A majority of the members shall constitute a

quorum for the purpose of organizing the advisory board,

conducting its business and fulfilling its duties. A vote of the

majority of the members present shall be sufficient for all

actions of the advisory board unless the bylaws require a

greater number.

(e) Attendance.--A member of the advisory board appointed

under subsection (a) (8) or (9) who fails to attend three

consecutive meetings shall forfeit his seat unless the

secretary, upon written request from the member, finds that the

member should be excused from a meeting for good cause. A member

who cannot be physically present may attend meetings via

electronic means, including video conference.

(f) Governance.--The advisory board shall have the power to

prescribe, amend and repeal bylaws, rules and regulations

governing the manner in which the business of the advisory board

is conducted and the manner in which the duties granted to it

are fulfilled. The advisory board may delegate supervision of
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the administration of advisory board activities to an

administrative secretary and other employees of the department

as the secretary shall appoint.

(g) Initial terms.--The initial terms of members appointed

under subsection (a) (8) and (9) shall be for terms of one, two,

three or four years, the particular term of each member to be

designated by the secretary at the time of appointment. All

other members shall serve for a term of four years.

(h) Vacancy.--In the event that any member appointed under

subsection (a) (8) or (9) shall die or resign or otherwise become

disqualified during the member's term of office, a successor

shall be appointed in the same way and with the same

qualifications as set forth in this section and shall hold

office for the unexpired term. An appointed member of the

advisory board shall be eligible for reappointment.

(i) Expenses.--A member appointed under subsection (a) (8) or

(9) shall receive the amount of reasonable travel, hotel and

other necessary expenses incurred in the performance of the

duties of the member in accordance with Commonwealth

regulations, but shall receive no other compensation for the

member's service on the board.

(j) Duties.--The advisory board shall have the following

duties:

(1) To examine and analyze the statutory and regulatory

law relating to medical marijuana within this Commonwealth.

(2) To examine and analyze the law and events in other

states and the nation with respect to medical marijuana.

(3) To accept and review written comments from
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individuals and organizations about medical marijuana.

(4) To issue written reports to the Governor, the Senate

and the House of Representatives.

(5) The written reports under paragraph (4) shall

include recommendations and findings as to the following:

(i) Whether to change the types of medical

professionals who can issue certifications to patients.

(ii) Whether to change, add or reduce the types of

medical conditions which qualify as serious medical

conditions under this chapter.

(iii) Whether to change the form of medical

marijuana permitted under this chapter.

(1v) (Reserved) .

(v) How to ensure affordable patient access to

medical marijuana.

(6) The written reports under this section shall be

adopted at a public meeting. The reports shall be a public

record under the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3),

known as the Right-to-Know Law.

§ 9382. Effectuating recommendations of advisory board.

After receiving a report of the advisory board under section

9381 (j) (4) (relating to advisory board), at the discretion of

the secretary, the department may effectuate recommendations

made by the advisory board by transmitting a notice to the

Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the next

available issue of the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The secretary

shall transmit notice to the Legislative Reference Bureau for

publication in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania
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Bulletin within 12 months of the receipt of a report of the

advisory board. The notice shall include the recommendations of

the advisory board and shall state the specific reasons for the

decision of the secretary on whether or not to effectuate each

recommendation.

SUBCHAPTER J

OFFENSES RELATED TO MEDICAL MARIJUANA

Sec.

9391.1. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana by

practitioners.

9391.2. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana.

9391.3. Criminal retention of medical marijuana.

9391.4. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana by patient or

caregiver.

9391.5. Falsification of identification cards.

9391.6. Adulteration of medical marijuana.

9391.7. Disclosure of information prohibited.

9391.8. Additional penalties.

9391.9. Other restrictions.

§ 9391.1. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana by

practitioners.

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a

practitioner commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if the

practitioner intentionally, knowingly or recklessly certifies a

person as being able to lawfully receive medical marijuana or

otherwise provides medical marijuana to a person who is not

lawfully permitted to receive medical marijuana.

§ 9391.2. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana.
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In addition to any other penalty provided by law, an

employee, financial backer, operator or principal of any of the

following commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if the

person intentionally, knowingly or recklessly sells, dispenses,

trades, delivers or otherwise provides medical marijuana to a

person who is not lawfully permitted to receive medical

marijuana:

(1) A medical marijuana organization.

(2) A clinical registrant or academic clinical research

center under Subchapter K (relating to academic clinical

research centers and clinical registrants).

(3) A laboratory utilized to test medical marijuana

under section 9354 (relating to laboratory).

§ 9391.3. Criminal retention of medical marijuana.

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a patient

or caregiver commits a misdemeanor of the third degree if the

patient or caregiver intentionally, knowingly or recklessly

possesses, stores or maintains an amount of medical marijuana in

excess of the amount legally permitted.

§ 9391.4. Criminal diversion of medical marijuana by patient or

caregiver.

(a) Offense defined.--In addition to any other penalty

provided by law, a patient or caregiver commits an offense if

the patient or caregiver intentionally, knowingly or recklessly

provides medical marijuana to a person who is not lawfully

permitted to receive medical marijuana.

(b) Grading.--A first offense under this section constitutes

a misdemeanor of the second degree. A second or subsequent




193

offense constitutes a misdemeanor of the first degree.

§ 9391.5. Falsification of identification cards.

(a) Offense defined.--In addition to any other penalty

provided by law, a person commits an offense if, knowing he is

not privileged to hold an identification card, the person:

(1) possesses an identification card and either attempts

to use the card to obtain medical marijuana or obtains

medical marijuana;

(2) possesses an identification card which falsely

identifies the person as being lawfully entitled to receive

medical marijuana and either attempts to use the card to

obtain medical marijuana or obtains medical marijuana; or

(3) possesses an identification card which contains any

false information on the card and the person either attempts

to use the card to obtain medical marijuana or obtains

medical marijuana.

(b) Grading.--A first offense under this section constitutes

a misdemeanor of the second degree. A second or subsequent

offense under this section constitutes a misdemeanor of the

first degree.

§ 9391.6. Adulteration of medical marijuana.

(a) General rule.--In addition to any other penalty provided

by law, a person commits an offense if the person adulterates,

fortifies, contaminates or changes the character or purity of

medical marijuana from that set forth on the patient's or

caregiver's identification card.

(b) Grading.--A first offense under this section constitutes

a misdemeanor of the second degree. A second or subsequent
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offense under this section constitutes a misdemeanor of the

first degree.

§ 9391.7. Disclosure of information prohibited.

(a) Offense defined.--In addition to any other penalty

provided by law, an employee, financial backer, operator or

principal of any of the following commits a misdemeanor of the

third degree if the person discloses, except to authorized

persons for official governmental or health care purposes, any

information related to the use of medical marijuana:

(1) A medical marijuana organization.

(2) A clinical registrant or academic clinical research

center under Subchapter K (relating to academic clinical

research centers and clinical registrants).

(3) An employee or contractor of the department.

(b) Exception.--Subsection (a) shall not apply where

disclosure is permitted or required by law or by court order.

The department, including an authorized employee, requesting or

obtaining information under this chapter shall not be subject to

any criminal liability. The immunity provided by this subsection

shall not apply to any employee of the department who knowingly

and willfully discloses prohibited information under this

chapter.

§ 9391.8. Additional penalties.

(a) Criminal penalties.--In addition to any other penalty

provided by law, a practitioner, caregiver, patient, employee,

financial backer, operator or principal of any medical marijuana

organization, and an employee, financial backer, operator or

principal of a clinical registrant or academic clinical research
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center under Subchapter K (relating to academic clinical

research centers and clinical registrants), who violates any of

the provisions of this chapter, other than those specified in

section 9393.1 (relating to criminal diversion of medical

marijuana by practitioners), 9393.2 (relating to criminal

diversion of medical marijuana), 9393.3 (relating to criminal

retention of medical marijuana), 9393.4 (relating to criminal

diversion of medical marijuana by patient or caregiver), 9393.5

(relating to falsification of identification cards), 9393.6

(relating to adulteration of medical marijuana) or 9393.7

(relating to disclosure of information prohibited), or any

regulation promulgated under this chapter:

(1) For a first offense, commits a misdemeanor of the

third degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay

a fine of not more than $5,000 or to imprisonment for not

more than six months.

(2) For a second or subsequent offense, commits a

misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, upon conviction,

be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $10,000 or to

imprisonment for not less than six months nor more than one

year, or both.

(b) Civil penalties.--In addition to any other remedy

available to the department, the department may assess a civil

penalty for a violation of this chapter, a regulation

promulgated under this chapter or an order issued under this

chapter or regulation as provided in this subsection. The

following shall apply:

(1) The department may assess a penalty of not more than
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$10,000 for each violation and an additional penalty of not

more than $1,000 for each day of a continuing violation. In

determining the amount of each penalty, the department shall

take the following factors into consideration:

(i) The gravity of the violation.

(11) The potential harm resulting from the violation

to patients, caregivers or the general public.

(1ii) The willfulness of the violation.

(iv) Previous violations, if any, by the person

being assessed.

(v) The economic benefit to the person being

assessed for failing to comply with the requirements of

this chapter, a regulation promulgated under this chapter

or an order issued under this chapter or regulation.

(2) If the department finds that the violation did not

threaten the safety or health of a patient, caregiver or the

general public and the violator took immediate action to

remedy the violation upon learning of it, the department may

issue a written warning in lieu of assessing a civil penalty.

(3) A person who aids, abets, counsels, induces,

procures or causes another person to violate this chapter, a

regulation promulgated under this chapter or an order issued

under this chapter or regulation shall be subject to the

civil penalties provided under this subsection.

(c) Sanctions.--

(1) In addition to the penalties provided in subsection

(b) and any other penalty authorized by law, the department

may impose the following sanctions:
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(i) Revoke or suspend the permit of a person found

to be in violation of this chapter, a regulation

promulgated under this chapter or an order issued under

this chapter or regulation.

(ii) Revoke or suspend the permit of a person for

conduct or activity or the occurrence of an event that

would have disqualified the person from receiving the

permit.

(iii) Revoke or suspend the registration of a

practitioner for a violation of this chapter or a

regulation promulgated or an order issued under this

chapter or for conduct or activity which would have

disqualified the practitioner from receiving a

registration.

(iv) Suspend a permit or registration of a person

pending the outcome of a hearing in a case in which the

permit or registration could be revoked.

(v) Order restitution of funds or property

unlawfully obtained or retained by a permittee or

registrant.
(vi) Issue a cease and desist order.
(2) A person who aids, abets, counsels, induces,

procures or causes another person to violate this chapter

shall be subject to the sanctions provided under this

subsection.

(d) Costs of action.--The department may assess against a

person determined to be in violation of this chapter the costs

of investigation of the wviolation.
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(e) Minor violations.--Nothing in this section shall be

construed to require the assessment of a civil penalty or the

imposition of a sanction for a minor violation of this chapter

if the department determines that the public interest will be

adequately served under the circumstances by the issuance of a

written warning.

§ 9391.9. Other restrictions.

Nothing in this chapter may be construed to permit any person

to engage in or prevent the imposition of any civil, criminal or

other penalty for the following:

(1) Undertaking any task under the influence of medical

marijuana when doing so would constitute negligence,

professional malpractice or professional misconduct.

(2) Possessing or using medical marijuana in a State or

county correctional facility, including a facility owned or

operated or under contract with the Department of Corrections

or the county which houses inmates serving a portion of their

sentences on parole or other community correction program.

Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to apply to

employees of the facilities set forth in this paragraph. The

Department of Corrections shall adopt a written policy no

later than October 17, 2017, regarding the possession and use

of medical marijuana by employees in State correctional

facilities. The governing authority of a county may adopt a

resolution no later than October 17, 2017, regarding the

possession and use of medical marijuana by employees in a

county correctional facility.

(3) Possessing or using medical marijuana in a youth
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detention center or other facility which houses children

adjudicated delinquent, including the separate, secure State-

owned facility or unit utilized for sexually violent

delinquent children under 42 Pa.C.S. § 6404 (relating to

duration of inpatient commitment and review). As used in this

paragraph, the term "sexually violent delinquent children"

shall have the meaning given to it in 42 Pa.C.S. § 6402

(relating to definitions). Nothing in this paragraph shall be

construed to apply to employees of the facilities set forth

in this paragraph.

SUBCHAPTER K

ACADEMIC CLINICAL RESEARCH CENTERS

AND CLINICAL REGISTRANTS

Sec.
9393.1. Legislative findings and declaration of policy.
9393.2. Definitions.
9393.3. Academic clinical research centers.
9393.4. Clinical registrants.
9393.5. Research study.
9393.6. Research initiative.
9393.7. Temporary regulations.
§ 9393.1. Legislative findings and declaration of policy.
(a) Legislative findings.--It is determined and declared as

a matter of legislative finding:

(1) Patients suffering from serious medical conditions

deserve the benefit of research conducted in conjunction with

the Commonwealth's medical schools to determine whether

medical marijuana will improve their conditions or symptoms.
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(2) The Commonwealth has an interest in creating a

mechanism whereby this Commonwealth's medical schools and

hospitals can help develop research programs and studies in

compliance with applicable law.

(b) Declaration of policy.--The General Assembly declares as

follows:

(1) It is the intention of the General Assembly to

create a mechanism whereby this Commonwealth's medical

schools and hospitals may provide advice to grower/processors

and dispensaries in the areas of patient health and safety,

medical applications and dispensing and management of

controlled substances, among other areas. It is the further

intention of the General Assembly to create a mechanism

whereby the Commonwealth may encourage research associated

with medical marijuana.

(2) It is the policy of the Commonwealth to allow, in

addition to the 25 grower/processors and 50 dispensaries

initially authorized under section 9349.7 (relating to

limitations on permits), the operation of additional

grower/processors and dispensaries which will be approved by

the department as clinical registrants. A clinical registrant

is a grower/processor and a dispensary which has a

contractual relationship with a medical school that operates

or partners with a hospital to provide advice about medical

marijuana so that patient safety may be enhanced.

§ 9393.2. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the
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context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Academic clinical research center." An accredited medical

school within this Commonwealth that operates or partners with

an acute care hospital licensed within this Commonwealth that

has been approved and certified by the department to enter into

a contract with a clinical registrant.

"Clinical registrant." An entity that:

(1) is approved by the department as a clinical
registrant;

(2) has a contractual relationship with an academic

clinical research center under which the academic clinical

research center or its affiliate provides advice to the

entity, regarding, among other areas, patient health and

safety, medical applications and dispensing and management of

controlled substances; and

(3) dis approved by the department to hold a permit as

both a grower/processor and a dispensary.

§ 9399.23. Academic clinical research centers.

(a) General rule.--An academic clinical research center must

be approved and certified by the department before the academic

clinical research center may contract with a clinical

registrant. An academic clinical research center shall only

contract with one clinical registrant. The accredited medical

school that is seeking approval and certification from the

department as an academic clinical research center must provide

all information required by the department, including

information for the individual who will be the primary contact

for the academic clinical research center during the
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department's review of the application. The accredited medical

school must also provide all information required by the

department for any licensed acute care hospital that the

accredited medical school will operate or partner with during

the time that it may be approved and certified as an academic

clinical research center by the department.

(b) Posting and publication of list.--The department shall

post a list containing the name and address of each certified

academic clinical research center on the department's publicly

accessible Internet website and transmit notice to the

Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the next

available issue of the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

§ 9393.4. Clinical registrants.

(a) Approval.--The department may approve up to 10 clinical

registrants. Each clinical registrant may provide medical

marijuana at not more than six separate locations. The total

number of locations authorized to dispense medical marijuana

under this section shall not exceed 60. The grower/processor and

dispensary permits issued to clinical registrants approved under

this section shall be in addition to the 25 grower/processor and

50 dispensary permits issued by the department in accordance

with section 9349.7(1) and (2) (relating to limitations on

permits). The limitations relating to number and location in

sections 9349.7(1) and (2) and 9343 (e) (relating to granting of

permit) do not apply. A clinical registrant may not hold more

than one grower/processor and one dispensary permit. Once the

department approves an entity as a clinical registrant, the

entity shall comply with this subchapter. The following shall
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apply:
(1) The department shall:

(i) Open applications for the approval of up to two

additional academic clinical research centers and issue

approvals to qualified academic clinical research centers

by July 16, 2016.

(ii) Open applications for the approval of up to two

additional clinical registrants by August 15, 2016, and

issue permits to qualified clinical registrants within

180 days from the date when applications are posted.

(2) If the statutory maximum number of approved academic

clinical research centers or approved clinical registrants

are not approved under paragraph (1), the department shall

reopen the application process for the approval of academic

clinical research centers and clinical registrants.

(b) Requirements.--The following shall apply to clinical

registrants:

(1) An entity seeking approval as a clinical registrant

shall submit an application to the department in such form

and manner as the department prescribes. The department shall

ensure that the applicant meets the requirements of this

chapter before approving the application to become a clinical

registrant.

(2) An entity may be issued a permit as a

grower/processor or dispensary before seeking approval as a

clinical registrant. An entity may also apply for a permit as

a grower/processor or a dispensary at the same time the

entity seeks approval from the department as a clinical
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registrant.

(3) An entity seeking approval as a clinical registrant

that does not already hold a permit as a grower/processor Or

a dispensary shall submit the applications required under

Subchapter E (relating to medical marijuana organizations).

In reviewing an application, the department shall ensure that

the entity meets all of the requirements for the issuance of

a grower/processor permit or a dispensary permit, as

applicable.

(4) When the department issues a permit as a

grower/processor or a dispensary to an entity seeking

approval as a clinical registrant, the issuance shall not be

construed to reduce the number of permits for

growers/processors and dispensaries authorized under section

9349.7(1) and (2).

(i) The department shall not approve an applicant

for a grower/processor permit if the applicant has

previously had a contractual relationship with an

academic clinical research center whereby the academic

clinical research center or its affiliate provided advice

to the applicant regarding, among other areas, patient

health and safety, medical applications and dispensing

and management of controlled substances and the applicant

subsequently sold or assigned for profit to another

entity their responsibility under the contractual

relationship.

(11) (Reserved) .

(5) Except as provided in section 9347 (1) (vi) and (2)
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(relating to fees and other requirements), an entity seeking

approval as a clinical registrant must pay the fees and meet

all other requirements under this chapter for obtaining a

permit as a grower/processor and a dispensary. Upon approval

of the department, a clinical registrant shall be issued a

grower/processor permit and a dispensary permit and shall be

a medical marijuana organization. As a medical marijuana

organization, a clinical registrant must comply with all the

provisions of this chapter relating to medical marijuana

organizations except as otherwise provided in this

subchapter.

(6) The clinical registrant must have a minimum of

$15,000,000 in capital. The department shall verify the

capital requirement.

(7) The clinical registrant shall have all of the same

rights as a grower/processor permittee and must comply with

all other requirements of this chapter regarding growing,

processing and dispensing medical marijuana.

(8) A grower/processor facility owned by a clinical

registrant may sell its medical marijuana products to all

dispensary facilities. The facility may sell seeds, medical

marijuana plants and medical marijuana products to, or

exchange seeds, medical marijuana plants and medical

marijuana products with, any other grower/processor facility

holding a permit under Subchapter E or this subchapter.

(9) A clinical registrant may petition the department,

on a form prescribed by the department, for approval to sell

certain of the medical marijuana products grown and processed
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by its grower/processor facility to other medical marijuana

organizations holding dispensary permits under Subchapter E.

The petition must be accompanied by a written report of the

clinical registrant's research findings with respect to the

medical marijuana products which are the subject of the

petition. The department shall approve the petition if it has

been demonstrated that the medical marijuana products have a

practical effect on patients which changes a recommendation

within the medical field as indicated in the report submitted

by the clinical registrant.

(10) A dispensary owned by a clinical registrant may

dispense medical marijuana products to a patient or caregiver

who presents a valid identification card to an employee who

is authorized to dispense medical marijuana products at a

dispensary location operated by the clinical registrant,

regardless of whether the patient is a participant in a

research study or program.

§ 9393.5. Research study.

(a) Applicability.--The provisions of this section shall

apply upon publication of the notice under section 9399.38

(relating to notice).

(b) Procedures.--The department may, upon application,

approve the dispensing of medical marijuana by a clinical

registrant to the academic clinical research center for the

purpose of conducting a research study. The department shall

develop the application and standards for approval of such

dispensing by the clinical registrant. The following apply to

the research study:
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(1) The clinical registrant shall disclose the following

information to the department in its application:

(i) The reason for the research project, including

the reason for the trial.

(ii) The strain and strength of medical marijuana to

be used in the research study.

(iii) The anticipated duration of the study.

(iv) FEvidence of approval of the trial by an

accredited institutional review board and any other

required regulatory approvals.

(v) Other information required by the department,

except that the department may not require disclosure of

any information that would infringe upon the academic

clinical research center's exclusive right to

intellectual property or legal obligations for patient

confidentiality.

(2) The academic clinical research center shall provide

its findings to the department within 365 days of the

conclusion of the research study or within 365 days of

publication of the results of the research study in a peer-

reviewed medical journal, whichever is later.

(3) The department shall allow the exchange of medical

marijuana seed between clinical registrants for the conduct

of research.

§ 9393.6. Research initiative.

(a) Authority.--An academic clinical research center, in

coordination with its contracted clinical registrant, may

conduct a research initiative on the antimicrobial effects of
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applying solvent-based extraction methods and processes to

microbial contamination of immature medical marijuana plants,

medical marijuana plants, medical marijuana or medical marijuana

products.

(b) Procedure.--An academic clinical research center shall

submit to the department for approval a completed written

research protocol of the planned research initiative. The

department shall grant approval or denial of the protocol within

15 days of its submissions. The following apply:

(1) The research initiative shall commence no later than

30 days from the date the department issues approval and

shall be completed no later than six months from the start

date of the research initiative.

(2) Research initiative findings shall be provided to

the department by the academic clinical research center

within 15 days of the research initiative's conclusion.

(3) An academic clinical research center and its

contracted clinical registrant shall present research

initiative findings to the advisory board and the board's

research subcommittee for the board's review and

consideration under sections 9391 (relating to advisory

board) and 9392 (relating to effectuating recommendations of

advisory board). The board shall issue a written report, with

recommendations and findings regarding the use of solvent-

based extraction methods and processes on microbial

contamination by a clinical registrant or grower/processor.

The secretary may approve the board's recommendation in

accordance with section 9392.
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(4) Prior to implementing a recommendation of the board

under paragraph (3), as approved by the secretary, a clinical

registrant or grower/processor shall seek approval from the

department for a change in its grower/processor extraction

process. The department shall inspect the site and facility

equipment. Upon approval, the department shall issue a notice

of final approval to implement the process.

§ 9393.7. Temporary regulations.

(a) Promulgation.--In order to facilitate the prompt

implementation of this subchapter, the department shall

promulgate temporary regulations that shall expire not later

than two years following the publication of the temporary

regulations. The temporary regulations shall not be subject to:

(1) Sections 201, 202, 203, 204 and 205 of the act of

July 31, 1968 (P.L.769, No.240), referred to as the

Commonwealth Documents Law.

(2) Sections 204 (b) and 301(10) of the act of October

15, 1980 (P.L.950, No.lo4), known as the Commonwealth

Attorneys Act.

(3) The act of June 25, 1982 (P.L.633, No.181l), known as

the Regulatory Review Act.

(b) Expiration.--The department's authority to adopt

temporary regulations under subsection (a) shall expire October

17, 2016. Regulations adopted after this period shall be

promulgated as provided by law.

(c) Publication.--The department shall transmit notice of

temporary regulations to the Legislative Reference Bureau for

publication in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania
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Bulletin no later than July 16, 2016.

SUBCHAPTER L

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Sec.

9399.1. Conflict.

9399.2. Financial and employment interests.

9399.3. Insurers.

9399.4. Protections for patients and caregivers.

9399.5. Schools.

9399.6. Day-care centers.

9399.7. Zoning.

9399.8. Notice.

9399.9. Applicability.

9399.10. Lawful interstate transport of industrial hemp, hemp,

and hemp materials.

§ 9399.1. Conflict.

The growth, processing, manufacture, acquisition,

transportation, sale, dispensing, distribution, possession and

consumption of medical marijuana permitted under this chapter

shall not be deemed to be a violation of the act of April 14,

1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled Substance, Drug,

Device and Cosmetic Act. If a provision of the Controlled

Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act relating to marijuana

conflicts with a provision of this chapter, this chapter shall

take precedence.

§ 9399.2. Financial and employment interests.

(a) Financial interests.--Except as may be provided for the

judiciary by rule or order of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, an
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executive-level public employee, public official or party

officer, or an immediate family member thereof, shall not

intentionally or knowingly hold a financial interest in a

medical marijuana organization or in a holding company,

affiliate, intermediary or subsidiary thereof, while the

individual is an executive-level public employee, public

official or party officer and for one year following termination

of the individual's status as an executive-level public

employee, public official or party officer.

(b) Employment.--Except as may be provided by rule or order

of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, no executive-level public

employee, public official or party officer, or an immediate

family member thereof, shall be employed by a medical marijuana

organization or by any holding company, affiliate, intermediary

or subsidiary thereof, while the individual is an executive-

level public employee, public official or party officer and for

one year following termination of the individual's status as an

executive-level public employee, public official or party

officer.

(c) Grading.--An individual who violates this section

commits a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced

to pay a fine of not more than $1,000 or to imprisonment for not

more than one year, or both.

(d) State Ethics Commission.—--The State Ethics Commission

shall do all of the following:

(1) 1Issue a written determination of whether a person is

subject to subsection (a) or (b) upon the written request of

the person or any other person that may have liability for an
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action taken with respect to such person. A person that

relies in good faith on a determination made under this

paragraph shall not be subject to any penalty for an action

taken, provided that all material facts set forth in the

request for the determination are correct.

(2) Publish a list of all State, county, municipal and

other government positions that meet the definitions of

"public official" or "executive-level public employee" as

defined under 4 Pa.C.S. § 1512 (b) (relating to financial and

employment interests). The Office of Administration shall

assist the State Ethics Commission in the development of the

list, which shall be transmitted by the State Ethics

Commission to the Legislative Reference Bureau for

publication in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania

Bulletin biennially and posted by the department on the

department's Internet website. Upon request, each public

official shall have a duty to provide the State Ethics

Commission with adequate information to accurately develop

and maintain the list. The State Ethics Commission may impose

a civil penalty under 65 Pa.C.S. § 1109(f) (relating to

penalties) upon any individual, including any public official

or executive-level public employee, who fails to cooperate

with the State Ethics Commission under this subsection. A

person that relies in good faith on the list published by the

State Ethics Commission shall not be subject to any penalty

for a violation of this section.

(e) Definitions.--As used in this section, the following

words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this
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subsection:
"Financial interest." As defined in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1512 (b).
"Immediate family." As defined in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1512 (b).
"Party officer."” As defined in 4 Pa.C.S. § 1512 (b).
"Public official." The term shall include the following:
(1) The Governor, Lieutenant Governor, a member of the

Governor's cabinet, Treasurer, Auditor General and Attorney

General of the Commonwealth.

(2) A member of the Senate or House of Representatives

of the Commonwealth.

(3) An individual elected or appointed to any office of

a county or municipality that directly receives a

distribution of revenue from the fund.

(4) An individual elected or appointed to a department,

agency, board, commission, authority or other governmental

body not included in paragraph (1), (2) or (3) that directly

receives a distribution of revenue from the fund.

(5) An individual elected or appointed to a department,

agency, board, commission, authority, county, municipality or

other governmental body not included in paragraph (1), (2) or

(3) with discretionary power which may influence or affect

the outcome of an action or decision and who is involved in

the development of regulation or policy relating to a medical

marijuana organization or who is involved in other matters

under this chapter.

The term does not include a member of a school board or an

individual who held an uncompensated office with a governmental

body prior to January 1, 2017, and who no longer holds the
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office as of January 1, 2017.

§ 9399.3. Insurers.

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require an

insurer or a health plan, whether paid for by Commonwealth funds

or private funds, to provide coverage for medical marijuana.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no workers'

compensation carrier, self-insured employer or other insurer in

this Commonwealth may be required to provide coverage for or

otherwise reimburse the cost of medical marijuana.

§ 9399.4. Protections for patients and caregivers.

(a) Licensure.--None of the following shall be subject to

arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner, or denied any

right or privilege, including civil penalty or disciplinary

action by a Commonwealth licensing board or commission, solely

for lawful use of medical marijuana or manufacture or sale or

dispensing of medical marijuana, or for any other action taken

in accordance with this chapter:

(1) A patient.

(2) A caregiver.

(3) A practitioner.

(4) A medical marijuana organization.

(5) A clinical registrant or academic clinical research

center under Subchapter K (relating to academic clinical

research centers and clinical registrants).

(6) An employee, principal or financial backer of a

medical marijuana organization.

(7) An employee of a clinical registrant or an employee

of an academic clinical research center under Subchapter K.
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(b) Employment.--

(1) No employer may discharge, threaten, refuse to hire

or otherwise discriminate or retaliate against an employee

regarding an employee's compensation, terms, conditions,

location or privileges solely on the basis of such employee's

status as an individual who is certified to use medical

marijuana.

(2) Nothing in this chapter shall require an employer to

make any accommodation of the use of medical marijuana on the

property or premises of any place of employment. If an

employer makes an adverse employment decision against an

employee or job applicant under this chapter, the adverse

employment decision may not be challenged under any other

State or local law.

(3) Nothing in this chapter shall require an employer to

commit any act that would put the employer or any person

acting on its behalf in violation of Federal law.

(c) Custody determination.--The fact that an individual is

certified to use medical marijuana and acting in accordance with

this chapter shall not by itself be considered by a court in a

custody proceeding. In determining the best interest of a child

with respect to custody, the provisions of 23 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53

(relating to child custody) shall apply.

§ 9399.5. Schools.

The Department of Education shall promulgate regulations by

October 17, 2017, regarding the following:

(1) Possession and use of medical marijuana by a student

on the grounds of a preschool, primary school and a secondary
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school.

(2) Possession and use of medical marijuana by an

employee of a preschool, primary school and a secondary

school on the grounds of such school.

§ 9399.6. Day-care centers.

by

The Department of Human Services shall promulgate regulations

October 17, 2017, regarding the following:

(1) Possession and use of medical marijuana by a child

under the care of a child-care or social service center

licensed or operated by the Department of Human Services.

(2) Possession and use of medical marijuana by an

employee of a child-care or social service center licensed or

operated by the Department of Human Services.

(3) Possession and use of medical marijuana by employees

of a youth development center or other facility which houses

children adjudicated delinquent, including the separate,

secure State-owned facility or unit for sexually violent

delinquent children, as set forth in section 9393.9(3)

(relating to other restrictions).

§ 9399.7. Zoning.

The following apply:

(1) A grower/processor shall meet the same municipal

zoning and land use requirements as other manufacturing,

processing and production facilities that are located in the

same zoning district.

(2) A dispensary shall meet the same municipal zoning

and land use requirements as other commercial facilities that

are located in the same zoning district.
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§ 9399.8. Notice.

Upon amendment of the Controlled Substances Act (Public Law

91-513, 84 Stat. 1236) removing marijuana from Schedule I of the

Controlled Substances Act, the department shall transmit notice

of the effective date of the amendment to the Legislative

Reference Bureau for publication in the next available issue of

the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

§$ 9399.9. Applicability.

(a) (Reserved) .

(b) Issuance.--The issuance of permits and other

authorizations shall begin upon transmittance of notice by the

department to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication

in the next available issue of the Pennsylvania Bulletin that

adequate temporary or permanent regulations have been adopted to

initiate the program under this chapter.

§ 9399.10 Lawful transport of industrial hemp, hemp, and hemp
materials.

(a) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit or interfere with the

lawful transport of industrial hemp, hemp materials, or hemp

products as authorized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture,

the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and in compliance with

other federal law or rules, through the Commonwealth of Penn-

sylvania for delivery to an out-of-state destination.

(b) No person shall transport industrial hemp, hemp, or hemp

materials within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, unless

the person 1is duly authorized under state and federal law

and regulation to transport hemp, and possesses a hemp man-
ifest that shall include the following:

(1) The name and address of the owner of the hemp;

(11) The point of origin;

(iidi) The point of delivery, including name and address;
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(1v) The kind and quantity of packages or, if in bulk, the
total quantity of hemp in the shipment; and

(v) The date of shipment.

Section 4. Repeals are as follows:

(1) The General Assembly declares that the repeals under
paragraph (2) are necessary to effectuate the addition of 35
Pa.C.S. Ch. 93.

(2) The following acts and parts of acts are repealed to
the extent specified:

(i) Sections 4(1) (iv) and 13(a) (31) of the act of

April 14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled

Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act.

(ii) 18 Pa.C.S. § 7508 (a) (1) and (f).

(3) The General Assembly declares that the repeal under
paragraph (4) is necessary to effectuate the addition of 35
Pa.C.S. Ch. 93.

(4) The act of April 17, 2016 (P.L.84, No.1l6), known as
the Medical Marijuana Act, is repealed.

(5) All other acts and parts of acts are repealed
insofar as they are inconsistent with the addition of 35
Pa.C.S. Chs. 91 and 93.

Section 5. The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93 is a
continuation of the act of April 17, 2016 (P.L.84, No.1l6), known
as the Medical Marijuana Act. The following apply:

(1) Except as otherwise provided in 35 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93,
all activities initiated under the act of April 17, 2016

(P.L.84, No.1l6), known as the Medical Marijuana Act, shall
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continue and remain in full force and effect and may be
completed under 35 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93. Orders, regulations, rules
and decisions which were made under the Medical Marijuana Act
and which are in effect on the effective date of section 4 (4)
of this act shall remain in full force and effect until
revoked, vacated or modified under 35 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93.
Contracts, obligations and collective bargaining agreements
entered into under the Medical Marijuana Act are not affected
nor impaired by the repeal of the Medical Marijuana Act.

(2) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), any difference
in language between 35 Pa.C.S. Ch. 93 and the Medical
Marijuana Act is intended only to conform to the style of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes and is not intended to
change or affect the legislative intent, judicial
construction or administration and implementation of the
Medical Marijuana Act.

(3) Paragraph (2) does not apply to the following
provisions:

(1) The addition of the definitions of "board,"
"cannabis-infused edible product," "cannabis-infused
nonedible product," "chief medical officer," "executive
director," "serious medical condition," "safety-sensitive
position” and "under the influence" in 35 Pa.C.S. § 9303.

(ii) The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. § 9304.

(1ii) The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. § 9313(b) (2) and

(1v) The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. § 9314.

(v) The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. § 9399.33.
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(vi) The addition of 35 Pa.C.S. § 9399.34(b) (2),
(4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12) and (13).

Section 6. This act shall take effect immediately.



