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Good morning, Honorable Chairman Sturla, and honorable members of the Committee.
My name is Nancy Porambo. I am the current President of the PA Chapter, American
Massage Therapy Association. [ have been in private practice for 18 years as a
neuromuscular massage therapist/psychotherapist. I also have Master’s Degree in
Clinical Health Psychology.

With me today is Retta Flagg, Inmediate Past-President of the PA Chapter, American
Massage Therapy Association. Retta is also a neuromuscular massage therapist and has
been in practice for 22 years. Additionally, we have both been active in the pursuit of
licensure through the efforts of the PA Chapter of the American Massage Therapy
Association (AMTA) for the past 16 years.

As you may know, this is the third public hearing for massage therapy legislation we
have attended. In this testimony, we want to provide you with information pertaining to
the need for the regulation of massage. As illustrated by the map I have provided, there
are only 12 states that do not regulate Massage Therapy. That number is expected to
change to 11 with the addition of Colorado in the coming weeks. Please note, that
Pennsylvania is surrounded by licensed states who regulate massage. For this reason,
Pennsylvania has been the target for illicit and illegal massage activity. The Pocono,
Harrisburg, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh areas have been inundated with businesses that
claim to provide massage therapy but are, in fact, massage parlors.

The goal of licensure was to create language that establishes a reasonable scope of
practice for massage therapists and sets educational guidelines. The overriding principles
have been twofold; the first is to protect the professional integrity that the overwhelming
majority of massage therapists have worked diligently to secure; and the second is to
protect the public from unqualified therapists and errant practitioners that mask illicit
activity under the guise of massage therapy.

In the past two years, there has been ongoing dialogue with the physical therapists as well
as the need for numerous legal consultations regarding the intentions and scope of this
legislation. We have come to an agreement on language that will allow established
massage therapists and new graduates alike to practice massage therapy in Pennsylvania.

The agreement was the result of lengthy negotiations with many stakeholders. We felt it
was important to create a scope that did not infringe on other professions and was
designed to allow massage therapists to utilize the skills, techniques and knowledge
provided in their massage therapy training.

It became evident that in these negotiations, further discussion was necessary regarding
the term “mobilization”. It is used by both the physical therapy and chiropractic
professions and has a legal definition. The term mobilization as defined in Act 27 in
2002 is defined as “a group of techniques comprising a continuum of skilled passive
movement to the joints and/or related soft tissues throughout the normal physiological
range of motion that are applied at varying speeds and amplitudes without limitation.”
Joint mobilization, as it is defined legally is beyond our scope of practice. It is for this



reason that the word “movement” was added to our scope of practice so massage
therapists would not be restricted from providing movement as part of their massage
technique.

Since many massage therapists work within the health care community in Pennsylvania,
there was considerable concern and discussion centered on the term “impairment” as it is
listed in the restriction section of the bill. The definition of massage therapy includes:
“treatment of soft tissue manifestations of the human body in which the primary intent is
to enhance health and well-being of the human body without limitation”. In the
restriction portion, the language reads: “The term does not include the diagnosis or
treatment of impairment, illness, disease or disability.” Massage therapists do not
diagnose and we believe the definition of massage allows us to treat soft tissue
manifestations and not to directly treat the impairment, illness, disease or disability.

I would like to address several other areas that have been brought to our attention
regarding the language in the bill:

e In the definition of massage therapy, the word “the” had been omitted before
the words health and well-being. “The” has been reinstated to read “the health
and well-being of the client without limitation”. The addition of the word
“the” was in the initial agreed upon language with the physical therapists.

e In Section 4 (c), the current make-up of the new Massage Therapy Board of
Directors has been structured to include individuals who have been in active,
continuous practice for five (5) years or more. Since the AMTA maintains a
high level of standards, the new PA Massage Therapy Board of Directors
deserves to have massage therapists occupying seats on this board that have
long-term practices and have the experience necessary to make decisions on
behalf of the massage therapists in the state. We are not in favor of making
changes to allow for an individual with less than (5) years of practice to
occupy a board seat.

e  We would like to suggest that an amendment to this language be made to
state: “has passed a massage therapy competency assessment examination
that meets generally recognized psychometric principles and standards,
and that has been approved by the Board.”

e In Section 4, language needs to be inserted that limits the number of school
owners sitting on the board to no more than one (1) and shall represent (1) of
the required (5) professional members to occupy the board seats.

Honorable Rep. Sturla and Honorable members of the Committee, our members have
been waiting a long, long time for licensure - 16 years in fact!

We believe it is time for Pennsylvania to join the ranks of other licensed states and
protect the public from unlicensed and unscrupulous individuals, set educational



guidelines and be legitimately recognized by the general public. We sincerely thank you
for allowing us to present our testimony to you and greatly appreciate your
consideration.

Nancy M. Porambo, MS, LMT (GA), NCTMB



States Regulating Massage Therapy

WASHINGTON 7 > NEW HAMPSHIRE
1976 1980 MAINE

VERMONT 13968

MASSACHUSETTS
OREGON ‘ ‘ 2006
1971

RHODE ISLAND
WISCONSIN NEW YORK 1979
1998 0
JE7 CONNECTICUT

1993

NEBRASKA NEW1;§28EY

NEVADA 1958 ILLINOIS /L
2005 2002 WEST DELAWARE
VIRGINIA v
1997 ,
MISSOURI VITS@BSM MARYLAND
1998 KENTUCKY ; 1996

Ly NORTH DISTRICT
‘ GARGLINA of COLUMBIA
TENNESSEE 1998 e Orgiance

ARIZONA 1995
. 2003 NEW MEXICO : SOUTH -
= 1991 ‘ ARKANSAS CAROLINA
1951 ; 1996
ALABAMA
MissISsIppl 100 SE
2001 .
LOUISIANA
1992
FLORIDA
1943
<
- . B Regulated States
-y,
-1
9 [ ] Unregulated States
. L) . The American Massage Therapy Association recognizes that state government regulation
a9 of the practice of massage therapy is a desirable means of meeting the needs of the public . Introduced or

1947 ' and the profession. drafting legislation

Regulated States - as of 08/1/06




STATE BOARDS ADMINISTERING MASSAGE PRACTICE LAWS

Regufatory Board

bducation Requirements

Reciprocity

CLU Requirements

Fxam

Alabama Massage Therapy Board 650 hours from board approved | Application: $25.00 Case by case 16 hours biennially NCETMB
Keith E. Warren, Executive Director massage therapy school Licensing: $100.00 basis :
610 S. McDonough St. Renewal: $100.00
Montgomery, AL 36104 Grandfathering expired June | Exam: $160.00
Ph: (334)269-9990 1, 1998
Fax: (334)263-6115
Email: ALMTBD@aol.com
Web:
www.almtbd.state.al.us
Arizona Board of Massage Therapy 500 hours from Board Application & License: State by state 25 hours biennially NCETMB
1400 West Washington, Suite 230 recognized school $165.00 basis
Phoenix, AZ 85007 Effective 1/1/08 Fingerprint: $24.00
Phone: (602) 542-8604 700 hours from a Board Duplicate license: $40.00
Fax:  (602) 542-3093 recognized Massage Therapy Renewal: $75.00
Email: info@massageboard.state.az..us School
Web:
http://www.massageboard.az.gov/ Grandfathering expired
December 31, 2005
Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy 500 hours from a board License: $130.00 On a state by 6 hours annually MBLEXx
PO Box 20739 accepted massage therapy MBLEX: $195.00 state basis
Hot Springs, AR 71903 school Annual Renewal:
Ph: (501) 520-0555 $30.00 (LMT)
Fax: (501) 623-4130 Grandfathering expired July | $40.00 (Master)
Email: info@arkansasmassagetherapy.com 1, 1999 $45.00 (Instructor)
Web:
www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com
Connecticut 500 hours — COMTA approved | Application: $300.00 Case by case 24 hours every 4 NCETMB
Massage Therapy Licensure Department of Public Health & Addiction | school Renewal: $200.00 years
Services
150 Washington Street
Hartford, CT 06106
Ph: (860) 509-7603
Web: http.//www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389348
Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork 500 hrs, exam — License for Refer to Fee Schedule: Yes LMT-24 hours NCETMB
Cannon Building, #203 Massage Therapist hitp://www.dpr.delaware.gov biennially
861 Silver Lake Blvd. #203 /boards/massagebodyworks/f
Dover, DE 19904 300 hrs — Certified Massage ees.shtml CMT-12 hours
Ph: (302) 7444537 Technician biennially
Fax: (302) 739-2711
E-mail: Ashley.stewart@state.de.us Temporary Permits for MT
Web: www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/massagebodvworks/ Technicians (One Year)
District of Columbia Board of Massage Therapy 500 hours from Board Application: $85.00 Case by case 12 hours biennially NCETMB
Department of Health approved school License: $177.00
717 14™ Street, N.W. Renewal: $177.00
Washington, DC 20005
Ph: (877) 672-2174
Fax: (202) 727-8471
Web:
http://hpla.doh.dc.gov/hpla/cwp/view.A.1195.Q.488659.hplaNav.|3066
1]..asp




Regulatorsy Board

I-ducation Requirements

ClU Requirements

Ixam

Florida Board of Massage Therapy

Florida Department of Health, Medical Quality Assurance
4052 Bald Cypress Way

Bin #C06

Tallahassee, FL. 32399

Ph: (850) 245-4161

Fax: (850) 921-6184

E-mail: MOA_ MassageTherapy@doh.state.fl.us

Web: http://www.doh.state.fl us/mga/massage/ma _lic reg.html

500 hours from Board
approved school

Law enacted 1943

Application: $205.00
Renewal: $155.00

Reciprocity
Case by case

24 hours biennially

NCETMB

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

237 Coliseum Drive

Macon, GA 31217-3858
Applications/Payments:

P.O. Box 13446

Macon, GA 31208

Phone: 478.207.2440

Fax: 478.207.1663

Web: http://www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/massage/

500 hours from Board
approved school

Application: $125
Renewal: $75

State by State
Basis

24 hours biennially

NCBMTB,
NCBTM

Hawaii State Board of Massage Therapy
Dept of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.0. Box 3469

1010 Richards St.

Honolulu, HI 96801

Ph: (808) 587-3222

Web. http.//www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/massage/

570 hours & written state exam

Law enacted 1947

Application: $50.00
License: $25.00
Renewal: $25.00

Case by case
basis

State Exam

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Massage Therapy Licensure

320 West Washington Street, 3 Floor

Springfield, IL 62786

Phone: (217) 782-8556

Fax:  (217) 782-7645
http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/who/masst.asp

500 hours

Grandfathering expired
October 31, 2005

License: $175.00
Renewal: $175.00

State by state
basis

24 hours biennially

NCETMB or
other
approved
certifying
exam

Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
Department of Public Health

Lucas State Office Bldg, 5 Floor

321 E. 12" St.

Des Moines, IA 50319-0075

Ph: (515) 281-6959

Fax: (515) 281-3121

Web. www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure

500 hours from accredited
school

Application: $120.00
Biennial Renewal: $60.00

Yes

24 hours biennially

NCETMB or
MBLEx

Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy

P.O. Box 1360

Frankfort, KY 40602

Phone: (502) 564-3296

Fax:  (502) 564-4818

Dana Hockensmith, Board Administrator (ext. 240)

Email: Dana.Hockensmith@ky.gov

Web: http://finance.ky.gov/ourcabinet/caboff’OAS/op/massth/

600 hours

Grandfathering expired June
24,2005

Application & licensure:
$125.00
Biennial Renewal: $100.00

State by state
basis

24 hours Biennially

NCETMB or
NCCA
approved
certifying
exam

June 2, 2008




Regulatory Board

I-ducation Reguirements

Reciprociny

CEU Requirements

lxam

Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy 500 hours from accredited Application: $75.00 State by state 12 hours annually NCETMB, or
12022 Plank Road school Renewal: $125.00 basis written and
Zachary, LA 70811 oral exam _
Ph: (225) 771-4090
Fax: (225) 771-4021
Email: admin@Ilsbmt.org
Web: www.Isbmt.org
Maine Massage Therapy 500 hours from a state Application: $25.00 Case by case No NCETMB or
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of approved school License: $25.00 MBLEx
Licensing & Registration + CPR and First Aid Criminal Record: $15.00
35 State House Station Renewal: $25.00
Augusta, ME 04333 Grandfathering expired
Ph: (207) 624-8613 December 31, 2001
Fax: (207) 624-8637
Web: hiip://www.state. me.us/pfr/olt/categories/cat26.htm
Maryland Massage Therapy Advisory Committee 500 hrs + 60 college credits and | Application: $100.00 Yes 24 hours biennially NCETMB or
Board of Chiropractic Examiners "NCE - Certified Massage State Exam: $50.00 NCCAOM
4201 Patterson Ave., 5" floor Therapist (CMT) Certification: $200.00 and State
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299 Renewal: $200.00 exam
Ph: (410) 764-4738 500 hrs + NCE — Registered
Fax: (410) 358-1879 Massage Practitioner (RMP)
Web: www.mdmassage.org

Grandfathering expired

January 1, 2002
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy 500 hours App & License: $225.00 TBD TBD TBD
239 Causeway Street, Suite 500 Law enacted 2006 Annual Renewal: $150.00
Boston, MA 02114 650 hours AFTER May 1, 2010
Web: hitp://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/mt/index.htm
Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy 700 hours from an accredited Initial Application: $50.00 Yes 12 hours from CEU NCETMB
P.O. Box 12489 school Biannual Registration: Board approved
Jackson, MS 39236-2489 + CPR and First Aid $192.00 program + CPR
Ph: (601) 856-6127 annually
Fax: (601) 853-0336 Grandfathering expired June
Email: director@msbmt.state.ms.us 30, 2002
Web: www.msbmt.state.ms.us
Missouri State Board of Therapeutic Massage 500 hours from a Board Application: $200.00 Yes 12 hours biennially NCETMB

vision of Professional Registration approved school Renewal: $200.00
3605 Missouri Blvd. Fingerprints: $14.00
P.O. Box 1335 Grandfathering expired
Jefferson City, MO 65102 December 31, 2000
Ph: (573) 522-6277
Fax: (573) 751-0735
E-mail: massagether@pr.mo.gov
Web:
http://pr.mo.gov/massage.asp
June 2, 2008 3




Regulatory Board

I-ducation Requirements

Reciprocity

ClU Requirements

Nebraska Massage Therapy Board

Health and Human Services Regulation & Licensing — Credentialing
Division

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

Ph: (402) 471-2115

Fax: (402)471-3577

Web: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/crl/mhcs/mass/massage.htm

1000 hours and practical exam

Law Enacted 1958

Fee Schedule:
http://www.hhs.state.ne.us/cr
I/feeschedule.pdf

Yes

24 hours biennially

NCETMB

Nevada Board of Massage Therapy
1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252

Reno, NV 89502

Phone (775) 688-1888

Fax (775) 786-4264

Web: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/

500 hours

Application: $50.00
License: $150.00
Background Check: $100.00
Fingerprint: check with local
authorities

Renewal: $150.00 (annual)

12 hours annually

NCEMTB

New Hampshire Office of Program Support, Licensing &
Regulative Services

Board of Massage Therapy

129 Pleasant Avenue

Concord, NH 03301

Ph: (603) 271-4814

Fax: (603)271-5590

Web:

http://www.dhhs.state.nh.us/DHHS/L RS/ELIGIBILITY/massage
license.htm .

750 hours
+CPR

Law Enacted 1980

Application: $125.00
Renewal: $100.00

Yes

12 hours annually

NCETMB
and Practical
Exam

New Jersey Board of Nursing

Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Examining Committee
124 Halsey Street

Newark, NJ 07102

Phone: (973) 504-6430

Fax:  (973) 648-3481

Mr. George Hebert, Acting Exec Dir.

Web: http://www.state.nj.us/Ips/ca/medical/nursing. htm

500 hours

Application: $75.00
Certification: $120.00
Criminal Background Check:
$78.00

N/A

N/A

NCETMB or
diploma from
state
approved
school

New Mexico Massage Therapy Board

2550 Cerrillos Road

Santa Fe, NM 87505

Ph: (505) 476-4870

Fax: (505) 476-4645

E-mail: massage.board@state.nm.us
Web: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/b&c/massage/

650 hours + state exam & NCE

Grandfathering expired
December 31, 1992

Application: $75.00
Biennial Renewal: $125.00

16 hours biennially

NCETMB
and State
exam

New York State Board of Massage Therapy
Office of the Professions

Division of Professional Licensing Services
89 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12234-1000

Kathleen M. Doyle, Executive Secretary

Ph: (518) 474-3817 ext. 150

Fax: (518) 486-2981

E-mail: msthbd@mail.nysed.gov
Web: http://www.op.nysed.gov/mtlic.htm

1000 hrs and state exam

Law Enacted 1967

Application: $100.00
Limited Permit: $35.00

Yes

No

State exam

June 2, 2008




Regulatory Board
North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
P.O. Box 2539

Raleigh, NC 27602

Ph: (919) 546-0050

Fax: (919) 833-1059

E-mail: admin@bmbt.org

Web: www.bmbt.org

Lducation Requirements
500 hours from a Board-
approved school + NCE

Grandfathering expired
November 1, 2000

Application: $20.00
Licensure: $150.00
Renewal: $100.00

Reciprocity

Yes

CEU Requirements
25 hours biennially

I xam

NCETMB

North Dakota State Board of Massage
P.O.Box 218

Beach, ND 58621

Ph: (701) 872-4895

E-mail: k_wojahn@yahoo.com

Web: www.ndboardofmassage.com

750 hours + practical exam &
NCE

Law Enacted 1959

Application: $150.00

Renewal (annual): $100.00

Yes

18 hours annually

State exam,
NCETMB

Ohio State Medical Board

Massage Licensing Division

77 South High St., 17" floor

Columbus, OH 43266-0315

Ph: (614) 466-3934

Fax: (614) 728-5946

| Web: http://www.med.ohio.gov/MTsubwebindex.htm

750 hours and state exam

Law Enacted 1916

Application: $35.00
Exam: $250.00

Case-by-case

State exam

Oregon Board of Massage

748 Hawthorne Ave., N.E.

Salem, OR 97301

Patty Glenn, Executive Director
Ph: (503) 365-8657

Fax: (503) 385-4465

E-mail: Patty(@oregonmassage.org
Web: www.oregonmassage.org

500 hours

Law Enacted 1971

License: $100.00
Exam: $200.00
Renewal: $100.00

Certain states

25 hours biennially
+ Current CPR

NCETMB/
MBLEx and
practical
exam

Rhode Island Department of Health
Division of Professional Regulation

3 Capitol Hill, Room 104

Providence, RI 02908-5097

Ph: (401) 222-2827

Fax: (401) 222-1272

Web: http://www.health ri.gov/hsr/professions/massage.php

500 hours from a COMTA
school

Law Enacted 1979

Licensing: $50.00
Renewal: $50.00

Endorsement
approved

No

NCETMB

South Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
110 Center View

P.O. Box 11329

Columbia, SC 29210

Ph: (803) 896-4490

Fax: (803) 896-4484

Eddie Jones, Administrator

E-mail: jonese@mail.lir.state.sc.us

Web: www.llIr.state.sc.us/POL/MassageTherapy

500 hours from an accredited
school

Grandfathering expired
June 30, 1999

Application: $50.00
Licensing: $100.00
Renewal: $175.00

Yes

12 hours biennially

NCETMB or
MBLEx

June 2, 2008




Regulatory Board
South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 1062
Sioux Falls, SD 57101
Ph: (605) 271-7103
Fax: (605) 331-2043
Joyce M. Vos, Executive Secretary

E-mail: sdmtb.msp@midconetwork.com
Web: htip://doh.sd.gov/boards/massage/

l-ducation Reguirements

500 hrs & NCE

Grandfathering extended to

July 01, 2008

Application Fee: $100.00
Licensing: $65

Renewal Fee: $65.00
(annually)

Reciprocity

TBD

CEU Requirements

8 hours biennially

Ixam
NCETMB or
MBLEx

Tennessee Board of Massage Licensure
Cordell Hull Building 1% floor
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Heritage Place Metro Center
Nashville, TN 37243
Ph: (615) 532-3202 ext. 3211
(800) 778-4123 ext. 3211
Fax: (615) 532-5164

Web: www2.state.tn.us/health/Boards/massage

500 hours & NCE

Grandfathering expired
2003

License: $110.00

Criminal Background Check:

$48.00

Yes

25 hours biennially

NCETMB or
MBLEx

Texas Department of State Health Services
Massage Therapy Licensing Program

1100 West 49" St.

Austin, TX 78756-3138

Ph: (512) 834-6616

Fax: (512) 834-6677

E-mail: massage@dshs.state.tx.us
Web: http.//www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage/default.shtm

500 hours + exam

Law amended 2007

Application: $117.00
Written Exam: $87.00
Practical Exam: $100.00
Renewal: $106.00

Case by case

12 hours biennially

NCETM,
NCETMB, or
MBLEx

Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
Board of Massage Therapy

160 East 300 South

Salt Lake City, UT 84145

Ph: (801) 530-6628

Fax: (801) 530-6511

Web: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/massage.html

600 hours from Board
approved school + NCE

Law Enacted 1981

Application: $60.00
BCI Fingerprint: $15.00
FBI Fingerprint: $20.00
Renewal: $52.00

Yes

No

NCETMB
and Utah
Massage Law
and Rule
Examination

Virginia Board of Nursing

Department of Health Professions

Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Richmond, Virginia 23233

P 804.367.4403 F 804.527.4466

E-mail: nursebd@dhpvirginia. gov

Web:

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Nursing/nursing_forms.htm#Massage%20
Therapist

500 hours from a Board
approved school

Grandfathering expired
July 1, 1997

Application and Certification

(biennial): $105.00
Renewal: $70.00

Yes

25 hours biennially

NCETMB

Washington State Department of Health
Massage Therapy Program

P.O. Box 47867

Olympia, WA 98504-7868

Ph: (360) 2364700

Fax: (360) 236-4818

Email: hpga.csci@doh.wa.gov

Web: www.doh.wa.gov/massage/default.htm

500 hours

Law Enacted 1976

License: $50.00
Certificate: $10.00
Renewal (annual): $25.00

Yes

16 hours biennially

NCETMB or
MBLEx

June 2, 2008



Regulutory Board
State of West Virginia
Massage Therapy Licensure Board
200 Davis St. #1
Princeton, WV 24740
Ph: (304) 487-1400
Fax: (304) 487-1460
E-mail: ms325c@wvdhhr.org
Web: www.wvmassage.org

-ducation Requirements
500 hours or NCBTMB
certification

Initial Application: $25.00
Biennial License: $200.00
Renewal (biennial): $100.00

Reciprocity

Yes

C1U Reguirements
24 hours biennially

I xam

NCETMB

Web:

Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing 600 hours + exam Exam: $57.00 Yes No State exam
Massage Therapy Board Certification: $53.00 and
1400 E. Washington Ave. Renewal: $53.00 NCETMB
Madison, W1 53703
Ph: (608) 266-2112
Fax: (608) 261-7083
http://drl.wi.gov/prof/mass/def.htm
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“Méssage” and “Massage Therapist” Definitions as used in state regulations

Updated: March 18, 2008

State

Massage Definition

Massage Therapist Definition

AL

THERAPEUTIC MASSAGE AND RELATED TOUCH THERAPY MODALITIES. The
mobilization of the soft tissue which may include skin, fascia, tendons, ligaments, and
muscles, for the purpose of establishing and maintaining good physical condition. The
term shall include effleurage, petrissage, tapotement, compression, vibration, stretching,
heliotherapy, superficial hot and cold applications, topical applications, or other therapy
which involves movement either by hand, forearm, elbow, or foot, for the purpose of
therapeutic massage. Massage therapy may include the external application and use of
herbal or chemical preparations and lubricants such as salts, powders, liquids,
nonprescription creams, mechanical devises such as T-bars, thumpers, body support
systems, heat lamps, hot and cold packs, salt glow, steam cabinet baths or hydrotherapy.
The term includes any massage, movement therapy, massage technology, myotherapy,
massotherapy, oriental massage techniques, structural integration, or polarity therapy. The
term shall not include laser therapy, microwave, injection therapy, manipulation of the
joints, or any diagnosis or treatment of an illness that normally involves the practice of
medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy, podiatry, nursing, occupational therapy,
veterinary, acupuncture, osteopathy, orthopedics, hypnosis, or naturopathics.

MASSAGE THERAPIST. A
person licensed pursuant to this
chapter who practices or
administers massage therapy or
touch therapy modalities to a
patron for compensation.

AR

“Massage therapy” means to engage in the practice of any of the following
procedures:

(A) All massage therapy techniques and procedures, either hands-on or with
mechanical devices;

(B) Therapeutic application of all oils, lotions, and powders;
(C) Therapeutic application of hot or cold packs;

(D) Hydrotherapy techniques;

(E) Heliotherapy;

(F) Electrotherapy; and

(G) Any hands-on bodywork techniques and procedures rising to the level of
the techniques and procedures intended to be regulated under this chapter and not covered
under specific licensing laws of other boards;

“Massage therapist” means a
person who has earned a diploma
from a board-accepted school of
massage therapy, who has passed
an examination required by the
board, and who has become
licensed and registered to practice
massage therapy as defined in
subdivision (4) of this section.

“Master massage therapist”
means a person who: (i) Isa
licensed and registered massage
therapist who has completed no
fewer than two hundred fifty (250)
hours of practical experience as a
massage therapist, which may be
gained in part or in whole as an
assistant to an instructor in a
massage school: (i) In addition to
that experience, has completed no
fewer than one hundred twenty-
five (125) continuing education
hours as approved by the board,;
and (iii) Is determined by the
board to be qualified to be
licensed and registered to practice
massage therapy as defined in
subdivision (4) of this section.

(B) Master massage therapists
may:(i) Instruct board-approved
continuing education
programs;(ii) Instruct any of the
procedures in subdivision (4) of
this section; and(iii) Instruct, as
directed by a massage therapy
instructor, basic curricula in a
board-registered massage therapy
school as required by § 17-86-
306(e).

AZ

"Massage therapy" means the following that are undertaken to increase wellness,

"Massage therapist" means a




relaxation, stress reduction, pain relief and postural improvement or provide general or
specific therapeutic benefits:

(a) The manual application of compression, stretch, vibration or mobilization of the
organs and tissues beneath the dermis, including the components of the musculoskeletal
system, peripheral vessels of the circulatory system and fascia, when applied primarily to
parts of the body other than the hands, feet and head.

(b) The manual application of compression, stretch, vibration or mobilization using the
forearms, elbows, knees or feet or handheld mechanical or electrical devices.

(c) Any combination of range of motion, directed, assisted or passive movements of the
joints.

(d) Hydrotherapy, including the therapeutic applications of water, heat, cold, wraps,
essential oils, skin brushing, salt glows and similar applications of products to the skin.

person who is licensed under this
chapter to engage in the practice
of massage therapy.

CT "Massage therapy" means the systematic and scientific manipulation and treatment of the | "Massage therapist" means a
soft tissues person who has been licensed to
of the body, by use of pressure, friction, stroking, percussion, kneading, vibration by practice massage therapy under
manual or mechanical means, range of motion and nonspecific stretching. Massage the provisions of sections 20-206a
therapy may include the use of oil, ice, hot and cold packs, tub, shower, steam, dry heat, to 20-206f, inclusive.
or cabinet baths, for the purpose of, but not limited to, maintaining good health and
establishing and maintaining good physical and mental condition.

Massage therapy does not encompass diagnosis, the prescribing of drugs or medicines,
spinal or other joint manipulations, nor any service or procedure for which a license to
practice medicine, chiropractic, natureopathy, physical therapy, or podiatry is required by
law.

DC Massage techniques - any touching or pressure with the intent of providing healing or Massage therapist - a person
therapeutic benefits through soft tissue manipulation. Massage techniques include, but are | licensed to practice massage
not limited to, Rolfing, Neuromuscular Therapy, Shiatsu or acupressure, Trigger Point therapy under the Act.
massage, Trager, Tui na, Reflexology, Thai Massage, deep tissue massage, Myofascial
Release, Lymphatic Drainage, Craniosacral, Polarity, Reiki, Swedish Massage, and
Therapeutic Touch. Massage techniques may be performed in any postural position
including seated massage and techniques performed on clothed clients.

Therapeutic - having a positive affect on the health and well-being of the client.

DE "Practice of massage and bodywork" shall mean a system of "Massage and bodywork
structured touch applied to the superficial or deep tissue, muscle, or connective therapist” shall mean a person
tissue, by applying pressure with manual means. Such application may include, who represents himself or herself
but is not limited to, friction, gliding, rocking, tapping, kneading, or nonspecific to the public by any title or
stretching, whether or not aided by massage oils or the application of hot and description of services
cold treatments. The practice of massage and bodywork is designed to promote incorporating the words
general relaxation, enhance circulation, improve joint mobilization and/or "bodywork," "massage," "massage
relieve stress and muscle tension, and to promote a general sense of well-being. therapist," "massage therapy,"

: "massage practitioner,"

The practice of massage and bodywork excludes actions by any "massagist,” "masseur,"
person, who is certified or licensed in this State by any other law, and who is "masseuse," or who engages in the
engaged in the profession or occupation for which that person is certified or practice of massage and body_work
licensed, and actions by any person engaged in an occupation which does not for a fee, monetary or otherwise.
require a certificate or certification, including, but not limited to, physical
education teachers, athletic coaches, health or recreation directors, instructors at
health clubs or spas, martial arts, water safety and dance instructors, or coaches
and practitioners of techniques, who are acting within the scope of activity for
which they are trained, or students of massage who are practicing within the
scope of their course of study.

FL "Massage" means the manipulation of the soft tissues of the human body with the hand, "Massage therapist" means a
foot, arm, or elbow, whether or not such manipulation is aided by hydrotherapy, including | person licensed as required by this
colonic irrigation, or thermal therapy; any electrical or mechanical device; or the act, who administers massage for
application to the human body of a chemical or herbal preparation. compensation.

GA "Massage therapy" means the application of a system of structured touch, pressure, "Massage therapist" means a

movement, and holding to the soft tissue of the body in which the primary intent is to
enhance or restore health and well-being. The term includes complementary methods,
including without limitation the external application of water, superficial heat, superficial
cold, lubricants, salt scrubs, or other topical preparations and the use of commercially

person who administers massage
or massage therapy for
compensation.




available electromechanical devices which do not require the use of transcutaneous

electrodes and which mimic or enhance the actions possible by the hands; the term also
includes determining whether massage therapy is appropriate or contraindicated, or
whether referral to another health care provider is appropriate. Massage therapy shall not
include the use of ultrasound, fluidotherapy, laser, and other methods of deep thermal
modalities.

HI "Massage", "massage therapy", and "Hawaiian massage" commonly known as lomilomi, | "Massage therapist" means any
means any method of treatment of the superficial soft parts of the body, consisting of person who engages in the
rubbing, stroking, occupation or practice of massage
tapotement, pressing, shaking, or kneading with the hands, feet, elbow, or arms, and for compensation.
whether or not aided by any mechanical or electrical apparatus, appliances, or "Massage therapist apprentice"
supplementary aids such as rubbing alcohol, liniments, antiseptics, oils, powder, creams, | means any person who engages in
lotions, ointments, or other similar preparations commonly used in this practice. Any the occupation or practice of
mechanical or electrical apparatus used as described in this chapter shall be approved by | massage under the direct
the United States Food and Drug Administration. supervision of a sponsoring

massage therapist who is
employed by or registered with an
approved massage establishment.

IA “Massage therapy” means performance for compensation of massage, myotherapy, “Licensee” means any person
massotherapy, bodywork, bodywork therapy, or therapeutic massage including licensed to practice as a massage
hydrotherapy, superficial hot and cold applications, vibration and topical applications, or | therapist in the state of Iowa.
other therapy which involves manipulation of the muscle and connective tissue of the
body, excluding osseous tissue, to treat the muscle tonus system for the purpose of
enhancing health, providing muscle relaxation, increasing range of motion, reducing
stress, relieving pain, or improving circulation.

IL "Massage” or "massage therapy" means a system of structured palpation or movement of | "Massage therapist” means a
the soft tissue of the body. The system may include, but is not limited to, techniques such | person who is licensed by the
as effleurage or stroking and gliding, petrissage or kneading, tapotement or percussion, Department and administers
friction, vibration, compression, and stretching activities as they pertain to massage massage for compensation.
therapy. These techniques may be applied by a licensed massage therapist with or without
the aid of lubricants, salt or herbal preparations, hydromassage, thermal massage, or a
massage device that mimics or enhances the actions possible by human hands. The
purpose of the practice of massage, as licensed under this Act, is to enhance the general
health and well-being of the mind and body of the recipient. "Massage” does not include
the diagnosis of a specific pathology. "Massage" does not include those acts of physical
therapy or therapeutic or corrective measures that are outside the scope of massage
therapy practice as defined in this Section.

IN Sec. 4. "Massage therapy": Sec. 5. "Massage therapist" means
(1) means the application of massage techniques on the human an individual who practices
body; massage therapy.

(2) includes:

(A) the use of touch, pressure, percussion, kneading,
movement, positioning, nonspecific stretching, stretching
within the normal anatomical range of movement, and
holding, with or without the use of massage devices that
mimic or enhance manual measures; and

(B) the external application of heat, cold, water, ice, stones,
lubricants, abrasives, and topical preparations that are not
classified as prescription drugs; and

(3) does not include:

(A) spinal manipulation; and

(B) diagnosis or prescribing drugs for which a license is required.

KY (6) "Practice of massage therapy" means the application, by a massage therapist licensed | (4) "Massage therapist" means a
by the board, of a system of structured touch, pressure, movement, and holding to the soft | person who is licensed by the
tissues of the human body with the intent to enhance or restore the health and well-being | board to administer massage or
of the client. The practice includes the external application of water, heat, cold, lubricants, | massage therapy to the public for
salt scrubs, or other topical preparations; use of electromechanical devices that mimic or | compensation;
enhance the actions of the hands; and determination of whether massage therapy is
appropriate or contraindicated, or whether referral to another health care practitioner is
appropriate;

LA (5) "Massage therapy'' means the manipulation of soft tissue for the purpose of (4) "Massage therapist' means

maintaining good health and establishing and maintaining good physical condition. The

an individual who practices or




term shall include effleurage (stroking), petrissage (kneading), tapotement (percussion),
compression, vibration, friction, (active/passive range of motion), Shiatsu, and
acupressure, either by hand, forearm, elbow, foot, or with mechanical appliances for the
purpose of body massage. Massage therapy may include the use of lubricants such as
salts, powders, liquids, creams, (with the exception of prescriptive or medicinal creams),
heat lamps, whirlpool, hot and cold pack, salt glow, or steam cabinet baths. It shall not
include electrotherapy, laser therapy, microwave, colonic therapy, injection therapy, or
manipulation of the joints. Equivalent terms for massage therapy are massage, therapeutic
massage, massage technology, Shiatsu, body work, or any derivation of those terms. As
used in this Chapter,

the terms "therapy" and "therapeutic" shall not include diagnosis, the treatment of illness
or disease, or any service or procedure for which a license to practice medicine,
chiropractic, physical therapy,

or podiatry is required by law.

administers massage therapy

to a patron of either gender for
compensation. The term shall
include a therapeutic massage
practitioner, massage technician,
masseur, masseuse, or any
derivation of those titles.

ME 4. Massage therapy. "Massage therapy" means a scientific or skillful manipulation | 3. Massage therapist or massage
of soft tissue for therapeutic or remedial purposes, specifically for improving muscle tone | practitioner. "Massage therapist"
and circulation and promoting health and physical well-being. The term includes, but is or "massage practitioner” means a
not limited to, manual and mechanical procedures for the purpose of treating soft tissue person who provides or offers to
only, the use of supplementary aids such as rubbing alcohol, liniments, oils, antiseptics, provide massage therapy for a fee,
powders, herbal preparations, creams or lotions, procedures such as oil rubs, salt glows monetary or otherwise.
and hot or cold packs or other similar procedures or preparations commonly used in this
practice. This term specifically excludes manipulation of the spine or articulations and
excludes sexual contact as defined in Title 17-A, section 251, subsection 1, paragraph D.
MD 1) "Massage therapy" means the use of manual techniques on soft tissues of the human (11) "Registered massage
body including effleurage (stroking), petrissage (kneading), tapotement (tapping), practitioner" means an individual
stretching, compression, vibration, and friction, with or without the aid of heat limited to | who is registered by the Board to
hot packs and heating pads, cold water, or nonlegend topical applications, for the purpose | practice non-therapeutic massage.
of improving circulation, enhancing muscle relaxation, relieving muscular pain, reducing | Certified massage therapist.-
stress, or promoting health and well-being. "Certified massage therapist"
means an individual who is
certified by the Board to practice
massage therapy.
MA Mas_sage: Thc? systematic treatment _of the‘ soft.tlssues of the body by use of pressure, Massage Therapist or Massage
friction, stroking, percussion, kneading, vibration by manual or mechanical means, range Iy ) .
. . . P Practitioner: A person licensed
of motion for purposes of demonstrating muscle excursion or muscle flexibility and .
. . . o by the Board who instructs or
nonspecific stretching. Massage therapy may include the use of oil, ice, hot and cold g
. . - . . . administers Massage or Massage
packs, tub, shower, steam, dry heat or cabinet baths, in which the primary intent is to -
. . therapy for compensation. For
enhance or restore the health and well-being of the client. Massage therapy shall not £ -
. . e L. . o purposes of these regulations, the
include diagnoses, the prescribing of drugs or medicines, spinal or other joint "
. . - . . . . use of the term "Massage
manipulations or any services or procedures for which a license to practice medicine, . n
. . . . . . . Therapist" shall also mean the
chiropractic, occupational therapy, physical therapy or podiatry is required by law. For " s "
. " " term "Massage Practitioner".
purposes of these regulations, the use of the term "Massage" shall also mean the term
"Massage therapy".
MS “Massage” means touch, stroking, kneading, stretching, friction, percussion and vibration, | “Massage therapist” means a
and includes holding, positioning, causing movement of the soft tissues and applying person who practices massage
manual touch and pressure to the body (excluding an osseous tissue manipulation or therapy.
adjustment). “Therapy” means action aimed at achieving or increasing health and
wellness. “Massage therapy means the
profession in which the practitioner applies massage techniques with the intent of
positively affecting the health and well-being of the client, and may adjunctively (i) apply
allied modalities,
heat, cold water and topical preparations not classified as prescription drugs, (ii) use hand
held tools such as electrical hand massagers used adjunctively to the application of hand
massage or devices designed as t-bars or knobbies, and (iii) instruct self care and stress
management.
MO "Massage therapy", a health care profession which involves the treatment of the body's "Massage therapist", a health care

tonus system through the scientific or skillful touching, rubbing, pressing or other
movements of the soft tissues of the body with the hands, forearms, elbows, or feet, or
with the aid of mechanical apparatus, for relaxation, therapeutic, remedial or health
maintenance purposes to enhance the mental and physical well-being of the client, but
does not include the prescription of medication, spinal or joint Tanipulation, the
diagnosis of illness or disease, or any service or procedure for which a license to practice

practitioner who provides or
offers to provide massage therapy,
as provided in sections 324.240 to
324.275, to any person at no cost
or for a fee, monetary or
otherwise, implying that the




medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy, or podiatry is required by law, or to those
occupations defined in chapter 329, RSMo;

massage therapist is trained,
experienced and licensed in
massage therapy, and who holds a
current, valid license to practice
massage therapy;

NE Massage Therapy means the physical, mechanical, or electrical manipulation of soft Massage Therapist means a
tissue for the therapeutic purposes of enhancing muscle relaxation, reducing stress, person licensed to practice
improving circulation, or instilling a greater sense of well-being and may include the use | massage therapy.
of oil, salt glows, heat lamps, and hydrotherapy. It does not include diagnosis or treatment
or use of procedures for which a license to practice medicine or surgery, chiropractic, or
podiatry is required nor the use of microwave diathermy, shortwave diathermy,
ultrasound, transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation, electrical stimulation of over
thirty-five volts, neurological hyperstimulation, or spinal and joint adjustments.

NV 1. “Massage therapy” means the application of a system of pressure to the muscular Massage therapist” means a
structure and soft tissues of the human body for therapeutic purposes, including, without | person who is licensed pursuant to
limitation: the provisions of this chapter to

(a) Effleurage; engage in the practice of massage
(b) Petrissage; therapy.
(c) Tapotement;
(d) Compressions;
(e) Vibration;
(f) Friction; and
(g) Movements applied manually with or without superficial heat, cold, water or
lubricants for the purpose of maintaining good health and establishing and maintaining
good physical condition.
2. The term does not include:
(a) Diagnosis, adjustment, mobilization or manipulation of any articulations of the
body or spine; or
(b) Reflexology.

NH ""Massage" means the application of a system of structured touch which includes holding, | ""Massage therapist" means a
pressure, positioning, or causing movement, by manual means, for the purpose of licensed individual who performs
promoting, maintaining, and restoring the health and well-being of the client. Massage is | massage for compensation. Titles
designed to promote general relaxation, improve movement, relieve somatic and muscular | used may include: massage
pain or dysfunction, stress and muscle tension, and provide for general health therapist, massage practitioner,
enhancement, personal growth, and the organization, balance, and integration of the body. | bodywork practitioner,

bodyworker, muscle therapist,
massotherapist, or somatic
therapist practitioner. A massage
therapist uses visual, kinesthetic,
and palpatory skills to assess the
body, and may evaluate the
client's condition to the extent of
determining whether massage is
indicated or contraindicated.

NJ "Massage and bodywork therapies” or "massage and bodywork" means systems of "Massage and bodywork
activity of structured touch which include, but are not limited to, holding, applying therapist" means a person licensed
pressure, positioning and mobilizing soft tissue of the body by manual technique and use | to practice massage and bodywork
of visual, kinesthetic, auditory and palpating skills to assess the body for purposes of therapies pursuant to the
applying therapeutic massage and bodywork principles. Such application may include, provisions of P.L..1999, c.19
but is not limited to, the use of therapies such as heliotherapy or hydrotherapy, the use of | (C.45:11-53 et seq.) and P.L.2007,
moist hot and cold external applications, explaining and describing myofascial ¢.337(C.45:11-68 et al.).
movement, self-care and stress management as it relates to massage and bodywork
therapies. Massage and bodywork therapy practices are designed to affect the soft tissue
of the body for the purpose of promoting and maintaining the health and well-being of the
client. Massage and bodywork therapies do not include the diagnosis of illness, disease,
impairment or disability. (2007)

NM “Massage therapy” means the assessment and treatment of soft tissues and their No definition

dysfunctions for therapeutic purposes primarily for comfort and relief of pain. Itis a
health care service that includes gliding, kneading, percussion, compression, vibration,
friction, nerve strokes, stretching the tissue and exercising the range of motion, and may
include the use of oils, salt glows, hot or cold packs or hydrotherapy. Synonymous terms
for massage therapy include massage, therapeutic massage, body massage, myomassage,




bodywork, body rub or any derivation of those terms. Massage therapy is the
deformation of soft tissues from more than one anatomical point by manual or mechanical
means to accomplish homeostasis and/or pain relief in the tissues being deformed, as
defined in the Massage Therapy Practice Act, NMSA 1978, Section 61-12C-3.E.
"Treatment of soft tissues' is the repetitive deformation of soft tissues from more than
one anatomical point by manual or mechanical means to accomplish homeostasis and/or
pain relief in the tissues being deformed.

NY The practice of the profession of massage therapy is defined as engaging in applying a No definition
scientific system of activity to the muscular structure of the human body by means of
stroking, kneading, tapping and vibrating with the hands or vibrators for the purpose of
improving muscle tone and circulation.

NC Massage and bodywork therapy. Massage and bodywork
Systems of activity applied to the soft tissues of the human body for therapeutic, therapist. A person licensed

educational, or relaxation purposes. The application may include: under this Article.
a. Pressure, friction, stroking, rocking, kneading, percussion, or passive or active

stretching within the normal anatomical range of movement.
b Complementary methods, including the external application of water, heat, cold,

lubricants, and other topical preparations.
<. The use of mechanical devices that mimic or enhance actions that may possibly be

done by the hands.

ND "Massage" means the scientific and systematic manipulation of the soft tissues of the "Massage therapist" means an
human body through any manual or mechanical means, including superficial hot and cold | individual who practices massage.
applications, hydrotherapy, reflexology, and the use of salts or lubricants.

"Massage" does not include diagnosing or treating diseases, manipulating the spine or
other joints, or prescribing or administering vitamins.

OH Massage therapy is the treatment of disorders of the human body by the manipulation of | A massage therapist may treat
soft tissue through the systematic external application of massage techniques including temporomandibular joint
touch, stroking, friction, vibration, percussion, kneading, stretching, compression, and dysfunction provided that the
joint movements within the normal physiologic range of motion; and adjunctive thereto, patient has been directly referred
the external application of water, heat, cold, topical preparations, and mechanical devices. | in writing for such treatment to

the massage therapist by a
physician currently licensed
pursuant to Chapter 4731. of the
Revised Code, by a chiropractor
currently licensed pursuant to
Chapter 4734. of the Revised
Code. or a dentist currently
licensed pursuant to Chapter 4715.
of the Revised Code.

OR “Massage” or “massage therapy” means the use on the body of pressure, friction, “Massage or bodywork practice”
stroking, tapping or kneading, vibration or stretching by manual or mechanical means or | means the activities related to the
gymnastics, with or without appliances such as vibrators, infrared heat, sun lamps and L.M.T.’s provision of
external baths, and with or without lubricants such as salts, powders, liquids or creams for | massage or bodywork services in
the purpose of, but not limited to, maintaining good health and establishing and his or her capacity as a
maintaining good physical condition. practitioner, teacher,

supervisor, consultant, mentor or
educator.

“Massage Therapist” means a
person licensed under ORS 687 to
practice massage.

RI "The practice of massage" shall be defined as engaging in applying a scientific system of | "Massage therapist" means a

activity to the muscular structure of the human body by means of stroking, kneading,
tapping and vibrating with the hands or vibrators for the purpose of improving muscle
tone and circulation.

person engaged in the practice of
massage who has completed a
program in or is certified by a
school or institution of learning
which is approved by the
American Massage and Therapy
Association or equivalent
academic and training program
meeting the requirements of
section 4.2 herein as approved by
the Director of Health, other than




a correspondence course, which
school or institution has for its
purpose the teaching of the theory,
practice, method, profession, or
work of massage, including at
least anatomy, physiology,
hygiene and professional ethics,
pursuant to the statutory
provisions.

SC “Massage/bodywork therapy” means the application of a system of structured touch of the | "Massage/bodywork therapist"
superficial tissues of the human body with the hand, foot, arm, or elbow with or without means a person licensed as
aid by hydrotherapy, thermal therapy, massage devices, human hands, or the application | required by this chapter, who
of herbal preparations for therapeutic, relaxation, or educational purposes. administers massage/bodywork

therapy for compensation
It is further defined by pressure, friction, stroking, rocking, kneading, percussion, or
passive active stretching within the normal anatomical range of movement.
Complimentary methods including the external application of water, thermal therapy,
hydrotherapy, lubricants, and other topical preparations, including but not limited to
herbal remedies, body wraps and salt scrubs.

SD "Massage," the systematic mobilization of the soft tissues of the body through the "Practice of massage therapy,” the
application of hands or devices for the purposes of therapy, relaxation, or education performance of massage for a fee
through means which include: or other compensation or holding

(a) Pressure, friction, stroking, rocking, kneading, percussion, compression, or | oneself out to the public as
stretching; performing massage.

(b) External application of water, heat, cold, lubricants, or other topical agents;
or

(¢) The use of devices that mimic or enhance actions done by hands;

TN “Massage/bodywork/somatic” means the manipulation of the soft tissues of the body with | “Massage therapist” means a
the intention of positively affecting the health and well being of the client; person who practices massage for

compensation and is licensed by
the board.

TX Massage therapy" means the manipulation of soft "Massage therapist” means a
tissue by hand or through a mechanical or electrical apparatus for person who practices
the purpose of body massage and includes effleurage (stroking), or administers massage therapy or
petrissage (kneading), tapotement (percussion), compression, other massage services to a
vibration, friction, nerve strokes, and Swedish gymnastics. The client for compensation. The term
terms "massage," "therapeutic massage," "massage technology," includes a licensed massage
"myotherapy," "body massage," "body rub," or any derivation of therapist, therapeutic massage
those terms are synonyms for "massage therapy." practitioner, massage technician,

masseur, masseuse, myotherapist,
body massager, body rubber, or
any derivation of those titles.

uT "Practice of massage therapy" means: "Massage therapist” means an

(a) the examination, assessment, and evaluation of the soft tissue structures of the body
for the

purpose of devising a treatment plan to promote homeostasis;

(b) the systematic manual or mechanical manipulation of the soft tissue of the body for
the

therapeutic purpose of;

(i) promoting the health and well-being of a client;

(ii) enhancing the circulation of the blood and lymph;

(iii) relaxing and lengthening muscles;

(iv) relieving pain;

(v) restoring metabolic balance; and

(vi) achieving homeostasis;

(c) the use of the hands or a mechanical or electrical apparatus in connection with this
Subsection

(6);

(d) the use of rehabilitative procedures involving the soft tissue of the body;

(e) range of motion or movements without spinal adjustment as set forth in Section 58-73-
102;

(f) oil rubs, heat lamps, salt glows, hot and cold packs, or tub, shower, steam, and cabinet

individual licensed under this
chapter as a massage therapist.




baths;

(g) manual traction and stretching exercise;

(h) correction of muscular distortion by treatment of the soft tissues of the body;

(i) counseling, education, and other advisory services to reduce the incidence and severity
of

physical disability, movement dysfunction, and pain;

(j) similar or related activities and modality techniques; and

(k) the practice described in this Subsection (6) on an animal to the extent permitted by:
(i) Subsection 58-28-307(12);

(ii) the provisions of this chapter; and

(iii) division rule.

VA "Massage therapy” means the treatment of soft tissues for therapeutic purposes by the "Certified massage therapist"
application of massage and bodywork techniques based on the manipulation or means a person who meets the
application of pressure to the muscular structure or soft tissues of the human body. The qualifications specified in this
terms "massage therapy" and "therapeutic massage" do not include the diagnosis or chapter and who is currently
treatment of illness or disease or any service or procedure for which a license to practice | certified by the Board.
medicine, nursing, chiropractic therapy, physical therapy, occupational therapy,
acupuncture, or podiatry is required by law.

"Practical nurse" or "licensed practical nurse” means a person who is licensed or holds a
multistate licensure privilege under the provisions of this chapter to practice practical
nursing as defined in this section. Such a licensee shall be empowered to provide nursing
services without compensation. The abbreviation "L.P.N." shall stand for such terms.

WA "Massage" and "massage therapy" mean a health care service involving the external "Massage practitioner" means an
manipulation or pressure of soft tissue for therapeutic purposes. Massage therapy includes | individual licensed under this
techniques such as tapping, compressions, friction, Swedish gymnastics or movements, chapter.
gliding, kneading, shaking, and fascial or connective tissue stretching, with or without the
aids of superficial heat, cold, water, lubricants, or salts. Massage therapy does not include
diagnosis or attempts to adjust or manipulate any articulations of the body or spine or
mobilization of these articulations by the use of a thrusting force, nor does it include
genital manipulation.

A% "Massage therapy" means a health care service which is a scientific and skillful "Massage therapist" means a
manipulation of soft tissue for therapeutic or remedial purposes, specifically for person licensed to practice the
improving muscle tone, circulation, promoting health and physical well-being. Massage health care service of massage
therapy includes massage, myotherapy, massotherapy, bodywork, bodywork therapy, or therapy under this article who
therapeutic massage including hydrotherapy, superficial hot and cold applications, practices or administers massage
vibration and topical applications or other therapies which involve manipulation of the therapy to a client of either gender
muscle and connective tissue of the body, for the purpose of enhancing health, reducing for compensation. No person
stress, improving circulation, aiding muscle relaxation, increasing range of motion, or licensed by the massage therapy
relieving neuro-muscular pain. Massage therapy does not include diagnosis or service licensure board may be referred to
which requires a license to practice medicine or surgery, osteopathic medicine, as a primary care provider nor be
chiropractic, or podiatry, and does not include service performed by nurses, occupational | permitted to use such designation.
therapists, or physical therapists who act under their own professional license, certificate
or registration.

WI "Massage therapy or bodywork" means the science and healing art that uses manual "Certificate holder" means a

actions to palpate and manipulate the soft tissue of the human body, in order to improve
circulation, reduce tension, relieve soft tissue pain, or increase flexibility, and includes
determining whether massage therapy or bodywork is appropriate or contraindicated, or
whether a referral to another health care practitioner is appropriate. "Massage therapy or
bodywork" does not include making a medical or chiropractic diagnosis.

"Manual action" includes holding, positioning, rocking, kneading, compressing,
decompressing, gliding, or percussing the soft tissue of the human body or applying a
passive range of motion to the human body.

person granted a certificate under
this chapter.




State Massage Therapy Regulations:
Sampling of Grandfathering Provisions

State

Grandfathering Provisions

Notwithstanding subsection B of this section, a person who applies for a provisional license
may be licensed by the board on demonstration of the qualifications prescribed in this
subsection and subsection A of this section on or before January 1, 2006 and subject to the
requirements of this section. A person may qualify for a license under this subsection if the
person either:

1. Has completed a minimum of two hundred hours of education and training in the study of
massage therapy or bodywork therapy and the person has continuously practiced massage
therapy in this state for at least three years before May 12, 2003. The two hundred hours of
education and training required by this paragraph must be taken in a massage or bodywork
training program that is approved by either a community college located in this state or the
state board for private postsecondary education or a similar agency of another state that
imposes requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements of the state board
for private postsecondary education. The training program required by this paragraph must
consist of anatomy and physiology, massage theory and practice and ethics.

2. Demonstrates that the person has been self-supportive as a massage therapist in this state
since from and after December 31, 1992.

3. Holds a current professional license from a political subdivision of this state that regulated
the practice of massage therapy before May 12, 2003.

To view complete text of laws and AZ regulations, please visit:
http://massagetherapy.az.gov/rules.htm

CT

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, the commissioner may
issue a license to an out-of-state applicant who submits evidence satisfactory to the
commissioner of either: (1) (A) a current license to practice therapeutic massage from another
state or jurisdiction, (B) documentation of practice for at least one year immediately preceding
application, and (C) successful completion of the National Certification Examination for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork; or (2) (A) graduation from a school of massage therapy
offering a course of study of not less than five hundred classroom hours, with the instructor
present, and, at the time of the applicant’s graduation, was either (i) accredited by an

agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or by a state board of
postsecondary technical trade and business schools, or (ii) accredited by the Commission on
Massage Therapy Accreditation, and (B) successful completion of the National Certification
Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

GA

Prior to July 1, 2007, any applicant for a license as a massage therapist must submit a
completed application upon a form and in such manner as the board prescribes, accompanied
by applicable fees, and evidence satisfactory to the board that:

(1) The applicant is at least 18 years of age;

(2) The applicant is of good moral character. For purposes of this paragraph, ‘good moral

1




character' means professional integrity and a lack of any conviction for acts involving moral
turpitude where the underlying conduct relates to the applicant’s fithess to practice massage
therapy;

(3) The applicant agrees to provide the board with any and all information necessary to
perform a criminal background check and expressly consents and authorizes the board or its
representative to perform such a check; and

(4) The applicant has met at least one of the following requirements:

(A) He or she has completed successfully a board recognized educational program with a
minimum of 500 hours of course and clinical work;

(B) He or she has passed satisfactorily the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic
Massage and Bodywork, an equivalent test approved by the board, or an examination
administered by another state or jurisdiction whose license requirements meet or exceed
those of this state;

(C) He or she meets the qualifications necessary to sit for the National Certification
Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or has substantially similar qualifications
as determined by the board;

(D) He or she holds a license as a massage therapist in another state or jurisdiction whose
license requirements meet or exceed the licensing requirements of this state;

(E) He or she has practiced massage therapy for at least ten hours per week on average for at
least ten years prior to the date of application and has completed at least 100 hours of formal
training in massage therapy as determined by the board;

(F) He or she has practiced massage therapy for at least five years prior to the date of
application and has completed a minimum of 200 hours of formal training in massage therapy
as determined by the board;

(G) He or she has, to the satisfaction of the board, training in another state or jurisdiction that
meets or exceeds the requirements for licensing in this state;

(H) He or she has been a member, as a massage therapist, for a period of one year prior to
his or her application for licensure of a professional massage therapy association established
before 2002 which holds its members to a published code of ethics; or

(I) He or she has been legally practicing massage therapy in this state for compensation prior
to July 1, 2005.

Sec. 20. Grandfathering provision.

(a) For a period of one year after the effective date of the rules adopted under this Act, the
Department may issue a license to an individual who, in addition to meeting the requirements
set forth in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection (a) and subsection (b) of Section 15,
produces proof that he or she has met at least one of the following requirements before the
effective date of this Act:

(1) has been an active member, for a period of at least one year prior to the application for
licensure, of a national professional massage therapy organization established prior to the
year 2000, which offers professional liability insurance and a code of ethics;

(2) has passed the National Certification Exam of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork and
has kept his or her certification current;

(3) has practiced massage therapy an average of at least 10 hours per week for at least 10
years; or

(4) has practiced massage therapy an average of at least 10 hours per week for at least one
year prior to the effective date of this Act and has completed at least 100 hours of formal
training in massage therapy

(b) An applicant who can show proof of having engaged in the practice of massage therapy
for at least 10 hours per week for a minimum of one year prior to the effective date of this Act
and has less than 100 hours of formal training or has been practicing for less than one year

2




with 100 hours of formal training must complete at least 100 additional hours of formal training
consisting of at least 25 hours in anatomy and physiology by January 1, 2005.

(c) An applicant who has training from another state or country may qualify for a license under
subsection (a) by showing proof of meeting the requirements of that state or country and
demonstrating that those requirements are substantially the same as the requirements in this
Section.

(d) For purposes of this Section, "formal training" means a massage therapy curriculum
approved by the lllinois State Board of Education or the lllinois Board of Higher Education or
course work provided by continuing education sponsors approved by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 92-860, eff. 6-1-03; 93-524, eff. 8-12-03; 93-908, eff. 8-11-04.)

KY

309.360 Qualifications for license issued prior to June 24, 2005.
Between June 24, 2003, and June 24, 2005, the board shall issue a license to an applicant
who meets the requirements of KRS 309.358(1)(a), (b), and (c) and one (1) of the following:

(1) Has successfully completed a course of study consisting of a minimum of five hundred
(500) classroom hours of supervised instruction in a massage therapy training program
approved by the Kentucky State Board for Proprietary Education or its equivalent in other
states;

(2) Has received the designation of "Nationally Certified"” or "Internationally Certified" by the
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or other massage
therapist certifying agency approved by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies;

(3) Has provided documentation satisfactory to the board that the applicant has practiced
massage therapy for at least seven (7) years prior to June 24, 2003;

(4) Has provided documentation satisfactory to the board that the applicant has practiced
massage therapy for at least one (1) year and has completed two hundred (200) hours of
formal training; or

(5) Holds a current and valid license, certificate, or registration in another state with
substantially equivalent requirements.

To view complete text of laws and regulations, please visit:
http://finance.ky.gov/NR/rdonlyres/FE29FFB8-BA31-402A-84D9-

D43CE15256E2/0/lawandrequlations. pdf

MA

(3) "Grandfathering” Licensure. For applications received prior to May 1, 2008, the Board, in
its discretion, may grant a license to an applicant if the Board determines that the applicant's
combined professional and education credentials qualify the applicant for licensure and the
applicant meets the requirements of 269 CMR 3.01(2)(a) through 3.01(2)(h); and

(a) The applicant submits evidence satisfactory to the Board of at least 500 hours of paid
professional practice in the field of Massage therapy provided within the five years prior to
application; or

(b) The applicant has been validly authorized to practice Massage therapy by a municipality
within the Commonwealth within the two years prior to the date of application. Valid
authorization shall not include temporary licensure; or

(¢) The applicant submits proof of the passage of either the National Certification Examination
for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) or the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic
Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB), both of which are administered by the National




Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).

MS

(4) The following pre-act practitioners are exempt from having to take any examination for registration,
but must fulfill all other requirements as stated in this chapter, except for the requirements in subsection
(2)(h) of this section:

(a) Those having more than three hundred (300) documented, board-accepted in-class hours of massage
therapy education before January 1, 2001.

(b) Those having more than five (5) years of professional massage therapy experience and a minimum
of one hundred fifty (150) hours of approved massage therapy education * * *.

(c) Those having no formal training, but who have successfully passed the National Certification
Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

(d) All grandfathering exemption allowances as stated in this section shall end on July 1, 2002, for
nonstudents, and on June 1, 2003, for students who were enrolled in a part-time massage school
curriculum on July 1, 2001. Individuals may apply for a certificate of registration until the
grandfathering exemption ends, but may not practice massage beyond the allowed grace period as
provided for in Section 73-67-37 unless a valid massage therapy certificate of registration or provisional
permit is obtained. All other pre-act practitioners and anyone not practicing massage therapy before
January 1, 2001, must take and pass the registration examination and follow the requirements in this
chapter to practice massage therapy for compensation in Mississippi.

(e) Students enrolled in a massage therapy curriculum of at least five hundred (500) hours on July 1,
2001, who complete graduation from the same curriculum.

NJ

C.45:11-74 Certain certified practitioners considered licensed.

19. Any person who is a certified massage, bodywork and somatic therapist pursuant to
section 8 or 9 of P.L.1999, ¢.19 (C.45:11-60 or 45:11-61) on the effective date of P.L.2007,
€.337 (C.45:11-68 et al.) shall be a licensed massage and bodywork therapist under and
subject to the provisions of P.L.1999, ¢.19 (C.45:11-563 et seq.) and P.L.2007, ¢.337 (C.45:11-
68 et al.). C.45:11-75 Certain practitioners eligible for licensure without satisfying education
examination requirements. 20. For 360 days after the date procedures are established by the
board for applying for licensure under the provisions of P.L.2007, ¢.337 (C.45:11-68 et al.),
any person who engaged in the full-time practice, as determined by the board, of massage
and bodywork therapies for two years preceding the enactment date of P.L.2007, ¢.337
(C.45:11-68 et al.),

or in the part-time practice, as determined by the board, of massage and bodywork therapies
for five years preceding the enactment date of P.L.2007, ¢.337 (C.45:11-68 et al.), and has
successfully completed a minimum of 200 hours of education or training in massage or
bodywork therapies as determined by the board, may acquire a license to practice massage
and bodywork therapies without satisfying either the education or examination requirement of
section 8 of P.L.1999, ¢.19 (C.45:11-60).

SD

36-35-14. Term of board authority to issue license upon completion of alternate education or
experience requirements. For two years following July 1, 2005, the board may issue a license
to a person who demonstrates completion of a minimum of one hundred hours of training or
study in the practice of massage with a facility or instructor recognized by the board or
adequate experience derived from the active practice of massage for at least the three years
immediately preceding the date of the application. Any person applying for a license under this
section is not required to comply with the examination and training or study requirements of

§ 36-35-12 but shall meet the other criteria set forth in § 36-35-12. Any person applying for a
license under this section shall submit an application as required by § 36-35-12 along with
proof of active practice for at least three years prior to the date of application.

To view complete text of laws and regulations, please visit:
http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=36-35&Type=Statute

TN

Provisional Licensure Process
(a) An applicant for licensure may be granted a provisional license to practice massage
therapy when the applicant has done the following:




1. Complied with all subparagraphs, except (f) and (o), of paragraph 0870-1-.04 (1);
2 Paid the provisional licensure fee established in rule 0870-1-.06; and

3. Requested that verification be submitted, directly from a certifying or examining organization
to the Board Administrative Office, that an application to take the National Certification
Examination In Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or an equivalent type certification
examination has been accepted. The examining or certifying organization must also provide
the Board Administrative Office with the date on which its examination will be given for the
applicant.

(b) A provisional license shall expire without further action by the board six (6) weeks after the
date on which the examination used to qualify for the license is given.

(c) A provisional license is subject to discipline for the same causes and pursuant to the same
procedures as a full license.

(d) To qualify for full licensure after successful completion of the certifying examination, the
applicant need not make a new application but must do the following:

1. Have the documentation required by parts 0870-1-.04 (1) (f) 2. or 3. provided to the Board
Administrative Office; and

2. Submit the fees required by subparagraph 0870-1-.04 (1) (j) to the Board Admirnistrative
Office;

3. Update any information previously provided on the application which has changed since its
original filing with the Board Administrative Office.

(e) If a holder of a provisional license fails the examination, the applicant for licensure may be
granted a second provisional license to practice massage therapy when the applicant again
complies with subparagraph 0870-1-.04 (2) (a). A second provisional license will be issued
and shall expire without further action by the board six (6) weeks after the date on which the
examination will be given for the applicant.

(f) If a holder of a provisional license fails the examination after the second attempt, the
provisional license will become void without further action by the Board on the date of receipt
of the examination results in the Board’s administrative office. An individual will not be eligible
for a third provisional license.

(g) If a holder of a provisional license does not report to take the next scheduled examination,
the provisional license expires on the date of the examination.

(3) Application review and all licensure decisions shall be governed by rule 0870-1-.07.

To view complete text of laws and regulations, please visit:
http://www.state.tn.us/sos/rules/0870/0870.htm




State Massage Therapy Regulations: Exemptions & Exclusions

State

Exemptions

Exclusions (relating to massage therapy scope)

AL

The following persons shall be exempt from this chapter:

(1) A student of massage therapy who is rendering massage
therapy services under the supervision of a licensed massage
therapy instructor, or any other supervisory arrangement
recognized and approved by the board, including, but not limited
to, a temporary permit. The student shall be designated by title
clearly indicating the training status of the student.

(2) Qualified members of other professions who are licensed and
regulated under Alabama law while they are in the course of
rendering services within the scope of their license or regulation,
provided that they do not represent themselves as massage
therapists.

(3) A person giving massages to his or her immediate family.

(4) Visiting massage therapy instructors from another state,
territory, or country teaching massage therapy, provided that the
massage therapy instructor is licensed or registered as required in
his or her place of residence. Visiting massage instructors teaching
continuing education courses may teach in the state up to 100
hours per year without an Alabama license. One hundred hours of
continuing education instruction or more shall require licensure.
(5) Members of the Massage Emergency Rescue Team (MERT) or
any other nationally or internationally recognized disaster relief
association who practice massage therapy in the state only during
a time declared by the Governor to be a city, county, or state
emergency. These therapists may work in the state for a period of
time approved by the board.

(6) Native American healers using traditional healing practices,
provided, however, Native American healers who use these
practices but apply for a license pursuant to this chapter shall
comply with all licensure requirements.

(7) A person acting under the supervision of a physician, a
physical therapist, or a chiropractor within the scope of their
license or regulation, provided that they do not represent
themselves as massage therapists.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to permit massage
therapists licensed under this chapter to administer, dispense, or
prescribe drugs, or engage in the practice of medicine in any
manner, including, but not limited to, diagnosing or prescribing
drugs for mental, emotional, or physical diseases, illnesses, or
injuries.

The term shall not include laser therapy, microwave,
injection therapy, manipulation of the joints, or any
diagnosis or treatment of an illness that normally
involves the practice of medicine, chiropractic,
physical therapy, podiatry, nursing, occupational
therapy, veterinary, acupuncture, osteopathy,
orthopedics, hypnosis, or naturopathics.

AZ

This chapter does not apply to:

1. A health care professional who is licensed pursuant to this title
and who practices within the scope of that person's license if that
person does not claim to be a massage therapist or a bodywork
therapist.

2. A person who is pursuing a course of study leading to a degree
as a massage therapist in a professional education program that is
approved by the board if all of the following apply:

(a) The person is satisfying supervised clinical education
requirements related to the person's massage therapy education
while under the direct supervision of a licensed massage therapist.
(b) The person is practicing in an education setting in this state
that has been approved by the state board for private
postsecondary education.

(c) The person is practicing in an establishment, location or setting
that complies with applicable municipal and county ordinances.
(d) All persons who are present in the room during the delivery of

Practice of massage therapy does not include the
diagnosis of illness or disease, medical procedures,
naturopathic manipulative medicine, osteopathic
manipulative medicine, chiropractic adjustive
procedures, homeopathic neuromuscular integration,
electrical stimulation, ultrasound, prescription of
medicines or the use of modalities for which a license
to practice medicine, chiropractic, nursing,
occupational therapy, athletic training, physical
therapy, acupuncture or podiatry is required by law.




massage services, other than a student and the customer, are
licensed pursuant to this chapter or are health professionals as
defined in section 32-3201.

3. A massage therapist who resides and is employed in another
jurisdiction and who possesses the qualifications for licensure in
this state if that person is performing massage therapy in this state
in connection with teaching or is participating in an educational
seminar.

4. The practice of massage therapy by a person who is employed
by the government of the United States while the person is
engaged in the performance of duties prescribed by the laws and
regulations of the United States.

5. When the customer is fully clothed, the practice of movement
educators, such as dance therapists or teachers, yoga teachers,
personal trainers, martial arts instructors and movement
repatterning practitioners.

6. When the customer is fully clothed, the practice of techniques
that are specifically intended to affect the human energy field.

C. A health care professional who is licensed pursuant to this title
and who practices within the scope of that person's license is not
required to be licensed pursuant to this chapter.

D. This chapter does not require a person acting under the
supervision of a person licensed pursuant to this title and
permitted by this title to perform functions under the direction or
supervision of that licensee to hold a license pursuant to this
chapter.

AR

Exemptions:

1.) Persons authorized by the laws of this state to practice
medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, or physical therapy, and
licensed physicians’ assistants, licensed nurses, licensed
physical therapy assistants, licensed acupuncturists,
licensed midwives, and chiropractors are exempt.

2.) Persons authorized by the board to present and instruct
board-approved school curriculum or CE programs, or
both, may present and instruct such board-approved
curriculum and programs for payment and in the
presentation and instruction may utilize practices defined
in, but without being licensed or registered under, the
provisions of this chapter.

3.) The practice of massage therapy that is incidental to a
program of study by students enrolled in a licensed
massage therapy school approved by the board.

Any hands on bodywork techniques and procedures
rising to the level of the techniques and procedures
intended to be regulated under this Chapter and not
covered under specific licensing laws of other boards

CT

Exempt activities. (a) No provision of this chapter shall be
construed to prohibit a student of massage

therapy enrolled in a school of massage therapy which satisfies the
requirements of section 20-206b from performing

work as a required component of his course of study at such
school, provided the student shall not hold himself out as

licensed as a massage therapist and shall not receive compensation
for such work.

(b) No provision of this chapter shall be construed to prohibit an
instructor of massage therapy from demonstrating

massage therapy techniques as a component of a course of
instruction in a course, seminar or workshop, provided (1) the
instruction is under the direct supervision of a licensed massage
therapist; (2) the instructor is not a resident of this state;

(3) the instructor does not represent himself as a Connecticut
licensed massage therapist; (4) the instructor is licensed or
certified as a massage therapist in his home state, territory or
country, if such licensure or certification is required; (5) the
instructor does not receive compensation for massage therapy
services, other than compensation as an instructor; and (6)

Massage therapy does not encompass diagnosis, the
prescribing of drugs or medicines, spinal or other
joint manipulations, nor any service or procedure for
which a license to practice medicine, chiropractic,
naturopathy, physical therapy, or podiatry is required
by law.




the demonstrated massage therapy services are available only to
persons enrolled in the course, seminar or workshop.

DE

Alexander Technique, Aroma therapy, Feldenkrais, Hellerwork,
Polarity Therapy, Reiki, Shamanic Techniques, Therapeutic Touch
all exempt.

The practice of massage and bodywork excludes actions by any
person, who is certified or licensed in this State by any other law,
and who is engaged in the profession or occupation for which that
person is certified or licensed, and actions by any person engaged
in an occupation which does not require a certificate or
certification, including, but not limited to, physical education
teachers, athletic coaches, health or recreation directors,
instructors at health clubs or spas, martial arts, water safety and
dance instructors, or coaches and practitioners of techniques, who
are acting within the scope of activity for which they are trained,
or students of massage who are practicing within the scope of their
course of study.

N/A

DC

No Exemption Language

Massage techniques do not include the incidental use
of soft tissue manipulation while primarily engaging
in another technique or modality in which a
practitioner is qualified. Incidental use refers to soft
tissue manipulation performed as part of movement
re-education, energy healing or other modality in
which the soft tissue manipulation is not the central
aim of the treatment, but is performed occasionally to
facilitate the non-massage therapy practice. If the
practice of soft tissue manipulation is limited only to
the feet and hands, it shall not be considered a
massage technique.

FL

An exemption granted is effective to the extent that an exempted
person's practice or profession overlaps with the practice of
massage.

N/A

GA

» A person who restricts his or her practice to the manipulation of
the soft tissue of the human body to hands, feet, or ears who does
not have the client disrobe and does not hold himself or herself out
as a massage therapist;

= A person who uses touch, words, and directed movement to
deepen awareness of existing patterns of movement in the body as
well as to suggest new possibilities of movement while engaged
within the scope of practice of a profession with established
standards and ethics, provided that his or her services are not
designated or implied to be massage or massage therapy;

* A person who uses touch and movement education to effect
change in the structure of the body while engaged in the practice
of structural integration, provided that he or she is a member of, or
whose training would qualify for membership in, the International
Association of Structural Integrators and provided that his or her
services are not designated or implied to be massage or massage
therapy;

= A person who uses touch to affect the energy systems, polarity,
acupoints, or Qi meridians, also known as channels of energy, of
the human body while engaged within the scope of practice of a
profession with established standards and ethics, provided that his
or her services are not designated or implied to be massage or
massage therapy

Massage therapy shall not include the use of
ultrasound, fluidotherapy, laser, and other methods of
deep thermal modalities.

HI

Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit service in case of emergency,
or domestic administration, without compensation, nor services by

N/A




persons holding any valid license, permit, or certificate dealing
with the healing arts, nor services by barbers, hairdressers,
cosmeticians, and cosmetologists lawfully carrying on their
particular profession or business under any existing law of this
State.

IL * Nothing in this Act prohibits practitioners that do not involve "Massage" does not include the diagnosis of a specific
intentional soft tissue manipulation, including but not limited to pathology. "Massage" does not include those acts of
Alexander Technique, Feldenkrais, Reiki, and Therapeutic Touch, | physical therapy or therapeutic or corrective measures
from practicing. that are outside the scope of massage therapy practice
* Practitioners of certain service marked bodywork approaches as defined in this Section.
that do involve intentional soft tissue manipulation, including but
not limited to Rolfing, Trager Approach, Polarity Therapy, and
Orthobionomy, are exempt from this Act if they are approved by
their governing body based on a minimum level of training,
demonstration of competency, and adherence to ethical standards.
= Practitioners of Asian bodywork approaches are exempt from
this Act if they are members of the American Organization of
Bodywork Therapies of Asia as certified practitioners or if they
are approved by an Asian bodywork organization based on a
minimum level of training, demonstration of competency, and
adherence to ethical standards set by their governing body.
= Practitioners of other forms of bodywork who restrict
manipulation of soft tissue to the feet, hands, and ears, and who do
not have the client disrobe, such as reflexology, are exempt from
this Act.

IA « Persons practicing reflexology. “Massage therapy” means performance for
* Persons engaged within the scope of practice of a profession with | compensation of massage, myotherapy,
established standards and ethics utilizing touch, words, and massotherapy, bodywork, bodywork therapy, or
directed movement to deepen awareness of existing patterns of therapeutic massage including hydrotherapy,
movement in the body as well as to suggest new possibilities of superficial hot and cold applications, vibration and
movement, provided that the practices performed or services topical applications, or other therapy which involves
rendered are not designated or implied to be massage therapy. manipulation of the muscle and connective tissue of
Such practices include, but are not limited to, the Feldenkrais the body, excluding osseous tissue, to treat the
method, the Trager approach, and mind-body centering. muscle tonus system for the purpose of enhancing
= Persons engaged within the scope of practice of a profession with | health, providing muscle relaxation, increasing range
established standards and ethics in which touch is limited to that of motion, reducing stress, relieving pain, or
which is essential for palpitation and affectation of the human improving circulation.
energy system, provided that the practices performed or services
rendered are not designated or implied to be massage therapy.

KY (1) Persons duly licensed, registered, or certified as massage Massage therapists practicing under KRS 309.350 to

therapists in another state or territory, the District of Columbia, or
a foreign country when invited to this state

to teach a course related to massage therapy or to consult with a
person licensed under KRS 309.350 to 309.364;

(2) Students practicing massage therapy while enrolled in a
program recognized by the board and completing a clinical
requirement for graduation while under the supervision of a board-
licensed massage therapist;

(3) A person administering a massage to members of the person's
immediate family;

(4) Persons who restrict manipulation of the soft tissues of the
human body to the hands, feet, or ears, and do not hold themselves
out to be massage therapists;

(5) Persons who use procedures within the scope of practice of
their profession, which has established standards and ethics,
provided that their services use touch, words, and directed
movement to deepen awareness of existing patterns of movement
in the body as well as to suggest new possibilities of movement
while engaged, but who are not designated or implied to
administer massage or to be massage therapists. These practices
include, but are not limited to, the Feldenkrais Method and the

309.364 shall not perform any of the following:
diagnosis of illness or disease; high-velocity, low-
amplitude thrust applied to a joint; spinal or pelvic
adjustment or chiropractic manipulation; deep
physical agent modalities, except hydrotherapy
methods; application of ultrasound; or prescription of
medication.




Trager Approach;

(6) Persons engaged within the scope of practice of a profession
with established standards and ethics in which touch is limited to
what is essential for palpation and

affecting of the human energy system, provided that their services
are not designated or implied to be massage or massage therapy.
These practices include but are not limited to polarity therapy;
(7) Persons duly licensed, certified, or registered in another state
or territory, the District of Columbia, or a foreign country when
incidentally in this state to provide service as a part of an
emergency response team working in conjunction with disaster
relief officials or as part of a charity event;

(8) Students participating in massage therapy classes or continuing
education while in the classroom or practicing on a classmate and
not holding themselves out as massage therapists or accepting
compensation for the practice; or

(9) Practitioners of the following occupations and professions
regulated by state law while engaging in the practices for which
they are duly licensed and while not holding themselves out to be
massage therapists:

(a) Physicians, osteopaths, podiatrists, and athletic trainers

(b) Chiropractors

(c) Registered nurses and practical nurses

(d) Barbers and cosmetologists

(e) Occupational therapists; and

(f) Physical therapists

LA This Chapter shall not apply to any services performed in hospitals | “Massage Therapy” shall not include electrotherapy,
licensed by the state. Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed as | laser therapy, microwave, colonic therapy, injection
preventing or restricting the practice or activities of any person therapy, or manipulation of the joints.
licensed in this state under any other law from engaging in the
profession or occupation for which he is licensed. However, no
person shall in any way hold himself out or designate himself as a
massage therapist unless duly licensed by the board in accordance
with this Chapter.

ME This chapter does not apply to the activities and services of "This term specifically excludes manipulation of the
individuals who practice other forms of tissue work exclusive of spine or articulations and excludes sexual contact as
massage therapy, such as rolfing, Trager, reflexology, Shiatsu, defined in Title 17-A, section 251, subsection 1,
Reiki and polarity, if those practitioners do not use the title paragraph D.
"massage therapist" or "massage practitioner," unless they choose
to meet the requirements of this chapter.

MD An individual shall be certified by the Board in order to practice N/A

massage therapy, and shall be registered by the Board in order to
practice non-therapeutic massage, except for the following:

A. A student enrolled in an approved education program as
determined by the Board while performing massage therapy in the

program;

B. An individual who has qualified to practice massage therapy in
another state or country that has substantially similar requirements
for authorization to practice massage therapy as determined by the
Board, and the individual is in Maryland for not more than 7
consecutive days, or a total of 30 days during a period of 1
calendar year;

C. An individual who has an approved application pending before
the Board and who has otherwise met all requirements for
licensure under COMAR 10.43.17.04;

D. A family member performing massage therapy on another




family member;

E. An athletic trainer while functioning in the scope of the athletic
trainer's professional capacity;

F. An individual employed by the federal government to practice
massage therapy while practicing within the scope of the
individual's employment; or

G. An individual working in a beauty salon for which the person
who operates the beauty salon has obtained a permit from the State
Board of Cosmetology as required under Business Occupations
and Professions Article, §5-501, Annotated Code of Maryland, if
the individual is practicing within the scope of a license issued by
the State Board of Cosmetology.

MS Persons state licensed, state registered, state certified, or otherwise | Massage” means touch, stroking, kneading,
state credentialed by the laws of this state to include massage stretching, friction, percussion and vibration, and
therapy as part of their practice, or other allied modalities that are | includes holding, positioning, causing movement of
certified by a nationally accredited organization recognized by the | the soft tissues and applying manual touch and
board; pressure to the body (excluding an osseous tissue

manipulation or adjustment).

MO The following practitioners are exempt from the provisions of this | "Massage therapy", a health care profession which
section upon filing written proof with the board that they meet one | involves the treatment of the body's tonus system
or more of the following: ' through the scientific or skillful touching, rubbing,

pressing or other movements of the soft tissues of the
(1) Persons who act under a Missouri state license, registration, or | body with the hands, forearms, elbows, or feet, or
certification and perform soft tissue manipulation within their with the aid of mechanical apparatus, for relaxation,
scope of practice; therapeutic, remedial or health maintenance purposes
to enhance the mental and physical well-being of the
(2) Persons who restrict their manipulation of the soft tissues of chen‘t, b‘,lt does- not mc.lu.de the [.)rescrfptlon of
the human body to the hands, feet or ears; m.edlcat.lon, §pmal or jo.mt manipulation, .the
diagnosis of illness or disease, or any service or
procedure for which a license to practice medicine,
(3). P_ersons who use touch and yvords to deepen awareness of chiropractic, physical therapy, or podiatry is
existing patterns (')f.n'lc.)vement in the human body as well as to required by law, or to those occupations defined in
suggest new possibilities of movement; chapter 329, RSMo;
(4) Persons who manipulate the human body above the neck,
below the elbow, and below the knee and do not disrobe the client
in performing such manipulation.

NE The following are NOT required to obtain a massage therapy Massage therapy shall not include diagnosis or
license:1) Licensed physicians and surgeons, osteopathic treatment or use of procedures for which a license to
physicians, chiropractors, registered nurses, practical nurses, practice medicine or surgery, chiropractic, or
cosmetologists, chiropodists, physical therapists, and barbers who | podiatry, is required nor the use of microwave
are exclusively engaged in the practice of their respective diathermy, shortwave diathermy, ultrasound,
professions; 2) physicians of the United States Army, Navy, or transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation, electrical
Public Health Service when acting in the line of duty in this state; | stimulation of over thirty-five volts, neurological
and 3) students performing massage therapy services when they hyperstimulation or spinal and joint adjustments.
render such services within the scope of an approved massage
therapy school under the supervision of a licensed massage
therapist.

NV The provisions of this chapter do not apply to: “Massage therapy” does not include: (a) diagnosis,

(a) A person licensed pursuant to chapter 630, 630A, 631, 632,

therapy is performed in the course of the practice for which the
person is licensed.

(b) A person licensed as a barber or apprentice pursuant to
chapter 643 of NRS if the person is massaging, cleansing or
stimulating the scalp, face, neck or skin within the permissible
scope of practice for a barber or apprentice pursuant to that
chapter.

adjustment, mobilization or manipulation of any
articulations of the body or spine; or (b) reflexology.




(c) A person licensed or registered as an aesthetician,
cosmetologist or cosmetologist’s apprentice pursuant to chapter
644 of NRS if the person is massaging, cleansing or stimulating
the scalp, face, neck or skin within the permissible scope of
practice for an aesthetician, cosmetologist or cosmetologist’s
apprentice pursuant to that chapter.

(d) A person who is an employee of an athletic department of
any high school, college or university in this State and who, within
the scope of that employment, practices massage therapy on
athletes.

(e) Students enrolled in a school of massage therapy
recognized by the Board.

(f) A person who practices massage therapy solely on
members of his immediate family.

(g) A person who performs any activity in a licensed brothel.

NH

I. Nothing in this chapter shall prevent a person licensed by this
state pursuant to any other provision of law, or any person
employed by such a licensee as an assistant, from performing the
occupation for which he is licensed.

II. This chapter shall not apply to athletic trainers to the extent
they are performing bona fide training services for an athletic team
located or training within this state.

II1. The commissioner may by rule exempt other classes of
persons from all or part of the provisions of this chapter if the
commissioner finds that the public interest will be served by such
exemption.

N/A

NM

The following are exempted from licensure by the board pursuant
to Section 61-12C-5.1 of the Massage Therapy Practice Act.

A. Other professionals licensed in or regulated by
another New Mexico licensing board or agency rendering services
within the scope of their authorizing law or regulation, provided
they do not represent themselves as massage therapists.

B. Massage therapy students who are rendering
massage therapy services within the course of study of a registered
massage therapy school or under the supervision of a registered
massage therapy instructor.

C. Massage therapy instructors visiting New
Mexico who have met the requirements set forth in 16.7.6.11
NMAC.

D. Sobadores; Hispanic traditional healers; Native
American healers; reflexologists whose practice is limited to
hands, feet and ears; or other healers who do not manipulate the
soft tissues for therapeutic purposes. However, if any of these
persons applies for and is granted a license pursuant to the
Massage Therapy Practice Act, that person shall comply with all
licensure requirements and be subject to the provisions of the
boards’ statute and regulations.

N/A

NY

Nothing contained in this article shall be construed to prohibit:

1. The practice of massage therapy by any person who is
authorized to practice medicine, nursing, osteopathy,
physiotherapy, chiropractic, or podiatry in accordance
with the provisions of this title.

2. The practice of that massage which is customarily given
in barber shops or beauty parlors for the purpose of
beautification by any licensed barber or beauty culturist.

3. The practice of massage therapy by any person employed
in a medical institution licensed or chartered by the state
of New York, provided that such person is under the on-
site supervision of a person licensed to practice massage
therapy or authorized to practice massage therapy by

N/A




subdivision one of this section, or by any person enrolled
in a program of a school or institute of massage therapy
registered by the department, or enrolled in a program
which satisfies the requirements of section seventy-eight
hundred four of this article, provided that such person is
under the on-site supervision of a person licensed to
practice massage therapy or authorized to practice
massage therapy by subdivision one of this section.

4. The practice of massage therapy by any person duly
employed as a trainer by a professional athletic
association, club or team, or as a member of the physical
education department of an accredited university, college
or high school.

5. The practice of massage therapy by any person employed
by a corporation or association organized exclusively for
the moral or mental improvement of men, women or
children.

Reiki, the Alexander Technique, or the Feldenkrais Method (as
long as persons practicing these techniques do not claim to be
diagnosing or treating any human pain, disease, disorder or
physical condition, they must be licensed in a profession that is
authorized to diagnose or to provide treatment).

NC = Pursuant to Rule Section .0203, the Board considers practitioners | “Practice of massage and bodywork therapy” does not
of movement education (Alexander Technique, Body-Mind include the diagnosis of illness or disease, medical
Centering, Feldenkrais Method, and Trager Psychophysical procedures, chiropractic adjustive procedures,
Integration), as well as practitioners of certain energy-based electrical stimulation, ultrasound, prescription of
techniques (Healing Touch, Jin Shin, Medical Qi Gong, Polarity medicines, or the use of modalities for which a license
Therapy, Reflexology, Reiki, Specific Kinesiology, and to practice medicine, chiropractic, nursing, physical
Therapeutic Touch), to be within the scope of the exemptions set therapy, occupational therapy, acupuncture, or
forth in the Practice Act and are therefore exempt from licensure podiatry is required by law.
requirements.
= Services such as herbal body wraps, skin exfoliating treatments
or the topical application of products to the skin for beautification
purposes are not considered to be the practice of massage and
bodywork therapy, as long as such services do not involve direct
manipulation of the soft tissues of the body.

» Anyone who is utilizing exempt techniques or treatments along
with the practice of massage or bodywork therapy is not
considered exempt and will be required to be licensed.
ND The following persons are exempt from this chapter: "Massage" does not include diagnosing or treating

1. Schools that furnish massage services to their student athletes.
2. Any student of a school of massage who is practicing massage
in the course of fulfilling a required massage therapy practicum
under the direct supervision of a licensed massage therapist or in
the course of participating in a school-supervised student massage
clinic under the direct supervision of a licensed massage therapist.
3. Any individual who is engaged in a profession or occupation for
which the individual is licensed by this state, as long as the
individual's activities are performed in the

course of the bona fide practice of the individual's profession or
occupation and as long as the individual does not represent to the
public that the individual is a massage therapist or is engaged in
the practice of massage.

4. A health spa or similar business to the extent the spa or business
is performing superficial applications, including salt glows and
contouring.

diseases, manipulating the spine or other joints, or
prescribing or administering vitamins.




NJ

13. a. Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be
construed to prohibit any person licensed to practice in this State
under any other law from engaging in or using titles consistent
with the practice for which he is licensed or to prohibit any student
enrolled in a program of massage and bodywork therapies
recognized by the board from performing massage and bodywork
therapies which are necessary to his course of study.

b. Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be
construed to prohibit any person performing massage and
bodywork therapies in this State, if those therapies are

performed for no more than 45 days in a calendar year and for no
more than 30 days in any 60-consecutive day period and provided
that the person is duly licensed, certified or

registered to practice massage and bodywork therapy in another
state or the District of Columbia.

c. Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be
construed to prohibit any person from engaging in the
manipulation of soft tissue of the human body contained on
hands, feet or ears, provided that the client does not remove any
clothing other than shoes or socks.

d. Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be
construed to prohibit any teacher from demonstrating massage and
bodywork techniques while teaching a class or workshop if the
individual is duly licensed by another state or possession of the
United States or the District of Columbia to practice massage and
bodywork therapies if their state or district of residence requires
such licensure for an individual to practice massage and bodywork
therapies.

e. Nothing in this amendatory and supplementary act shall be
construed to prohibit any person from using touch, words and
directed movement to deepen awareness of existing

patterns of movement in the body, or to suggest new possibilities
of movement provided that these services are not designated or
implied to be massage and bodywork therapy and the client is
fully clothed.

Massage and bodywork
therapies do not include the diagnosis of illness,
disease, impairment or disability.

OH

No Exemption Language

A practitioner of massage therapist shall not diagnose
a patient's condition. A massage therapist shall
evaluate except as to whether the application of
massage therapy is advisable. A massage therapist
may provide information or education

consistent with that evaluation, including referral to
an appropriate licensed health

care professional, provided that any form of treatment
advised by a massage therapist falls within the scope
of practice of, and relates directly to a condition that
is amenable to treatment by, a massage therapist. In
determining whether the application of massage
therapy is advisable, a practitioner of massage
therapist

shall be limited to taking a written or verbal inquiry,
visual inspection including observation of range of
motion, touch, and the taking of a pulse, temperature
and blood pressure.

OR

1) ORS 687.011 to 687.250, 687.895 and 687.991 do not apply to:
a) Persons licensed under any other law of this state to do any acts
included in the definition of massage in ORS 687.011 or persons
working under the direction of any such person.

b) Trainers of any amateur, semiprofessional or professional
athlete or athletic team.

¢) Massage practiced at the athletic department of any institution
maintained by public funds of the state or of any of its political
subdivisions.

N/A




d) Massage practiced at the athletic department of any school or
college.

€) Massage clinics operated as part of a certified class for the
purpose of student training supervised by an approved instructor
or preceptor if:

A) Any charge for the massage does not exceed the cost incurred
in providing the massage; and

B) The student is not compensated.

f) Students enrolled in a certified class when practicing massage
techniques in a nonclinical setting, at or away from massage
school premises or program sites, under the supervision of an
approved instructor or preceptor, if:

A) The student is clearly identified as a student to any member of
the public receiving massage services; and

B) The student is not compensated.

g) Nonresident practitioners holding a valid license, permit,
certificate or registration issued by any other state or territory of
the United States or by a foreign country

and temporarily practicing massage in this state for a period not
exceeding 30 days for the purpose of:

A) Presenting educational or clinical programs, lectures, seminars
or workshops;

B) Furnishing massage services during an emergency as part of a
disaster response team; or

C) Consulting with a massage therapist licensed in this state
regarding massage practices or services.

h) Trained or licensed practitioners of psychotherapy or
counseling modalities that use physical techniques to access or
support psychotherapeutic processes when

practicing within the scope of a license or if the practitioner has an
express oral or written agreement that the sole intent in using the
physical techniques is to render the psychotherapy or counseling.
2) A nonresident practitioner performing massage under
subsection (1)(g) of this section must obtain a temporary practice
permit if practicing in this state for a total of

more than 30 days in a calendar year.

Nothing contained in the Act shall prohibit:

(1) The practice of massage by any person who is authorized to
practice medicine, nursing, osteopathy, physiotherapy,
chiropractic, or podiatry in this state.

(2) The practice of that massage which is customarily given in
barber shops or beauty parlors for the purpose of beautification by
any licensed barber, hairdresser, or cosmetician.

(3) The practice of massage by any person employed in a medical
institution licensed or chartered by the state or enrolled in a
program of a school or institute of massage approved by the board
of regents.

(4) The practice of massage by any person duly employed as a
trainer by a professional athletic association, club, or team, or as a
member of the physical education department of an accredited
university, college, or high school.

(5) The practice of massage by any person in a physical fitness
facility operated by a corporation or association organized
exclusively for the moral or mental improvement of men, women,
or children.

N/A

SC

The Department considers exempt those persons engaging in a
profession with established standards and ethics in which touch is
limited to that which is essential for affecting the human energy
system, provided that their services are not within the scope of
practice of massage/bodywork therapy as defined. Further, their
services cannot be designated or implied to be massage or
massage/bodywork therapy as defined.

N/A

TU




SD

The provisions of this chapter do not apply to any person
performing massage for compensation if the massage is done
under one of the following circumstances:

(1)  As part of a licensed practice as a physician,
physician assistant, chiropractor, nurse, physical therapist, athletic
trainer, or other health care profession licensed or certified under
Title 36;

(2) As part of a licensed practice pursuant to chapter
36-14 or 36-15, if the licensee is performing within the scope of
the licensed practice and the licensee does not hold himself or
herself out to be a massage therapist or to be engaged in the
practice of massage therapy;

(3) In furtherance of duties as an employee of the
United States;

(4)  As part of a course of study with a facility or
instructor recognized and approved by the board to provide
training in massage or the provision of such instruction;

(5)  As part of providing a course of instruction or
continuing education in the practice of massage therapy on a
temporary basis not in excess of ten days; or

(6) Manipulation of the soft tissues of the human body
is restricted to the hands, feet, or ears and the person does not hold
himself or herself out to be a massage therapist or to be engaged in
the practice of massage therapy.

N/A

a) Any person granted an exemption under this part is
effective only to the extent that the bona fide practice of
the profession or business that is licensed, certified, or
registered under the laws of this state overlaps into the
field comprehended by this chapter, and exemptions
under this chapter are only for those activities that are
performed in the course of the bona fide practice of the
business or profession of the person exempted.

b) Persons exempt under subsection (a) include, but are not
limited to: any branch of medicine, nursing, osteopathy,
chiropractic, podiatry, and also barbers, cosmetologists,
athletic trainers, physical and occupational therapists; and
any student of an institution described in § 63-18-
105(b)(3)(A) or public school of this state; provided, that
the student does not hold out as a licensed massage
therapist and does not receive compensation for massage.

¢) Nothing in this part shall apply to massage therapists
licensed in other states or countries or meeting standards
set forward in § 63-18-105 when providing educational
programs or services for a period of time not to exceed
thirty (30) days within a calendar year.

N/A

TX

(1) aperson licensed in this state as a physician, chiropractor,
occupational therapist, physical therapist, nurse, cosmetologist, or
athletic trainer or as a member of a similar profession subject to
state licensing while the person is practicing within the scope of
the license;

(2) aschool approved by the Texas Education Agency or
otherwise approved by the state; or

(3) an instructor otherwise approved by the state to teach in an
area of study included in the required course of instruction for
issuance of a massage therapist license.

The terms "therapy" and "therapeutic" do not include
diagnosis, the treatment of illness or disease, or any
service or procedure for which a license to practice
medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy, or podiatry
is required by law. Massage therapy does not
constitute the practice of chiropractic.

UT

The following individuals may engage in the practice of massage
therapy as defined under this chapter, subject to the stated
circumstances and limitations, without being licensed, but may not
represent themselves as a massage therapist or massage
apprentice:

N/A

11




(a) physicians and surgeons licensed under Title 58, Chapter 67,
Utah Medical Practice Act;

(b) nurses licensed under Title 58, Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice
Act, or under Title 58, Chapter 44a, Nurse Midwife Practice Act;
(c) physical therapists licensed under Title 58, Chapter 24a,
Physical Therapist Practice Act;

(d) osteopathic physicians licensed under Title 58, Chapter 68,
Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act;

(e) chiropractic physicians licensed under Title 58, Chapter 73,
Chiropractic Physician Practice Act;

(f) hospital staff members employed by a hospital who practice
massage as part of their responsibilities;

(g) athletic trainers who practice massage as part of their
responsibilities while employed by an educational institution or an
athletic team that participates in organized sports competition;
(h) students in training enrolled in a massage therapy school
approved by the division;

(i) naturopathic physicians licensed under Title 58, Chapter 71,
Naturopathic Physician Practice Act;

(j) occupational therapist licensed under Title 58, Chapter 42a,
Occupational Therapy Practice Act;

and
(k) persons performing gratuitous massage.
VA No Exemption Language The terms "massage therapy" and "therapeutic
massage"” do not include the diagnosis or treatment of
illness or disease or any service or procedure for
which a license to practice medicine, nursing,
chiropractic therapy, physical therapy, occupational
therapy, acupuncture, or podiatry is required by law.
WA The secretary will consider approval for exemption from this Massage therapy does not include diagnosis or
chapter any individual who has completed a somatic education attempts to adjust or manipulate any articulations of
program that has a professional organization with a permanent the body or spine or mobilization of these
administrative location that oversees the practice of somatic articulations by the use of a thrusting force, nor does
education training and that has the following: it include genital manipulation.
(a) Standards of practice;
(b) A training accreditation process;
(c) An instructor certification process;
(d) A practitioner certification process;
(e) A code of ethics or code of professional conduct.

wVv Nothing in this article may be construed to prohibit or otherwise Massage therapy does not include diagnosis or service

limit:

(a) The practice of a profession by persons who are licensed,
certified or registered under the laws of this state and who are
performing services within their authorized scope of practice.
Persons exempted under this subdivision include, but are not
limited to, those licensed, certified or registered to practice within
the scope of any branch of medicine, nursing, osteopathy,
chiropractic and podiatry, as well as licensed, certified or
registered barbers, cosmetologists, athletic trainers, physical and
occupational therapists; and any student enrolled in a program of
massage education at a school approved by the West Virginia state
college system board or by a state agency in another state, the
District of Columbia or a United States territory which approves
educational programs and which meets qualifications for the
national certification exam administered through the national
certification board for therapeutic massage and bodywork,
provided that the student does not hold himself or herself out as a
licensed massage therapist; and

(b) The activities of any resort spa that has been operating on a

which requires a license to practice medicine or
surgery, osteopathic medicine, chiropractic, or
podiatry, and does not include service performed by
nurses, occupational therapists, or physical therapists
who act under their own professional license,
certificate or registration.

12




continuing basis since the first day of January, one thousand nine
hundred seventy-five, or any employees of the resort spa. The
exemption set forth in this subsection does not extend to any
person, corporation or association providing escort services, nude
dancing, or other sexually oriented services not falling within the
scope of massage therapy as defined in this article, irrespective of
how long the person, corporation or association has been in
operation.

WI

A certificate under this chapter is not required for any of the
following:

(1) A person holding a license, permit, registration, or certification
granted by this state or the federal government who engages in a
practice of massage therapy or bodywork within the scope of his
or her license, permit, registration, or certification and who does
not imply that he or she is certified under this chapter.

(2) A person who is authorized to practice massage therapy or
bodywork in another state or country and is providing a
consultation to or demonstration with a certificate holder.

"Massage therapy or bodywork" does not include
making a medical or chiropractic diagnosis.

13




STATE

Liability Insurance Requirement

AL

Liability Insurance Required

AR

AZ

CT

DC

DE

FL

GA

HI

|A

IL

IN

KY

ME

MD

MA

Liability coverage required

MS

MO

Professional liability insurance required

NE

NV

NH

NJ

NM

NY

NC

ND

OH

OR

RI

SC

SD

Professional liability insurance required

N

X

uT

VA

WA

wv

Wi






